We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Chateau des Tourelles
Ranked #13 of 100 Hotels in Quebec City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 24, 2013

My daughter and I stayed here for six days in June. It was a great location, allowing us to walk easily all around town. The owners and staff are very friendly and helpful, giving us ideas of places to see and directions for walking or catching a nearby bus. The food was amazing. We started every day with a lovely breakfast served with a smile. And sometimes the owner's little dog could be coaxed over for a pet during our meal. Our room was very comfortable and clean. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carol S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (709)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

234 - 240 of 709 reviews

Reviewed July 22, 2013

I spent two nights at the Chateau des Tourelles in room 8. When I got there I was warmly welcomed by Howli (spell?). There were a few rooms open so she showed them to me and let me pick the room I wanted, not bad. She explained the parking garage, a couple of blocks away, but I misunderstood her when she said it’s the garage ACROSS the street from bldg. 34. I was looking for garage 34, don’t make that mistake. After walking the city all night I came back to a warm room and after messing around with the thermostat I figured the AC must be broke so I opened the windows since it was cool outside. Even with the window opened the noise didn’t bother me. The next morning I was talking to William who was preparing breakfast (breakfast is awesome) and mentioned the AC and he walked in the room and grabbed the remote control and turned the AC on. I’ve never managed my AC by remote control and when I saw two remotes together next to the TV and DVD player I just figured that what they were for. Bottom line, great people running this place, very clean and comfortable and I would definitely go back.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bagger06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2013

Really enjoyed our stay at this hotel. Good location, near-by secure parking, and a clean and comfortable room. Here are the details:

Location: Directly on Rue St. Jean, the hotel is an easy (straight down the street) walk to Old Quebec (10-15 min) and Rue St. Jean is lined with restaurants and shops. We really like the location as we could just park once (in the secured garage parking that is about a 3 min walk from the hotel) and walk while in the city. Parking is extra but cheap in my opinion ($8/night). There was also a convenience store located downstairs from the hotel which is open until 11 pm - a spot to pick up a bottle of wine or some beer.

Hotel/Room: Our room was a good size with a nice bathroom. Everything was clean. Rue St. Jean is a busy street and we did stay on a Saturday so there was a little bit of street noise but you would get that in any busy neighborhood. Good shower and nice toiletries provided. There is a flight of stairs to climb once you enter the hotel so if you have limited mobility this probably isn't the right choice. We really enjoyed the rooftop. It was nice during the day but amazing at night!

Breakfast: You are given a choice for breakfast which is made to order once you arrive in the dining room. My French toast was yummy and my hubby choice eggs which he also enjoyed. Good coffee!

Overall I would recommend this to friends and family so long as they are able to walk from parking and climb the stairs at the entrance to the hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kristy31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2013

This small auberge is a gem. It's within walking distance of the Citadelle and other Old City sights, but on a lovely street in a real neighbourhood with lots of neighbourhood shops and small restaurants. The rooms are charming, old style, and clean. The breakfast is an amazing home-cooked hot meal, and guests are welcome to help themselves to tea, coffee, cookies, and use of the kitchen fridge at all times. A rooftop (4th floor) deck has comfortable chairs and a fabulous view. The owner and staff are absolutely friendly and helpful. Only drawback would be for anyone with mobility problems, as you must climb at least one set of stairs to reach the rooms. I would return to Quebec City just to stay here.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 83Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2013

I had the pleasure of staying at this hotel on Rue St Jean during a visit to Quebec City. This hotel is located within walking distance of Old Quebec which made it very convenient for us. The room we stayed in was as presented on the website. The bed was comfortable as was the room,

The owner and his staff are extremely friendly and helpful. I do not know much French so they were very accommodating by conversing in English.

Staying here includes a free breakfast. I had the eggs or omelet every day. This was a gourmet breakfast as far as I was concerned. I looked forward to breakfast every day. It did mean one less dining choice a day when you are eating out every meal which you do on vacation.

I would definitely recommend this hotel.
The only downside was the street noise at night. With temperatures in the 50's we had the windows open at night and one night it was extremely noisy almost all night. This was the night before Canada Day and I am attributing this to the fact that more people were out and about since the next day was a holiday. This in no way reflects on the hotel owner or staff.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms on corner of building as it has access to both streets which can be noisy at night. If...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Safatlga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2013

We stayed in this auberge for three nights at the beginning of June. On arrival the receptionist was very helpful in giving directions to parking and in providing us with walking information to restaurants and the old town. Our room was not quite ready - but they had it all prepared for us on our return from the parking lot. The room had a bedroom, bathroom, kitchen and sitting area. It was very comfortable. The integrity of the original building was evident with the wood floors and high ceilings. Breakfasts were excellent! The auberge is about 15 minutes from the St. Jean street restaurants and about 20 minutes from the old city. We had to leave early on our last day - the breakfast was prepared for us even though it was before official breakfast time.

We highly recommend this hotel - it is priced right, excellent location, helpful staff and secure parking. The free WiFi in the rooms is a bonus.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Canadian079
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2013

This is an ideal location if you want to be in walking distance of the old city. Delightful staff, delicious and filling breakfast (I love the healthy addition of whole grain toast and a different vegetable each day). We enjoyed the "European" feel of the rooms and location. We had the corner room next to the breakfast room, facing the front of the building. Charming and very clean room, nice view of the street below (which is quaint and reminds you of France), and very quiet - we noticed no street noise at night. We appreciated the private parking garage a couple blocks from the hotel, easy loading and unloading on the side street next to Chauteau des Tourelles. We walked everywhere ~ lots of shops and restaurants nearby! We will definitely return again!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GeezLouise29790
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Quebec City hotels
0.2 mi away
Auberge Aux Deux Lions
Auberge Aux Deux Lions
#4 of 100 in Quebec City
1,014 reviews
1 mi away
Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac
Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac
#18 of 100 in Quebec City
4,999 reviews
0.7 mi away
Le Manoir d'Auteuil
Le Manoir d'Auteuil
#3 of 100 in Quebec City
1,350 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Le Champlain Hotel
Le Champlain Hotel
#16 of 100 in Quebec City
2,183 reviews
1 mi away
Auberge Place D'Armes
Auberge Place D'Armes
#9 of 100 in Quebec City
1,646 reviews
1.2 mi away
Auberge Saint-Antoine
Auberge Saint-Antoine
#5 of 100 in Quebec City
2,249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chateau des Tourelles? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chateau des Tourelles

Address: 212 Street Saint Jean, Quebec City, Quebec G1R 1P1, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Quebec > Quebec City
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Quebec City
#13 Romantic Hotel in Quebec City
Price Range: $101 - $173 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Chateau des Tourelles 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our house built in 1898, hosting 10 rooms, suites and studios in the heart of very old and very lively Saint Jean Baptiste, and 10 minutes walk from Old Quebec. Le Chateau des Tourelles is primarily a small cozy hotel, where people feel good and a little like at home. Our panoramic terrace covering the roof of the hotel will seduce you as it offers one of the most beautiful views of Quebec, the Laurentides Mountains and part of Saint Laurent So see you soon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your Chateau des Tourelles reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chateau Des Tourelles Hotel Quebec City
Chateau Des Tourelles Quebec/Quebec City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing