We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tres bien!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Auberge Place D'Armes
Ranked #9 of 100 Hotels in Quebec City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 13, 2009

My wife and I booked this charming little hotel on the strength of the reviews on Tripadvisor. Are we glad! We both agreed that it was one of the best places we've ever stayed. The staff was very friendly, and the room was great. We had the Deluxe room with the brick wall and stone bathroom (on the website -- the center and right pictures). We looked right across Rue Ste-Anne from the second floor, where we could hear singing and other music during the daytime. The hotel has an outstanding restaurant (Pain Beni), and is near a terrific gelato shop a couple of doors away. Free breakfast was included, and it was great. Not continental, but real food. Parking in the underground garage a few blocks west on Ste-Anne is a snap and actually quite inexpensive. The room itself was very clean, well air-conditioned, and had a whirlpool bathtub. Free wireless internet was an added bonus, as we had our laptop. The location is perfect for walking tours of both the upper and lower towns. When we go back, we're staying here.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank JoeC22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,619)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,279 - 1,285 of 1,619 reviews

Reviewed September 3, 2009

We spent four nights in one of their best rooms - Marie-Antoinette Suite. The room is large by Quebec standars, decorated in the style of 17th Century Versallies. The room is comfortable, very clean and the location is the best -overlooking St. Anne street with its vendors and cafes. The breakfast does not have many choices, but their scrambled eggs are delisious. The french toast is good too. Overall we enjoyed our stay. The only Cons - the service could be very slow but it seems to be a norm everywhere in Quebec. On our previous visit to Quebec City we stayed at Hotel ST. Anne next door, the rooms were smaller, but for the half the price it was a much better value (although it looks like prices have gone up over the last three years).

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Galaxy775
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2009

My wife and I and our cocker spaniel spent 1 night at the Auberge Place D'Armes. It was a charming place. Our room was a bit on the small side, but for the price it was perfect. It was very clean and cozy. The best part of all was the location. Very central to all things in 'old' Quebec. Very close to Chateau Frontenac, street venders, and lots of restaurants. It was a great breakfast too. All good things for us at the Place D'Armes.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank troyfromkitchener
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2009

I picked this off the internet for our 20th anniversary because I was looking for something cozy and affordable in Old Quebec. This place far exceeded my expectations. The staff are unremittingly cheerful and helpful (and fluently bilingual, but so is everyone in Old Quebec.)

The decor is appealing and tasteful. The free breakfasts are delicious (although they all seem to involve maple syrup; not necessarily a bad thing but seems a bit stereotypical.) Important tip: be sure to leave $2-$3/person tip for breakfast; "free" is never really free in Quebec.

The lunch and evening menus at the restaurant are likewise fabulous, but a little pricier than surrounding restaurants.

The location - Wow! Just a stone's throw from the Frontenac, it's central to every sight and service you could want'.

There were so many nice little touches that add to the charm and comfort of the place - like the bin of umbrellas available to borrow.

My only complaint about the place is that they have what I call a Three Bears water system: the shower temperature varies rapidly between too cold, too hot and just right.

Overall, I can't say enough good things about Auberge Place D'Armes.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PrairieMentok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2009

We chose this hotel/b & b because we wanted something special for our 25th wedding anniversary. We were certainly not disappointed. The staff at the reception desk & in the breakfast room were friendly, helpful, and a joy to meet. We stayed in Room 1 with a gorgeous view, especially of the artists and public walking just underneath our windows. The room was spacious which is perfect if you're out walking all day and want to come back and relax before you go our for supper. Quiet, extremely clean and beautiful, with access to the internet just outside of our room. You can walk everywhere you need to get to from here. If you shut both sets of windows, it is so quiet. There are umbrellas available if you need them, and staff will answer any questions you have, or order a cab for you if needed. We walked to Cirque du Soleil (long but gorgeous walk), went shopping, and enjoyed many fabulous restaurants. The choices for the breakfast that is included are varied and excellent: you get to choose what you want each morning. For something special we highly recommend Le Patriarche (can walk there from the b & b in about 10 minutes). I can't say enough about this gorgeous b & b and location. Truly made our anniversary celebration special.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dante1956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2009

My boyfriend and I stayed at this hotel for three nights at the end of July. It was perfect! We had reserved a room with 17th Century stone walls and when we got there, unfortunately, our room (although lovely!) had brick walls. I went downstairs to ask about a different room and Marc Antoine, the owner, was at the desk and was extremely accomodating. He put us in another larger room for two nights and then gave us The Loft for the third night. It was great!!!!! The rooms were wonderful, the views were incredible and the staff was extremely friendly!!!!! I have stayed across the street at the Chateau Frontenac before....and there is no question in my opinion this hotel is by far so much better!!! We will come back for sure! We loved everything about our stay!!!!!

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fleurdelys6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2009

From the minute we walked in to Auberge Place D'Armes we felt welcome and well taken care of in their open arms. The service is beyond first class. Our very large dog couldn't have been treated better and the kids never seemed to be any trouble at all to anyone of the staff. Michelle and Andrew were so good to us as well as the other girls on the front desk. Any questions or recommendations all came very natural and with great enthusiasm. You did go above and beyond I must say, its all the little things like cleaning my white pants or letting my sons friend call home from your own phone without charging us anything. Welcoming us in our room with the doggie bed, bowls and treats even though Chester could have used the bed as a pillow. We thank you for all of this because you made our trip so wonderful. Merci. Our room was perfect, immaculate and gorgeous with a spectacular view of your typical Quebec City street - filled with action all day and night long. Literally right outside our windows were artists and musicians, street performers, boutiques and outdoor restaurants and patios. The main circle was right in front of us with the horse and buggies trotting by and just beyond that was the Chateau, right there, right across the street. How incredible is that. What a location, what a spot, what a vacation - this is where to be in Quebec City. We loved every part of our trip but staying at Auberge was a tremendous highlight, we really felt apart of the city and all its action. The room decor splits halfway between soft shabby chic and funky cool modern, we loved it. We had a big beautiful flat screen and internet access just outside our door. Even the hallway was a cool relaxing hangout. We enjoyed all our breakfasts with incredible coffee and delicious french toast every morning while we tried to read the french newspapers, not so good. We do regret not having dinner in the hotel but we were exploring the city for the first time, so next time for sure we will have dinner with you. I couldn't imagine staying in a better place in all of the city. Merci beaucoup Michelle and Andrew, tons of love to you all, we will see you next year. Palmer, Michael, Johnny, Cole and Chester Stevenson

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank loulouToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Quebec City hotels
0.1 mi away
Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac
Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac
#18 of 100 in Quebec City
4,867 reviews
0.3 mi away
Le Manoir d'Auteuil
Le Manoir d'Auteuil
#3 of 100 in Quebec City
1,322 reviews
0.2 mi away
Auberge Saint-Antoine
Auberge Saint-Antoine
#5 of 100 in Quebec City
2,227 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel du Vieux-Quebec
Hotel du Vieux-Quebec
#1 of 100 in Quebec City
1,703 reviews
1 mi away
Auberge Aux Deux Lions
Auberge Aux Deux Lions
#4 of 100 in Quebec City
1,007 reviews
0.2 mi away
Le Champlain Hotel
Le Champlain Hotel
#16 of 100 in Quebec City
2,144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Auberge Place D'Armes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Auberge Place D'Armes

Address: 24, rue Ste-Anne, Quebec City, Quebec G1R 3X3, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Quebec > Quebec City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#9 Romantic Hotel in Quebec City
#10 Business Hotel in Quebec City
Price Range: $108 - $260 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Auberge Place D'Armes 3.5*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire and Cancelon so you can book your Auberge Place D'Armes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Auberge Place d`Armes Hotel Quebec City
Auberge Place D'Armes Quebec/Quebec City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing