We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Chateau des Tourelles
Ranked #13 of 102 Hotels in Quebec City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 30, 2012

This prize-winning restoration (2001) of a turn of the century two-family house with what used to be a doctor's office at the end of the street (now occupied [conveniently] by a small store) is intimate but charming. As you wend your way through the buildings' interconnected passageways and even up to the roof for a nighttime repast, you'll get to meet (in photographs) some of the owner's ancestors. The staff, especially the ever-attentive Claudette who makes sumptuous breakfasts, are friendly, knowledgeable and helpful. Alain, the owner who restored these previously abandoned buildings, lives on Isle de Orlean so if you are touring during your stay in Quebec, ask him for advice on what to see and where to go there on a day trip.
In 1900 this was the extent of the city. Up the hill was all famers' fields. Rue St. Jean started here and descended into the city. The twin towers on the building which Alain recreated from a 1910 photo found in the city archives, represent the two most important institutions in the city. One spire represents the church; the other, a battlement, is the military. A perfect setting to begin your visit to Quebec.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sean C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (670)
There are newer reviews for Chateau des Tourelles
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

259 - 265 of 671 reviews

Reviewed June 20, 2012

Just returned from a great stay in Quebec. My husband and I both loved this place -- not only is it charming, but the owners have taken care to make the rooms very comfortable and welcoming. The first night, we bought a bottle of wine from the shop next door and had a glass on the balcony of our suite, then walked along the Rue St. Jean to find several fantastic cafes and restaurants just minutes from our lodgings. The area is great -- lots of boutiques and restos, and only a ten minute walk to the old city. Breakfast was delicious -- home cooked to order -- and service was extremely friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: 4-person suite was great -- spacious, with a balcony facing north.
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrea O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2012

I was attending a conference at the Convention Centre and found this hotel to be a short walk (within 10 minutes). It is a small hotel but has a general shop located adjacent to the front door. Breakfast is included and it was home cooked and excellent.
Owners were very friendly and co-operative. Would recommend to anyone looking for value and location.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Stanley P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2012

My wife and I enjoyed our stay. It is at the entrance to a part of the city that was built in the late 19th century and a short walk to the old city., with interesting shops and resaurants along the way. The breakfast was excellent, and the owner/host was very helpful. The rooms were cheerful and clean. There is a parking garage for the guests on block away from the hotel.

Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank eadler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2012

This is a lovely old building close to the city walls and main tourist attractions. Breakfast was awesome and we got lots of useful tips about where to go and what to see. A great place to stay!

Room Tip: The hotel is up a flight of stairs (no lift) so not suitable if you have mobility issues
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JoggingScots
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2012

This place is situated outside the walled city but not a far walk to get there. Parking is in a garage a minute away, rooms are large and well appointed despite the age of the place. beautifully furnished, balconies. rooftop terrace has great views, breakfast was great. lots of traffic on the street but not loud. over all a great spot and reasonable price, amazing old city. store right there for wine and beer for the room. A/C worked well. would go back

Room Tip: room on the back street side is quieter. no elevators and three stories of narrow stairs
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank andypegonthego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2012

We stayed 1 night at Le Château des Tourelles during the "Carnaval" in February. When we arrived and saw the location, then the room, we could not believe that we had found this at such a good price. And the breakfast was very good. The people are friendly. Parking was a bit complicated as it was in another street behind the hotel, however, the price is reasonable and given the location, it was a real bonus.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Myrtile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Quebec City hotels
0.2 mi away
Auberge Aux Deux Lions
Auberge Aux Deux Lions
#4 of 102 in Quebec City
971 reviews
0.7 mi away
Le Manoir d'Auteuil
Le Manoir d'Auteuil
#2 of 102 in Quebec City
1,238 reviews
1.0 mi away
Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac
Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac
#17 of 102 in Quebec City
4,538 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hotel du Vieux-Quebec
Hotel du Vieux-Quebec
#1 of 102 in Quebec City
1,624 reviews
1.2 mi away
Auberge Saint-Antoine
Auberge Saint-Antoine
#5 of 102 in Quebec City
2,145 reviews
1.0 mi away
Auberge Place D'Armes
Auberge Place D'Armes
#8 of 102 in Quebec City
1,537 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chateau des Tourelles? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chateau des Tourelles

Address: 212 Street Saint Jean, Quebec City, Quebec G1R 1P1, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Quebec > Quebec City
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#13 Romantic Hotel in Quebec City
#16 Family Hotel in Quebec City
Price Range: $109 - $225 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Chateau des Tourelles 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our house built in 1898, hosting 10 rooms, suites and studios in the heart of very old and very lively Saint Jean Baptiste, and 10 minutes walk from Old Quebec. Le Chateau des Tourelles is primarily a small cozy hotel, where people feel good and a little like at home. Our panoramic terrace covering the roof of the hotel will seduce you as it offers one of the most beautiful views of Quebec, the Laurentides Mountains and part of Saint Laurent So see you soon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Chateau des Tourelles reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chateau Des Tourelles Hotel Quebec City
Chateau Des Tourelles Quebec/Quebec City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing