We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quebec”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Chateau des Tourelles
Ranked #13 of 101 Hotels in Quebec City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 28, 2012

First impression was that we had made a big mistake booking this B&B

Outside was old and in need of repairs,. The only staircase up to reception was very

narrow and steep with sharp angle to the left and no rail at the top ( would not pass in

Australia )

Owner did help us up with all 5 pieces of luggage ( we were away from

home for 2 months ) very scarey taking it all down by ourselves at 5.30am in the

morning when we left !!!!!!!

No lifts or alternate way up for handicaped or frail

Almost changed hotels based on first impressions !

The rooms ; once we had access , were roomy, clean and very comfortable

Breakfast was a treat

Staff were very helpful and had a good command of English.

2.5 klm out of town, very few buses going past , but lots of little shops and cafes on the

walk into town .

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Martyn C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (714)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

257 - 263 of 714 reviews

Reviewed October 26, 2012

We were sold by others who recommended this bed and breakfast. We enthusiastically agree. Perfect location, walking distance to upper and lower old town Quebec city. Lovely neighborhood with good restaurants and shops close by. The room we had was small and tight quarters, but well appointed. Best of all: fantastic breakfast included. So delicious! Staff so friendly and helpful. Free parking a block away.

Room Tip: We had a nice little balcony in room 4.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dukestravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2012

The owners and manager of this charming hotel/B&B are fabulous, friendly, helpful and very hospitable. The hotel is cozy, clean and captures the historic charm of Quebec City while offering modern touches such as high speed and flat screen televisions. It is an easy walk to the old city along rue St Jean that has a number of stores and historic architecture to look at on the way. The breakfasts are fantastic, guests are given a choice, and the owners go out of their way to get you what you want. The food is healthy, covers all the food groups, prepared fast and delivered hot to your table. The hotel includes covered secure parking which in Quebec is a huge bonus.

Room Tip: Room #10, offers your own terrace, corner air-jet tub, separate sitting room with fridge
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MHarbert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2012

Friendly, helpful hosts who carried our heavy bags up and down the stairs. Delicious French style breakfasts that vary from day to day. Great location which is walking distance from amaing restaurants, patisseries etc and Old Quebec City. We loved our stay at this boutique style chateau and would book it again.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeaniemcd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2012

This B&B was quite charming and typically 3* with pleasant host and adequate breakfast. Depending on how you look at it, there is either a pleasant stroll to get to the action inside the old city walls or quite an annoying hike if you go back and forth too often. At least Rue St Jean does have some interesting shops and restaurants so the stroll/walk/hike is not all bad.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kswitz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2012

The B&B is beautiful, 5 mis away from the beginning of all attractions from Old Quebec City. The place is surounded by amazing restaurants and not too far from Grande Allee.... full of restaurants as well. We stayed in room 7 and it was excellent, with it's own bathroom and a little terrace, nice for a glass of wine and some reading. The roof has also a terrace for coffee in the morning and the breakfast is awesome, lots of food. The streets are quiet at night and the parking is just 3 mins away from the B&B.

Room Tip: Next door to the B&B, there's a convenience store with a good wine selection and beer... and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Climberkiddo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2012

We stayed 3 nights at the Chateau des Tourelles towards the end of August - it was our first trip to Quebec City and we were travelling with our adult daughter and so we needed 2 rooms. We also wanted to keep costs under control and in choosing the Chateau des Tourelles, we managed nicely.

We were given a 2 room set-up with a shared bathroom that gave us the needed privacy, and bonus, a little balcony off the daughter's room where we enjoyed our wine, cheese, and bread. And if wanted, we also had the rooftop for more of the same plus a better view of the city. We found the beds to be comfy, the bathroom fine, and the old-fashioned nature of the rooms and windows delightful.

We found this place to be perfect for our style of travelling. It was not in the heart of the tourist zone, but on a real street that still had lots of nifty stuff on it, and by walking, we were only 10 minutes or so from the old walled city. The staff were helpful and friendly and the breakfast room is very cheerful.

We would definitely stay here again. In the interests of a balanced review, I have a couple of slightly negative things to say specific to this B & B, and the first comment would not apply to those guests who stay for one night, and here it is: the only breakfast on offer was an omelet - there was a choice of what kind each morning, and make no mistake, whichever one chosen was very good, and of course, it came with fruit and toast and good jam, lots of coffee and juice. But we certainly had enough to eat to keep us walking for the day.

True to the nature of city in general with all its stairs, that is how guests will get to their room - stairs. There is no elevator here, so be prepared. But the manager is more than willing to help with the luggage. In all the places we stayed on our 2 week trip to Central Canada, we did stairs, so for us, this was not a big deal, but for folks with limited mobility, it would be.

And the final comment applies to anywhere one stays in Quebec: there are taxes to pay. The spouse says you need to tack 18% on the price of the room, and of course, this is not the fault of this lovely place.

We really enjoyed our stay here, and hope others will too.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank diegodogCalgary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Quebec City hotels
0.2 mi away
Auberge Aux Deux Lions
Auberge Aux Deux Lions
#4 of 101 in Quebec City
1,018 reviews
1 mi away
Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac
Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac
#18 of 101 in Quebec City
5,063 reviews
0.9 mi away
Chateau Fleur de Lys - L'HOTEL
Chateau Fleur de Lys - L'HOTEL
#7 of 101 in Quebec City
622 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Auberge Saint-Antoine
Auberge Saint-Antoine
#5 of 101 in Quebec City
2,270 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel du Vieux-Quebec
Hotel du Vieux-Quebec
#1 of 101 in Quebec City
1,742 reviews
0.8 mi away
Le Champlain Hotel
Le Champlain Hotel
#16 of 101 in Quebec City
2,209 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chateau des Tourelles? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chateau des Tourelles

Address: 212 Street Saint Jean, Quebec City, Quebec G1R 1P1, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Quebec > Quebec City
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Quebec City
#13 Romantic Hotel in Quebec City
Price Range: $101 - $174 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Chateau des Tourelles 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our house built in 1898, hosting 10 rooms, suites and studios in the heart of very old and very lively Saint Jean Baptiste, and 10 minutes walk from Old Quebec. Le Chateau des Tourelles is primarily a small cozy hotel, where people feel good and a little like at home. Our panoramic terrace covering the roof of the hotel will seduce you as it offers one of the most beautiful views of Quebec, the Laurentides Mountains and part of Saint Laurent So see you soon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your Chateau des Tourelles reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chateau Des Tourelles Hotel Quebec City
Chateau Des Tourelles Quebec/Quebec City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing