We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“In the Middle of Everything!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Auberge Place D'Armes
Ranked #8 of 102 Hotels in Quebec City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 2, 2013

Great stay. We were there for two nights the last weekend of April. The breakfast was wonderful and included in our rate. Parking was close by and easy to get to - as was everything else. We were in the heart of Old Quebec!

The staff did a great job.

The only drawback was that our room, Number 4, was small for a "Deluxe" room or so I thought. It was actually a pretty standard small hotel room. The bathroom showed some wear with some chipped paint on the mirror, a broken lamp shade and cracked caulking around the tub.

It did not appear that the cooling system was turned on yet and the one and only window provided the only ventilation on the warm weekend.

I would stay there again for the location, the restaurant - but I would ask for something more "deluxe."

Room Tip: If you are tall - do not choose Room # 4. It has slanted ceilings.
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank japierpont
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,537)
There are newer reviews for Auberge Place D'Armes
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

959 - 965 of 1,537 reviews

Reviewed April 30, 2013

My husband and I celebrated my 50th birthday with a three day break in Quebec City and we were incredibly happy with our choice of Place d'Armes for accommodation. From the minute we arrived the staff was friendly and helpful. Our first night we enjoyed dinner at the hotel and we both loved our meal. We started with a cocktail, and I chose the "indecis" which our bartender developed for the hotel. It was lovely. We expressed interest in trying other restaurants and our waiter not only suggested three but called and made reservations for us at two of them, both of which lived up to his recommendation. Our breakfasts were generous, and the oatmeal with fresh Maple Syrup was fabulous.

We stayed in the one bed suite. I have discovered in the past that the photo on the website is not always the same as the room you receive, however, this was not the case at Place d'Armes. The room was charming with an exposed stone wall, a closet to hang clothes, a fridge, coffee maker and corkscrew. The bed was comfortable and there was an extra blanket if needed. The shower had a rain shower head with good water pressure (I have also discovered that these two don't always go together).

We would stay here again without hesitation.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rickyandlucy12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2013

It was a challenge to select a small hotel in Quebec City for our birthday celebration trip with the many glowing reviews of so many properties, but I'm very happy that we were able to stay at the Auberge Place d'Armes. I chose it based on TA reviews, location, and decor from the pictures. Initially, the deluxe room I wanted was only available for Saturday and Sunday nights, and I booked a superior room for Friday night, to move to the nicer room on Saturday. But when we checked in, we were able to stay in the same Deluxe room for all three nights - an attentiveness from the front desk that was much very appreciated. Our room was cozy tending towards small (compared to standard hotel rooms), with no bathtub, but so utterly charming that we quickly settled in. Decorative touches perfect, and our large casement windows opened out right on to the Place d'Armes. (Quite convenient to check the temperature each morning!) Even though we were one flight up front the street and right over the front door, the room was quiet without ever feeling stuffy. We both agreed the location was perfect - everything was within walking distance.

The staff was wonderful for our entire stay. We did not meet with a single apathetic person. Noelle and Roman at the front desk were great sources of information (and patience with sorting out the room availability) and confirmed an important birthday dinner reservation for us while we were out for the day. (Thank you Noelle for the birthday thoughtfulness!) The a la carte breakfast menu provided lots of choices, and we made sure to have a good breakfast each day to fuel our walking!

Travel to Quebec City at winter rates (30% off 3 night stay) made this gem an affordable luxury and we have wonderful memories of our "nest".

Room Tip: We stayed in Room #15 - the one pictured on the website.
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kate C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2013

We stayed at Auberge Place D'Armes for 3 nights and it was good. The rooms are very nice and updated. They are very detail oriented and did a great job with all the little things (chocolates on the bed, great coffee machine, cork screw in the room). The hot breakfast was fairly good compared to the continental breakfasts you get at other places. Although they did not Exceed my expectations, I would definitely recommend this place.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ju5tdream
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2013

Our first trip to old Quebec City was capped by the sheer pleasure of staying at Auberge! Having chosen this hotel to stay in while celebrating both of our birthdays was the best gift that we could have given or received from each other.
Noelle, at the Front Desk, was fabulous in her suggestions for places to dine and visit. We had had regular communication going by phone and email with her right up to the day we arrived. If we owned a hotel, we would try to steal her! The young man at the Front Desk in the evening was equally helpful and went out of his way to make our stay a joy.
The history and charm of the building itself was a delight. Looking out from our second floor room, we had a fabulous view of the courtyard in front of the Chateau Frontenac.
Breakfast in Le Pain Beni was a la carte, so you basically had your choice of 10 items. Frothed, hot milk in your morning coffee was a special treat! A gentle suggestion that these servers should also be tipped, even though your breakfast was included in the cost of the room. We noticed many patrons not leaving a tip in spite of excellent service. Perhaps they simply didn't think about it. Unfortunately the restaurant was closed for renovations during the day and evening, so we did not get to try out the rest of the menu. Perhaps a primary reason to return for another visit.
If you choose to visit Old Quebec City in early spring, bring along clothes to layer up... gloves,toque, a scarf and a warm jacket were really a necessity during our visit. The wind off the St. Lawrence is very brisk and tunnels through the narrow winding streets.
One big concern that we had was parking. However, there is an underground parking lot about 2 minutes walk from the Auberge, where we simply parked the car and left it until we were ready to leave. You can temporarily park your car just in front of the Tourist Info Office (3-4 doors down from the Auberge) for 10 - 60 minutes to unload your suitcases prior to permanently parking. There are little stands along the street that you pay your fare at, indicating the number of the parking stall you are using. Very easy, once you know what you're looking for... and we didn't know about them when we arrived.
A truly remarkable hotel, exceptional staff, and a must place to stay. Your visit there will give you a warm fuzzy feeling!

Room Tip: Room #6 is a corner room, one side faces the Frontenac and the other has a small lane that was featu...
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank heath1301
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2013

Does the entire city of old Quebec radiate from Auberge Place d'Armes or does it just seem that way? Its location on the beautiful Place d'Armes square facing the Chateau Frontenac and steps away from a plethora of shops, pubs, churches, and museums is bested only by its charm and its gracious, friendly staff. I went to bed each evening with the breath-taking view of the lighted Frontenac reflecting in the snow through the bare branches of the square's trees--a view, of course, not possible from the Chateau itself.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the square.
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PaulDShermanOaks_CA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2013

I spent a week in Quebec city, and this hotel made my trip what it was! The free breakfast at Le Pain Beni was wonderful! Such a wonderful addition. My room was a Pied-a-terre. Quaint, beautiful, and very comfortable to come home to. The staff was amazing!! If I go back to Quebec City I would not think twice about where I would stay! This would be the place. Location is perfect, right across the street from Chateau Frontenac. The only downfall would be parking, as you need to locate your own down the street in the City Hall lot. Other than that, perfect, perfect, perfect!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jess224
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Quebec City hotels
0.1 mi away
Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac
Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac
#17 of 102 in Quebec City
4,538 reviews
0.3 mi away
Le Manoir d'Auteuil
Le Manoir d'Auteuil
#2 of 102 in Quebec City
1,240 reviews
0.2 mi away
Auberge Saint-Antoine
Auberge Saint-Antoine
#5 of 102 in Quebec City
2,145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel 71
Hotel 71
#11 of 102 in Quebec City
1,708 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel du Vieux-Quebec
Hotel du Vieux-Quebec
#1 of 102 in Quebec City
1,624 reviews
0.2 mi away
Chateau Fleur de Lys - L'HOTEL
Chateau Fleur de Lys - L'HOTEL
#7 of 102 in Quebec City
583 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Auberge Place D'Armes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Auberge Place D'Armes

Address: 24, rue Ste-Anne, Quebec City, Quebec G1R 3X3, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Quebec > Quebec City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#9 Romantic Hotel in Quebec City
#10 Business Hotel in Quebec City
#13 Family Hotel in Quebec City
Price Range: $129 - $306 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Auberge Place D'Armes 3.5*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and Hotwire so you can book your Auberge Place D'Armes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Auberge Place d`Armes Hotel Quebec City
Auberge Place D'Armes Quebec/Quebec City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing