We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A gem...fabulous staff and restaurant.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Auberge Place D'Armes
Ranked #8 of 102 Hotels in Quebec City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 10, 2010

We stayed in this charming hotel for four nights in October. The location was perfect for exploring "Old" Quebec. We walked everywhere and only took our car out of parking one day when we went to Montmorency Falls and the Isle d'Orleans. But the best part of this hotel was the staff...every single person was unfailingly helpful, delightful and provided the best of service. This includes the terrific restaurant where we had breakfast each morning (included) and dinner two nights because it was so delicious. We booked late for the fall season so only one room was available...on the third floor, which is really the fourth because the hotel is one floor off the street. And no elevator! So we got quite a workout going up and down the stairs and would prefer a lower room if we stayed again. But that was certainly not a deal-breaker and the staff very willingly carried our bags up when we arrived.

The only downside was that our car was damaged by the valet parking service the hotel uses and we are still trying to get that sorted out. The valet service has not been cooperative. So, if you do have a car while staying there, check it over stem to stern each time they bring it to you and have them note "no damage" when you give it back to them.

Again, however, this did not diminish our pleasure at staying at Auberge d'Armes...it was great.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jage44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,570)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,172 - 1,178 of 1,571 reviews

Reviewed December 9, 2010

We stayed in early November, and were very pleased our experience! Location is perfect (across from Chateau Frontenac) staff was warm and welcoming, and at the front desk, and in the restaurant. It felt comfortable to be there!

We booked a small suite, which was in the newer half of the Hotel (2 connected Buildings on small pedestrian street) It had a nice shower, and comfortable furnishings. Be prepared to bring luggage up 7-8 stairs from street level, and be advised that parking is off site, but very convenient, and reasonable...overall a great experience!

My only complaint was the Fireplace that was advertised, was not a fireplace in any true sense of the word. That was a disappointment...it was a black box with fake logs and a Heater & lighted fire effect. It's hard to sit in front of THAT with someone you love!!!

But do go to this hotel, and do plan to have a meal downstairs "Pain Beni" it was wonderful...Breakfast was included in our room rate, and it was good, too.

The price was reasonable for the quality of the room and the service, I recommend this Hotel.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sandmantv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 5, 2010

Stayed here for 3 nights and overall was very pleased overall with the accommodation. The room - a double was compact (!) for two people with luggage but very comfortable nonetheless. Similarly toilet/shower room was small and could only accommodate one person at any one time - but everything worked. These relatively small negative aspects however were counterbalanced by the excellent breakfast and the location. Opposite the Chateau Frontenac and well positioned overlooking the St Lawrence and Old Town. It's about a 10-15 minute walk to the railway station - but this is up some fairly steep gradients.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pillhill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 1, 2010

I stayed 4 nights last week while on a mini vacation. At check-in I was upgraded to a deluxe room, which was very cozy and had a great view of the Chateau Frontenac. The location of the hotel is fantastic, and the restaurant in the hotel - Le Pain Beni - was excellent. The staff was wonderful and very helpful. I would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jjl131
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2010

Excellent choice for a central location in Quebec adjacent to Chateau Frontenac. Very friendly staff. Wonderful full breakfast included in attached restaurant. Quiet, modern bathroom, flat screen tv. Parking is off sight and can be a short distance away.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Puffin05272000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2010

I stayed here for 2 nights in October and had a great time in Quebec. The location of this hotel is perfect - right in the heart of the old town and being on a pedestrianised street means we never got any noise from outside in the room. The room was small but they have really done a good job with maximising the space available so it didn't feel cramped at all. There was also a lot of the original brickwork / beams visible in the room. Bed was comfortable - My one complaint is that the temperature of the shower tended to fluctuate quite a lot but it was a very minor inconvenience!

The people who work here were all very friendly and the price of the room included breakfast which was not a buffet but was prepared to order from about 6 or 7 choices ranging from cereal and yoghurt to a cooked breakfast.

i would receommend this hotel to anyone wanting a great place to stay right in the centre of the old town. Although we had a car with us we never took it out the car park as everything was within easy walking distance.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dave12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2010

The location is in the center of the upper town across from Chateau Frontenac. Within easy walking distance to the whole city and many quaint restaurants. It was very clean and the staff was friendly and helpful. A wonderful breakfast was included.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Annehsf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Quebec City hotels
0.1 mi away
Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac
Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac
#18 of 102 in Quebec City
4,634 reviews
0.3 mi away
Le Manoir d'Auteuil
Le Manoir d'Auteuil
#2 of 102 in Quebec City
1,279 reviews
0.2 mi away
Auberge Saint-Antoine
Auberge Saint-Antoine
#5 of 102 in Quebec City
2,185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel du Vieux-Quebec
Hotel du Vieux-Quebec
#1 of 102 in Quebec City
1,652 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel 71
Hotel 71
#11 of 102 in Quebec City
1,735 reviews
1.0 mi away
Auberge Aux Deux Lions
Auberge Aux Deux Lions
#4 of 102 in Quebec City
982 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Auberge Place D'Armes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Auberge Place D'Armes

Address: 24, rue Ste-Anne, Quebec City, Quebec G1R 3X3, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Quebec > Quebec City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#9 Romantic Hotel in Quebec City
#10 Business Hotel in Quebec City
#13 Family Hotel in Quebec City
Price Range: $125 - $281 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Auberge Place D'Armes 3.5*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets and Hotwire so you can book your Auberge Place D'Armes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Auberge Place d`Armes Hotel Quebec City
Auberge Place D'Armes Quebec/Quebec City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing