We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing. Perfect. Highly Recommended.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Auberge Place D'Armes
Ranked #8 of 102 Hotels in Quebec City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 30, 2010

My husband and I eloped to Quebec City this summer. We had never visited QC before and it is a WONDERFUL city!

After a lot of research and communication by email with several hotels (everyone I communicated with was very nice), we decided to stay at L'Auberge Place d'Armes. The staff was so helpful -- everyone from the front desk attendant to the owner Michelle Dore and her son Marc-Antoine. They are patient, friendly, and bilingual! Marc-Antoine was kind to be one of our two required witnesses for our wedding civil ceremony (our wedding photographer was the other witness)!!

This hotel has a wonderful location -- just across a square from the famed Chateau Frontenac. Auberge Place d'Armes is within easy, short walking distance of practically everything in the tourist guides.

I prefer small boutique hotels, and the Chateau Frontenac just seemed to big and corporate and expensive. If you want to experience the Chateau, make a reservation for the $40 Sunday brunch. It was decadent...with tables and tables of food.

Auberge Place d'Armes is an OLD building, which I love, and the owners have preserved it well, while providing all the modern amenities. Our Room 21 was not big, but I don't mind that. Every bit of space was used in a smart way. I loved our room. Exposed brick wall. A very comfortable bed. Flat tv. A desk. My favorite part -- a double paned window that opens to the small balcony overlooking the pedestrian street, musicians, artists, etc. Very few rooms have a balcony. We sat on the balcony in our wedding attire on the afternoon of our wedding and ate cake (which the hotel owners gave to us) and listened to music.

I am VERY sensitive to noise. When the window was closed, I could not hear the street noise. The air conditioning unit was in the wall and was very quiet and worked well. The bathtub/shower unit was lovely and was installed in a challenging space within old stone grey walls.

The breakfast in the morning (in their restaurant) was good. It is served by a waitress (not buffet or continental). There were 7 or 8 selections on the menu. It was filling and carried us through almost to dinner!

Parking is a bit tricky but the staff handles that situation very well. One must park temporarily in the parking circle near the hotel (because the hotel is on a pedestrian street). The staff quickly helped us unload all of our stuff, carried it up the winding stairs to our room (although , and parked the car.

I was so satisfied with our stay at L'Auberge Place d'Armes. Granted, it was a special weekend for us, but I am confident we would have the same wonderful experience any time. And we do plan to return.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank craiggoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,606)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,203 - 1,209 of 1,606 reviews

Reviewed December 10, 2010

We stayed in this charming hotel for four nights in October. The location was perfect for exploring "Old" Quebec. We walked everywhere and only took our car out of parking one day when we went to Montmorency Falls and the Isle d'Orleans. But the best part of this hotel was the staff...every single person was unfailingly helpful, delightful and provided the best of service. This includes the terrific restaurant where we had breakfast each morning (included) and dinner two nights because it was so delicious. We booked late for the fall season so only one room was available...on the third floor, which is really the fourth because the hotel is one floor off the street. And no elevator! So we got quite a workout going up and down the stairs and would prefer a lower room if we stayed again. But that was certainly not a deal-breaker and the staff very willingly carried our bags up when we arrived.

The only downside was that our car was damaged by the valet parking service the hotel uses and we are still trying to get that sorted out. The valet service has not been cooperative. So, if you do have a car while staying there, check it over stem to stern each time they bring it to you and have them note "no damage" when you give it back to them.

Again, however, this did not diminish our pleasure at staying at Auberge d'Armes...it was great.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jage44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2010

We stayed in early November, and were very pleased our experience! Location is perfect (across from Chateau Frontenac) staff was warm and welcoming, and at the front desk, and in the restaurant. It felt comfortable to be there!

We booked a small suite, which was in the newer half of the Hotel (2 connected Buildings on small pedestrian street) It had a nice shower, and comfortable furnishings. Be prepared to bring luggage up 7-8 stairs from street level, and be advised that parking is off site, but very convenient, and reasonable...overall a great experience!

My only complaint was the Fireplace that was advertised, was not a fireplace in any true sense of the word. That was a disappointment...it was a black box with fake logs and a Heater & lighted fire effect. It's hard to sit in front of THAT with someone you love!!!

But do go to this hotel, and do plan to have a meal downstairs "Pain Beni" it was wonderful...Breakfast was included in our room rate, and it was good, too.

The price was reasonable for the quality of the room and the service, I recommend this Hotel.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sandmantv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 5, 2010

Stayed here for 3 nights and overall was very pleased overall with the accommodation. The room - a double was compact (!) for two people with luggage but very comfortable nonetheless. Similarly toilet/shower room was small and could only accommodate one person at any one time - but everything worked. These relatively small negative aspects however were counterbalanced by the excellent breakfast and the location. Opposite the Chateau Frontenac and well positioned overlooking the St Lawrence and Old Town. It's about a 10-15 minute walk to the railway station - but this is up some fairly steep gradients.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pillhill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 1, 2010

I stayed 4 nights last week while on a mini vacation. At check-in I was upgraded to a deluxe room, which was very cozy and had a great view of the Chateau Frontenac. The location of the hotel is fantastic, and the restaurant in the hotel - Le Pain Beni - was excellent. The staff was wonderful and very helpful. I would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jjl131
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2010

Excellent choice for a central location in Quebec adjacent to Chateau Frontenac. Very friendly staff. Wonderful full breakfast included in attached restaurant. Quiet, modern bathroom, flat screen tv. Parking is off sight and can be a short distance away.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Puffin05272000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2010

I stayed here for 2 nights in October and had a great time in Quebec. The location of this hotel is perfect - right in the heart of the old town and being on a pedestrianised street means we never got any noise from outside in the room. The room was small but they have really done a good job with maximising the space available so it didn't feel cramped at all. There was also a lot of the original brickwork / beams visible in the room. Bed was comfortable - My one complaint is that the temperature of the shower tended to fluctuate quite a lot but it was a very minor inconvenience!

The people who work here were all very friendly and the price of the room included breakfast which was not a buffet but was prepared to order from about 6 or 7 choices ranging from cereal and yoghurt to a cooked breakfast.

i would receommend this hotel to anyone wanting a great place to stay right in the centre of the old town. Although we had a car with us we never took it out the car park as everything was within easy walking distance.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dave12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Quebec City hotels
0.1 mi away
Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac
Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac
#18 of 102 in Quebec City
4,790 reviews
0.3 mi away
Le Manoir d'Auteuil
Le Manoir d'Auteuil
#2 of 102 in Quebec City
1,311 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel du Vieux-Quebec
Hotel du Vieux-Quebec
#1 of 102 in Quebec City
1,688 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Auberge Saint-Antoine
Auberge Saint-Antoine
#5 of 102 in Quebec City
2,219 reviews
1.0 mi away
Auberge Aux Deux Lions
Auberge Aux Deux Lions
#4 of 102 in Quebec City
1,002 reviews
0.2 mi away
Le Champlain Hotel
Le Champlain Hotel
#16 of 102 in Quebec City
2,114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Auberge Place D'Armes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Auberge Place D'Armes

Address: 24, rue Ste-Anne, Quebec City, Quebec G1R 3X3, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Quebec > Quebec City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#9 Romantic Hotel in Quebec City
#10 Business Hotel in Quebec City
#13 Family Hotel in Quebec City
Price Range: $108 - $248 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Auberge Place D'Armes 3.5*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Auberge Place D'Armes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Auberge Place d`Armes Hotel Quebec City
Auberge Place D'Armes Quebec/Quebec City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing