We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful location for Charming Inn”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Auberge Place D'Armes
Ranked #7 of 101 Hotels in Quebec City
Certificate of Excellence
Maine
Level Contributor
43 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Wonderful location for Charming Inn”
Reviewed November 25, 2012

We were very pleased with the Auberge Place d'Armes. You can unload your bags right at the front steps, even though the street is normally reserved for pedestrians. The hotel arranged temporary parking for us nearby as we waited for spaces in the nearby underground car park.
Dinner one night was very good. Rooms were creatively updated, and included nice bath & shower features & wide-screen TVs. The view of the Frontenac across the square was superb. Overall, we would be pleased to return.

Room Tip: The stairs are steep. Ask for a lower floor if this will bother you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CWMMaine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MichelleDore, Owner at Auberge Place D'Armes, responded to this review, December 22, 2012
Bonjour CWMMaine
Merci Merci for taking time to give us a feedback on your stay. We do have a unique location in the heart of Québec on the only 2 pedestrians street. At this time of the year, as mentioned in the above review you cannot park in front of the hotel, unload and go to the parking that is a block away, that is why, in summer time until the end of October we offer a valet parking service. Many guests because we take care of luggage will go by themselves to the parking lot which is nearby.
Our best asset is our team, devoted to our guests and their needs. They know and love their city and want to share it with you to make sure that you enjoy every seconds of your stay in Quebec city and feel <l’hospitalité québécoise>.
I will also pass to the chef your appreciation of the breakfeast and dinner !
Michelle et Marc-Antoine Doré
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,422 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,082
    277
    45
    12
    6
See reviews for
164
968
62
44
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (343)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed November 23, 2012

Central location in Old Quebec City ona touristy street. Great breakfast in the morning. Staff was friendly and helpful. But the room we had was tiny! Made a reservation for what I thought was going to be a room in the attic but got the deluxe room on the 2nd floor. Was so tiny there was barely room to walk around the bed and the shower was in the room. Would reccomend this inn but just not the room we had.

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank NY_Sam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MichelleDore, Owner at Auberge Place D'Armes, responded to this review, December 22, 2012
Bonjour NY_Sam
Merci for taking the time to send in your comments. We do have a unique location in the heart of Québec on the only 2 pedestrians street. As the hotel is composed of 2 old very old buildings joined
together rooms varies from one to the other in square feet but all have old period charm and modern amenities.
Should you wish to have a larger room at your next stay, just enquire at our front desk team ; we have different categories of rooms from small to oversize.
Merci encore for your comments and au plaisir
Michelle et Marc-Antoine Doré
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 20, 2012

If you're looking for a charming place to stay, look no further. we loved our room from the start, the stone and brick walls with a touch of modern was absolutely perfect, tub big enough for two,and the bed was just heaven! The staff greeted us with smiles and went out of their way to be of service. After a few beers at Pub Saint Alexandre and a magnificient dinner au Parmesan we enjoyed a stroll along the pier. This will be an anniversary I won't soon forget, thank-you for making our week-end very memorable.....hope to see you again very soon
Nancy and Stephane

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nancy m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MichelleDore, Owner at Auberge Place D'Armes, responded to this review, December 22, 2012
Bonjour Nancy and Stephane
Merci, for taking your time to send us feedback on your stay. We are happy that you have choosen us for your anniversary and let us be a part of your souvenirs !
We are very happy that you felt the cosyness and charm of our rooms. The hotel has a lot of character since it is 2 old buildings joined together. In our rénovations we did our best to save the old walls , while adding modern amenities to provide you an unique stay and give soul to our rooms. As you mentionned the location of the hotel is unique and add to the pleasure of discovering Quebec.
Au plaisir de vous accueillir lors de votre prochain séjour !
Michelle and Marc-Antoine Doré
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed November 17, 2012

We loved this hotel! The room was modern in an old world hotel. I really appreciated the L-shaped nook with the desk, the fireplace and the great view of the old cathedral across the street. The view of the Chateau Frontenac glimpsed through the big old tree was wonderful! The jetted tub was big enough for two and felt incredible after coming in from the freezing cold weather. The restaurant in the hotel, Pain Beni, was exceptional and is not to be missed! Breakfast being included in the price of the room at that amazing restaurant was a big plus.

Room Tip: We loved room #4. It had a charming view of the Old City street from a gable window.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rick V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MichelleDore, Owner at Auberge Place D'Armes, responded to this review, December 22, 2012
Bonjour RickV
Merci for a so great review of our Auberge. All our team and us are happy that you enjoyed your stay and the breakfast and dinner at the Pain Béni our restaurant. It will be a pleasure for us to welcome you again!

Michelle et Marc-Antoine Doré
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
34 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2012

Stayed 3 nights at this place in a junior suite which overlooked the street outside and had a little view of the Chateau. The room was very charming and we loved the stone walls. There was lots of space for us to put our luggage and the bed was very comfortable. The furniture with the fleur-de-lis emblem added even more charm.

Bathroom was decent size. The hair dryer could however do with some cleaning as there was dust in it. Vanity counter was a little small but there was a cupboard near the door to put stuff.

Staff were friendly and happily helped my husband to arrange for flowers and wine for my birthday.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mlmleong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MichelleDore, Owner at Auberge Place D'Armes, responded to this review, December 22, 2012
Bonjour CJKStPaul

Merci for taking time to give us a feedback on your stay. What an excellent review and I agree with you our location is fantastic. At the corner of rue Ste-Anne and du Trésor the only 2 pedestrian streets in upper Town.
Thank you for your compliments on our rooms and bathrooms, we tried to take advantage of the 1730 old walls and add modern amenities to give you the feeling of Old Quebec.
Our best asset is our team, devoted to our guests and their needs. They know and love their city and want to share it with you. I will also pass to the chef your appreciation of the breakfeast.
It is the most important meal of the day it as to be good !

We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back.
Michelle et Marc-Antoine Doré
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Paul
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2012

Just returned from a 2 night stay at this hotel. We were with 4 other couples and we all had a positive experience. The rooms are very romantic but modern amenities and comfortable. This hotel is right next to the visitor's center, across from the very overpriced Frontenac Hotel. the breakfast here was too die for! Wonderful waffles with fruit or tasty yogurt with fruit and granola...anything off their menu! We would highly recommend this place...

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CJKStPaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MichelleDore, Owner at Auberge Place D'Armes, responded to this review, December 22, 2012
Bonjour CJKStPaul

Merci for taking time to give us a feedback on your stay. What an excellent review and I agree with you our location is fantastic. At the corner of rue Ste-Anne and du Trésor the only 2 pedestrian streets in upper Town.
Thank you for your compliments on our rooms and bathrooms, we tried to take advantage of the 1730 old walls and add modern amenities to give you the feeling of Old Quebec.
Our best asset is our team, devoted to our guests and their needs. They know and love their city and want to share it with you. I will also pass to the chef your appreciation of the breakfeast.
It is the most important meal of the day it as to be good !

We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back.
Michelle et Marc-Antoine Doré
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fredericton, New Brunswick, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2012

Many people plan a trip away for many reasons - be it a place for cultural experience or an escape to share a special moment. My very special someone and I wanted and needed both, with a context of surroundings that felt like another world within a few hours drive and a budget that had limits. Old Quebec was it!!!! This was the hotel that we came up with for the ambiance we were looking for.

Booking was efficient. Do not worry about the language divide - it basically does not exist if there is any concern. They appreciated effort for French and were very respectful to ensure understanding. We found the front desk from reservation to settlement efficient, accommodating, professional and friendly.

Choice was limited at the time of booking in mid-summer - Superior in the attic our choice. No tub, but shower our only choice yet we were flexible. On arrival we were assigned our room but were told that because of the length of our stay (6 nights) we had option on a slightly larger room the next day - which on a quick check the next morning we made the switch - to basically an identical room/bath with a 25% larger footprint.

Parking is limited to the underground parking for Town Hall - a mere 200 meter distance away once you get out of the garage. NOTE - if you do park here find a parking spot at the highest floor level within so youdon't have to climb 6 sets of stairs to get to street level!!! While this might seem an irritation the ease of this was fine since we walked 'old Quebec' - we didn't need our car until we chose to take a day trip to Ste-Anne de Beaupre and Ils-de-Orleans. Please note that given location of this inn parking is in short supply for many inns/B&Bs. I do not consider this a reflection on Place d' Armes.

Breakfast WAS included. This was a surprise that from info we had received had made no such mention. Breakfast was excellent quality - tons of excellent cafe. We could choose a different entree for each of every day we were there. Service was quick and efficient on mornings when it was either busy or light.

The room ambiance and decor were excellent with old world charm wrapped up in 'quebecoise' - stone and wood. While the 3 flights of stairs were a physical challenge - we had to laugh after the second day - can't be anything but good for our old legs!

No disappointments. Staff were excellent. Bottom line strength was its location.

Given the place of 'old Quebec' and special time in our lives 'a ce moment', this auberge was a respite with every aspect of it contributing a feeling of being far away from our other worldly and daily troubles.

If I remember correctly our nightly cost tax incl was $218. I left there without any thought that the cost was not fair value.

The only negative I can come up with would be for those physically challenged by stairs.

Bonne journee' !!

Room Tip: Be clear on your need for tub or shower. Physical limitations with stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ByeTheSea56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MichelleDore, Owner at Auberge Place D'Armes, responded to this review, December 22, 2012
Bonjour ByeTheSea56

Merci, for taking your time to send us feedback on your What an excellent review and I agree with you our location is fantastic. At the corner of rue Ste-Anne and du Trésor the only 2 pedestrian streets in upper Town. Just in front of the Château Frontenac

We have done our best to save the old walls and windows while adding modern amenities to provide you a home away from home and give soul to our rooms ! I will definitely pass on your kind words to our team who work really hard, but with pleasure, to make sure our guests enjoy every seconds of their stay in Quebec city and feel <l’hospitalité québécoise>.

I will pass to the Chef and his brigade your good words about breakfast, it is the most important meal of the day it must be good !

Au plaisir donc de vous vous accueillir à l’Auberge Place d’Armes lors de votre prochain séjour.
Michelle et Marc-Antoine Doré
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Quebec City hotels
0.1 mi away
Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac
Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac
#15 of 101 in Quebec City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,044 reviews
0.2 mi away
Auberge Saint-Antoine
Auberge Saint-Antoine
#3 of 101 in Quebec City
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,981 reviews
0.3 mi away
Le Manoir d'Auteuil
Le Manoir d'Auteuil
#2 of 101 in Quebec City
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,087 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel du Vieux-Quebec
Hotel du Vieux-Quebec
#1 of 101 in Quebec City
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,481 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Le Priori
Hotel Le Priori
#6 of 101 in Quebec City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,051 reviews
0.2 mi away
Maison du Fort
Maison du Fort
#4 of 101 in Quebec City
5.0 of 5 bubbles 733 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Auberge Place D'Armes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Auberge Place D'Armes

Property: Auberge Place D'Armes
Address: 24, rue Ste-Anne, Quebec City, Quebec G1R 3X3, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Quebec > Quebec City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#9 Romantic Hotel in Quebec City
#10 Business Hotel in Quebec City
#13 Family Hotel in Quebec City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Auberge Place D'Armes 3.5*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Agoda, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Auberge Place D'Armes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Auberge Place d`Armes Hotel Quebec City
Auberge Place D'Armes Quebec/Quebec City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing