We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Quaint” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Auberge Place D'Armes

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Auberge Place D'Armes
Ranked #10 of 104 Hotels in Quebec City
Certificate of Excellence
Vaughan, Canada
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Quaint”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

Stayed at this quaint hotel for 4 days June 2013 with a friend. The entrance is non descriptive but the room was beautiful. We were in room 2, it was a large room with a king size bed, fireplace and a modern bathroom. The furniture was a mixture of antique ( with cultural accents such as the fleur de lis) along with some modern pieces. Very eclectic.
Breakfast was included in the price & served in the Pain Beni. There were 7-8 choices on the breakfast menu such as scrambled eggs with toast, fruit & choice of bacon, or sausage. Other choices were waffles, yogurt with cereal & a unique breakfast pizza. Food was delicious.
The staff were friendly & very helpful. There are no elevators but staff will gladly bring your luggage to & from your room. The series of stairs to reach your room would be difficult to manoeuvre if you have mobility issues.
The auberge is ideally located in the heart of Quebec City close to numerous restaurants, the Funiculaire, art shops & many quaint retail shops ( a nice surprise most of the merchandise is product of Quebec & this isn't limited to local foods but clothing & other products as well.)

Room Tip: Room 2 is large & bright faces the street & is across from a church & it's courtyard...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jcesana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,296 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    973
    262
    43
    12
    6
See reviews for
147
881
55
42
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (315)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New york
Level Contributor
360 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 176 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2013

We stayed one night at the this hotel. The location is great, just right across the Chateau Fontenace and therefore right within the old city. The rooms were spacious and each room was somewhat different. For example, the decor of one room was very "marie antoinette"ish. One room had a double heart shaped bath tub in the bath room. Mine is modern and chic with a nice jacuzzi tub.

The breakfast was included with the room. i have the breakfast pizza and was good. In addition, internet is included.

Room Tip: There was no elevator and it could be quite a walk if you were on the top floor. If you had a ca...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DavidNYC11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2013

I had just proposed to my fiancée the day before arriving and had let the hotel know. They upgraded the room we had booked and provided some champagne for the occaision. On top of that bit of unexpected kindness, it was a very nice hotel with friendly staff. The food at the connected restaurant was also very great (a bit pricey, but delicious) and the overall location of the hotel was excellent. It was a perfect place to stay to celebrate our engagement and to explore Quebec City from.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
51 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2013

Make no mistake, Quebec is an expensive destination - all the old city hotels are pricy. We picked this one because of it's great central location for the tourist sites, and because of great reviews on Tripadvisor.

And it is a lovely hotel - newly renovated, nice staff, good breakfast included in the price

The problem is, once you get to this price level you have very high expectations as a consumer. And small things begin to annoy you - like cheap multicoloured goo dispensers in the bathrooms instead of proper toiletries, a poor quality small bed, and very poor sound insulation between rooms, which means that you hear all the bathroom plumbing from neighbouring rooms. Also the "suite" is really just a spacious room with a small table and extra chair.

So, yes, you'll enjoy staying here, but it's worth being aware that you may not get everything you expect for the price range.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Possom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MichelleDore, Owner at Auberge Place D'Armes, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
Bonjour Possom
Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay. I am sincerely sorry that your experience has fallen short of your expectations.
The Auberge is located in two historical buildings joined together. One a former museum from 1730 with stone walls and the other from 1850 made of brick that came to Quebec as ship ballast.

As our buildings, in a incredible location, are part of the Historic District of the Old Québec (Unesco), during our rénovations we did our best to save the old walls , while adding modern amenities : soundproof windows and heated floors in the bathroom, silent individual thermopump for climatisation etc. Each bathroom in the suites have or a jacuzzi bath or a spa shower for 2. For the toiletries, we made a green choice with dipensers and they are filled with Fruits and Passion highend soap and shampoo. At the front desk, soap bar, shampoo and lotion are always available for those who prefer.
In each room a nespresso machine with free nespresso capsules and tea, a refrigator, free high speed wifi, every night you find a little good night chocolate on your pillow, I luve radio to duck your Iphone during night. Free bottled water in our suites also. Each suite have an ambiance fireplace or an old âtre. One of our suite in very unique since it is decorated with panelling from the Palace of Versailles (which where in the museum) and bronze decor furniture.
All our rooms have only queen or king beds, choice of pillow and down comforter.
In order to provide an unique stay to our guest, hand made furniture, designer lamps and antiques give each of our rooms their unicity and soul!
The painting on our walls are original lithography by renon Quebec artists including Francisco Iacurto, Claude Simard and Benoit Coté.
We are the only small boutique hotel in the city to offer you room service 18 hours a day and valet parking for your car. As breakfast is the most important meal of the day we are happy to offer you more than 10 choices of hot or cold breakfeast including egg benedicts, french toast or even waffles served in our restaurant with cappuccino or espresso coffee.

Our guests are our top priority, we are a family venture and we all work hard with all our heart to ensure that every stay is mémorable and that our guests feel l’hospitalité québécoise !
We thank you very much for your feedback,

Michelle et Marc-Antoine Doré
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma City
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2013

Loved this hotel! Charming, quite, romantic, great location, right in the heart of Old Quebec, close to sites & great restaurants. We had a junior suite, spacious, clean, comfortable king bed & smartly decorated. Hotel staff was knowledgeable and helpful, speaking English almost as well as their French. Breakfast was delicious, we stayed 3 nights & (between the two of us) tried almost everything on the breakfast menu. Would definitely stay there again and recommend to everyone.

Room Tip: We had room #1, a junior suite, great view facing St. Anne. Loved it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Linda C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beavercreek, Ohio
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for our 5th anniversary trip. The staff was very friendly and accommodating, especially, as my bag was lost and we were constantly asking them about if it was retrieved, etc. They were patient throughout those 26 hours! The room was small, but clean and cozy. Our room was on the top floor, many many stairs to climb. The bathroom had all updated fixtures. Our breakfasts were always very good, as we had an option of a healthy breakfast which we appreciated! The location of this was perfect, as our extended family was staying at the Frontenac, literally a stone's throw from D'Armes. All in all, a perfect stay with a friendly staff!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank riss104
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
60 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2013

Absolutely loved our stay here. This is a small boutique hotel which has 9 rooms. On our arrival we were upgraded to the loft room which had two king sized beds a jacuzzi and a kitchenette. The staff were extremely helpful, and nothing was too much trouble. On arrival I enquired about laundry facilities ( which they didn't have ), but they offered to do a large bag of laundry for us overnight for ten dollars. It was ready early next morning to pick up.
Breakfast is included at a cafe downstairs and on our last morning as we had to leave early for our flight, they delivered breakfast to our room the night before. Location was perfect too.

Would highly recommend this hotel - we thoroughly enjoyed our stay.

Room Tip: Ask for the loft room - there is no lift but our bags were carried up for us and collected on our de...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SBandSB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Quebec City hotels
0.2 mi away
Auberge Saint-Antoine
Auberge Saint-Antoine
#3 of 104 in Quebec City
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,818 reviews
0.1 mi away
Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac
Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac
#17 of 104 in Quebec City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,646 reviews
0.3 mi away
Le Manoir d'Auteuil
Le Manoir d'Auteuil
#2 of 104 in Quebec City
5.0 of 5 bubbles 993 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel du Vieux-Quebec
Hotel du Vieux-Quebec
#1 of 104 in Quebec City
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,372 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Le Priori
Hotel Le Priori
#8 of 104 in Quebec City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 977 reviews
0.2 mi away
Le Saint-Pierre Auberge Distinctive
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Auberge Place D'Armes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Auberge Place D'Armes

Property: Auberge Place D'Armes
Address: 24, rue Ste-Anne, Quebec City, Quebec G1R 3X3, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Quebec > Quebec City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#9 Romantic Hotel in Quebec City
#10 Business Hotel in Quebec City
#13 Family Hotel in Quebec City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Auberge Place D'Armes 3.5*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your Auberge Place D'Armes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Auberge Place d`Armes Hotel Quebec City
Auberge Place D'Armes Quebec/Quebec City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing