We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Auberge Place D'Armes
Ranked #8 of 102 Hotels in Quebec City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 31, 2008

The hotel was absolutely adorable with a very friendly, helpful and dedicated staff. The rooms were very clean and had so much charm. The excellent restaurant "Pain Beni" at the Auberge served wonderful, reasonably priced dinners as well as complimentary breakfast. Throughout our stay we felt that the owner and the staff at the front desk as well as the wait staff were willing to go above and beyond to make our stay a pleasant one. I can highly recommend this hotel, which is most conveniently located right across from the Chateau Frontenac and would always want to stay there during my next visits to Quebec City. Merci beaucoup!!!
Sybille Denninger, Rockport, Massachusetts

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Hexy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,540)
There are newer reviews for Auberge Place D'Armes
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,260 - 1,266 of 1,540 reviews

Reviewed October 31, 2008

It was a wonderful experience staying at this little hotel. First of all, it's in an excellent location. The staff was very helpful and willing to help us in English whenever it was necessary. They served a wonderful Breakfast every morning, and whenever we needed directions they were more than willing to help.

We took a taxi to the Pepsi Colisse to see Cirque du Soleil thinking that a taxi would be available right after the performance. We felt stranded until we called the hotel for help. They called for a taxi and gave them our exact location and we arrived back at the hotel safe and sound.

The Hotel owner, Michelle Doré is so friendly and eager to make her clients comfortable at her hotel. She also speaks excellent English. We were limited in our French, but all of her staff was willing to help us at all times. Our Room 20 was like a Junior Suite with a little fridge, a comfortable sofa, two beds in the room. We loved it.

In the future, I would like to consider the Winter Carnival in Quebec and I would go back to this little hotel and truly feel at home.

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Davillier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2008

Recently returned from Quebec City and stayed three nights at Auberge place d'armes with our infant son. Had an excellent stay...the staff was super helpful. They had place an infant crib (a pack n' play) in our room ahead of time, they helped us carry our stroller up the stairs, helped us order out for food, and the restaurant attached to the hotel was convenient, had a delicious menu and had a great, free continental breakfast for guests. We had a cheaper room, but you would never know it...the bathroom was great and the room was large enough for a queen bed and the crib. I would certainly stay here again and I recommend it highly.

Stayed: October 2008
1  Thank MDrost
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2008

This small hotel is in the perfect position for tourists in Old Quebec. We stayed in room 9 on the top floor which was a lovely big room with some views of Chateau Frontenac which is nearby. Being on the top floor, and with no lift, the room was a bit harder on senior legs but it was worth it when you got there. The staff were very helpful and there was always someone on hand to answer questions. The co-located restaurant was excellent with friendly staff and delicious food. All staff spoke excellent English. Highly recommended and we would like to come back one day.
Diana and Steve, London, England

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank StevesterLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2008

I found this hotel through a website called Easyrez. It was a real find. Well located close to the Frontenac but on a "no car traffic" street so it is relatively quiet. A junior suite, very well appointed, was a touch above $200.
The owners and staff were friendly and went out of their way to be helpful. The attached restaurant has some of the best fondue I have had.
I felt like I had found a home away from home and look forward to returning.

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank SFtraveler4303
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2008

I travel solo frequently and always prefer small private inns/hotels. Auberge Place D'Armes was better in every way than what I expected. My room, #4 (couples have treats in store!) was larger than others, very comfortable and quiet. The staff is efficient and very friendly and helpful. The restaurant is excellent. The only improvement would be to the breakfast. It's okay, but it should be as special as the place itself. I liked Le' Omlette.

Stayed: October 2008
1  Thank sunkist1126
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2008

The location of the auberge is perfect to explore the sights of Old Quebec. Many of the major sights are within easy walking distance, as are oodles of shops, artisans & restaurants. Steps to the Chateau Frontenac, Musee du Fort & funicular.

Our 1st night was in Room 22, on the 2nd floor, overlooking the pedestrian street below. Smaller than I imagined, but nicely decorated and well kept. The shower/tub were practically right beside the queen-bed, which I thought was odd (more on that in a sec)...I guess there wasn't orginally a tub in the room (?) and it was added later. A well appointed, comfy room, albeit a little unique.

Unfortunately, the old plumbing got persistently noisy during the night, and since the tub was right beside the bed, it did interrupt our happy slumber. When I brought this to the staff's attention in the morning, we were immediately given the best suite at the auberge for our remaining 2 nights, without any hassle or even the suggestion of that happening...at no extra charge to us.
*This was amazing service! Thank you!*

Our upgrage room (Room 9) was on the 3rd floor: Quite large with cathedral ceiling and exposed wood beams, 3 windows with unobstructed views of the Chateau Frontenac across the park. 2 king-beds, big bathrm w/jacuzzi tub and sep shower. Electric fireplace, leather sofa & lounger, flat screen TV & small kitchen in-room too. A very comfortable suite.

The restaurant downstairs (Le Pain Beni) was good as well and breakfast (cont'l) is included with the price of the room.

The service, room, vibe of the auberge along with its location tempt me to rate this hotel a "5", however, it does lack any extra amenity, such as an elevator, fitness room, pool, tennis court, etc. So while it's great for what it is, it is officially rated a "3 star" accom.

Overall, we were very pleased with our 3-night stay and would recommend this auberge to couples looking for a quiet, intimate get-away at a warm, charming, small hotel in the heart of Quebec City.

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank spmm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Quebec City hotels
0.1 mi away
Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac
Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac
#17 of 102 in Quebec City
4,556 reviews
0.3 mi away
Le Manoir d'Auteuil
Le Manoir d'Auteuil
#2 of 102 in Quebec City
1,245 reviews
0.2 mi away
Auberge Saint-Antoine
Auberge Saint-Antoine
#4 of 102 in Quebec City
2,152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel 71
Hotel 71
#11 of 102 in Quebec City
1,711 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel du Vieux-Quebec
Hotel du Vieux-Quebec
#1 of 102 in Quebec City
1,629 reviews
0.2 mi away
Chateau Fleur de Lys - L'HOTEL
Chateau Fleur de Lys - L'HOTEL
#7 of 102 in Quebec City
583 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Auberge Place D'Armes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Auberge Place D'Armes

Address: 24, rue Ste-Anne, Quebec City, Quebec G1R 3X3, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Quebec > Quebec City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#9 Romantic Hotel in Quebec City
#10 Business Hotel in Quebec City
#13 Family Hotel in Quebec City
Price Range: $129 - $312 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Auberge Place D'Armes 3.5*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Cancelon so you can book your Auberge Place D'Armes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Auberge Place d`Armes Hotel Quebec City
Auberge Place D'Armes Quebec/Quebec City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing