We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“A hotel with heart in the heart of Old Quebec” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Auberge Place D'Armes

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Auberge Place D'Armes
Ranked #10 of 104 Hotels in Quebec City
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A hotel with heart in the heart of Old Quebec”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2013

We spent three nights at this hotel with one day of business and two of pleasure. On arrival we were upgraded to a de luxe room that was clean and had everything we needed, although clothes hanger space was a bit limited (plenty of drawer space). The room was on the second floor and there is no elevator so you should be prepared to walk up the stairs. Breakfast, included in the rate, really surprised us: instead of the continental breakfast that is usually the fare at breakfast include places, we had the choice of several hearty dishes, including an unusual breakfast pizza that is worth trying. The restaurant is excellent and offers a discount to patrons of the hotel. Even without the discount the meal is good value - Quebec cooking at its finest.

Quebec City is very walkable and the Auberge is ideally situated in the old town a few steps from Chateau Frontenac and a short walk to the battlefields and history. Even better, it is downhill to lower town and the port area (try the Marche du vieux port for locally produced goods) and if you don't feel like climbing the hill back up the funicular brings you out 100 yards from the hotel! You don't need a fitness centre if you walk the hills.

We'll be coming back to Quebec City fairly frequently from now and this hotel would be my first choice for visiting the old city.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Angus R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,296 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    973
    262
    43
    12
    6
See reviews for
147
881
55
42
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (315)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bogota, Colombia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2013

Me and my husband spent 1 night at this hotel in a quick trip to Quebec, it couldn't be better. It is in the heart of Old Quebec downtown.
Service was great, room was beautiful, clean and cozy.
The restaurant is VERY good (you should try the fondue) and they give you discounts for staying with them.
The only thing i "had trouble" with, is that they don't have elevator and our room was in the last floor... I feel young enough to go up and down those stairs, but you better don't miss anything in the room before going out...

Room Tip: Do not ask for a high floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Patricia C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hubbards, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2013

We had an extended stay and enjoyed every moment of it. The staff was so accommodating, the rooms were superior and each day we were warmly welcomed to breakfast. Can't wait to return to this magical city and this fine inn.

Room Tip: There is no elevator and the first floor is really the second floor. Still, charm outweighs challen...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Edison M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
Level Contributor
112 reviews
110 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 8, 2013

It is a small and nice hotel in Quebec. The rooms are very nice, individually designed. It’s a small old building, perfectly located. Friendly staff, very tasty breakfast which in included in the price of the room. The restaurant downstairs serves also very good dinner, the best main course (gibier) I had during my trip to Canada this time. It is a nice individual place, which has a lot of character and does not ressemble to any soulless chain hotels. Can be fully recommended!!!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank papeetee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Maine
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed for 2 nights in this cozy hotel. 21 rooms, quiet, romantic, breakfast included, helpful front desk staff, great shower! We were upgraded when we arrived (although we had taken time to pick out the room we wanted online so were actually a little disappointed to be upgraded!) Great location.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Trav3lor04101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sask Canada
Level Contributor
81 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2013

The staff here are excellent and very helpful. (especially the day staff) We stayed here a few nights from Jan 31- Feb 2 . They held our luggage in a secure area until our room was availble as we arrived early in the morning., and they delivered our luggage to our room which we greatly appreciated so that we could go out touring the city earlier. . We stayed in room number 6.....wow....this room is well done..., well preserved historic building. The views from our room was outstanding, seeing the Chateau Frontenac all lit up at night ....awesome sight. The hotel is in an excellant location , close to everything. The bed was very comfortable , and the room very clean . I would certainly recommend this hotel

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank justmesk49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 31, 2013

Visiting family in Montreal for the holidays, we decided to go for a short break to Qc City. We stayed at the Auberge mid December 2012 for 2 nights, and chose the hotel based on location and the fact that it was a historic building. We actually sourced our choice from Trip Advisor. Normally we stay in cheaper accommodation, or self catering, however we were treating ourselves this time, and we were very happy with the choice, definitely worth the money to have a bit of luxury!

The location is excellent and the room was great. We paid extra to get one of the junior suites and the room didn't disappoint. Upon arrival the reception was friendly and informative, they spoke English no problem. We were given the Marie Antoinette room, only on the first floor so not many stairs. The landing to the room has the internet point for the hotel, and ice machine, and a little fake fire with seating. The room itself has great views and faces the Chateau Frontenac, and is nicely decorated and furnished. The bed was king size, super comfy and warm. The room was equipped with a mini fridge, tassimo machine, c. 34in flatscreen and a little fake fire which gives off heat. Breakfast with the stay was tasty, we even got breakfast in bed one morning, but you have to ask for it. It was snowing a lot outside, a perfect winter wonderland, and we enjoyed hanging out in the room and people watching from the windows where there was a ledge to sit up on. The views were great, such a good location in Qc City, it really doesn't get better than this, and so much more character than staying at the Frontenac!

Downsides were, if they can be considered downsides: no parking at the hotel, but the nearest parking isn't too far away, apparently we could have had a valet service. Slightly disappointed we didn't get bathrobes and slippers for the $ we paid, or something a bit more special to make us feel as opulent as the room did. We only had enough tassimo pods for 2 coffees, we had to ask for extra. If you mind, the Marie Antoinette room only has a shower, whereas the other Jr Suite has a bath.

Would definitely recommend if you don't mind spending the cash.

Room Tip: Can only speak for the Marie Antoinette room, it won't disappoint if you don't mind about th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank righteousbabeinedi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Quebec City hotels
0.2 mi away
Auberge Saint-Antoine
Auberge Saint-Antoine
#3 of 104 in Quebec City
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,818 reviews
0.1 mi away
Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac
Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac
#17 of 104 in Quebec City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,643 reviews
0.3 mi away
Le Manoir d'Auteuil
Le Manoir d'Auteuil
#2 of 104 in Quebec City
5.0 of 5 bubbles 992 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel du Vieux-Quebec
Hotel du Vieux-Quebec
#1 of 104 in Quebec City
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,371 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Le Priori
Hotel Le Priori
#8 of 104 in Quebec City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 977 reviews
0.2 mi away
Le Saint-Pierre Auberge Distinctive
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Auberge Place D'Armes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Auberge Place D'Armes

Property: Auberge Place D'Armes
Address: 24, rue Ste-Anne, Quebec City, Quebec G1R 3X3, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Quebec > Quebec City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#9 Romantic Hotel in Quebec City
#10 Business Hotel in Quebec City
#13 Family Hotel in Quebec City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Auberge Place D'Armes 3.5*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your Auberge Place D'Armes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Auberge Place d`Armes Hotel Quebec City
Auberge Place D'Armes Quebec/Quebec City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing