We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect for our stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Auberge Place D'Armes

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Auberge Place D'Armes
Ranked #10 of 107 Hotels in Quebec City
Certificate of Excellence
Bogota, Colombia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect for our stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

Me and my husband spent 1 night at this hotel in a quick trip to Quebec, it couldn't be better. It is in the heart of Old Quebec downtown.
Service was great, room was beautiful, clean and cozy.
The restaurant is VERY good (you should try the fondue) and they give you discounts for staying with them.
The only thing i "had trouble" with, is that they don't have elevator and our room was in the last floor... I feel young enough to go up and down those stairs, but you better don't miss anything in the room before going out...

Room Tip: Do not ask for a high floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Patricia C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,203 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    893
    253
    41
    10
    6
See reviews for
134
821
50
40
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (291)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hubbards, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

We had an extended stay and enjoyed every moment of it. The staff was so accommodating, the rooms were superior and each day we were warmly welcomed to breakfast. Can't wait to return to this magical city and this fine inn.

Room Tip: There is no elevator and the first floor is really the second floor. Still, charm outweighs challen...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Edison M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
Level Contributor
112 reviews
110 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

It is a small and nice hotel in Quebec. The rooms are very nice, individually designed. It’s a small old building, perfectly located. Friendly staff, very tasty breakfast which in included in the price of the room. The restaurant downstairs serves also very good dinner, the best main course (gibier) I had during my trip to Canada this time. It is a nice individual place, which has a lot of character and does not ressemble to any soulless chain hotels. Can be fully recommended!!!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank papeetee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Maine
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed for 2 nights in this cozy hotel. 21 rooms, quiet, romantic, breakfast included, helpful front desk staff, great shower! We were upgraded when we arrived (although we had taken time to pick out the room we wanted online so were actually a little disappointed to be upgraded!) Great location.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Trav3lor04101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sask Canada
Level Contributor
80 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

The staff here are excellent and very helpful. (especially the day staff) We stayed here a few nights from Jan 31- Feb 2 . They held our luggage in a secure area until our room was availble as we arrived early in the morning., and they delivered our luggage to our room which we greatly appreciated so that we could go out touring the city earlier. . We stayed in room number 6.....wow....this room is well done..., well preserved historic building. The views from our room was outstanding, seeing the Chateau Frontenac all lit up at night ....awesome sight. The hotel is in an excellant location , close to everything. The bed was very comfortable , and the room very clean . I would certainly recommend this hotel

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank justmesk49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

Visiting family in Montreal for the holidays, we decided to go for a short break to Qc City. We stayed at the Auberge mid December 2012 for 2 nights, and chose the hotel based on location and the fact that it was a historic building. We actually sourced our choice from Trip Advisor. Normally we stay in cheaper accommodation, or self catering, however we were treating ourselves this time, and we were very happy with the choice, definitely worth the money to have a bit of luxury!

The location is excellent and the room was great. We paid extra to get one of the junior suites and the room didn't disappoint. Upon arrival the reception was friendly and informative, they spoke English no problem. We were given the Marie Antoinette room, only on the first floor so not many stairs. The landing to the room has the internet point for the hotel, and ice machine, and a little fake fire with seating. The room itself has great views and faces the Chateau Frontenac, and is nicely decorated and furnished. The bed was king size, super comfy and warm. The room was equipped with a mini fridge, tassimo machine, c. 34in flatscreen and a little fake fire which gives off heat. Breakfast with the stay was tasty, we even got breakfast in bed one morning, but you have to ask for it. It was snowing a lot outside, a perfect winter wonderland, and we enjoyed hanging out in the room and people watching from the windows where there was a ledge to sit up on. The views were great, such a good location in Qc City, it really doesn't get better than this, and so much more character than staying at the Frontenac!

Downsides were, if they can be considered downsides: no parking at the hotel, but the nearest parking isn't too far away, apparently we could have had a valet service. Slightly disappointed we didn't get bathrobes and slippers for the $ we paid, or something a bit more special to make us feel as opulent as the room did. We only had enough tassimo pods for 2 coffees, we had to ask for extra. If you mind, the Marie Antoinette room only has a shower, whereas the other Jr Suite has a bath.

Would definitely recommend if you don't mind spending the cash.

Room Tip: Can only speak for the Marie Antoinette room, it won't disappoint if you don't mind about th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank righteousbabeinedi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

My wife and I spent 5 days and 4 nights in Quebec City and stayed at Auberge Place D'Armes. We stayed in room 6 and enjoyed the beautiful view of the Chateau Frontenac. Our room was clean, comfortable and (most importantly in January) warm. We were treated like family by all of the staff (especially Romain, Noelle and Jonathan) and we appreciated their suggestions for shopping and meals. The restaurant, Le Pain Beni, had a nice selection for breakfast and we also enjoyed the fondue for two when we arrived the first evening. The location of the hotel is perfectly central. Really, we can't think of anything negative to say. We can't wait to come again (though it may be in the summer!).

Room Tip: The staff are accommodating when selecting a room, so call or e-mail them first with your preference...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JARHOOPS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Quebec City hotels
0.2 mi away
Auberge Saint-Antoine
Auberge Saint-Antoine
#2 of 107 in Quebec City
5.0 of 5 stars 1,679 reviews
0.1 mi away
Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac
Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac
#18 of 107 in Quebec City
4.5 of 5 stars 3,173 reviews
0.3 mi away
Le Manoir d'Auteuil
Le Manoir d'Auteuil
#4 of 107 in Quebec City
5.0 of 5 stars 869 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel 71
Hotel 71
#7 of 107 in Quebec City
4.5 of 5 stars 1,356 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Clarendon
Hotel Clarendon
#38 of 107 in Quebec City
4.0 of 5 stars 1,206 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Le Germain Quebec
Hotel Le Germain Quebec
#6 of 107 in Quebec City
5.0 of 5 stars 994 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Auberge Place D'Armes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Auberge Place D'Armes

Property: Auberge Place D'Armes
Address: 24, rue Ste-Anne, Quebec City, Quebec G1R 3X3, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Quebec > Quebec City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#9 Romantic Hotel in Quebec City
#10 Business Hotel in Quebec City
#13 Family Hotel in Quebec City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Auberge Place D'Armes 3.5*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity, Odigeo, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your Auberge Place D'Armes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Auberge Place d`Armes Hotel Quebec City
Auberge Place D'Armes Quebec/Quebec City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing