We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lovely hotel with very friendly staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Auberge Place D'Armes
Ranked #10 of 102 Hotels in Quebec City
Certificate of Excellence
York, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“A lovely hotel with very friendly staff”
Reviewed September 15, 2012

We stayed in this hotel for 2 nights in September 2012. We had just arrived from the big city lights of Montreal and we were immediately taken with the somewhat more quaint Quebec city and Auberge Place d'Armes.

We arrived on the same day as an international cycling tournament so finding the hotel was a little bit of a challenge. However, the hotel did email us a couple of days beforehand informing us that certain roads would be closed and providing us with an alternative route.

Upon arrival we asked the hotel about parking options and they provided prices for either valet parking or a nearby public car park. We opted to park the car ourselves in the parking lot as this was significantly cheaper than using the hotel valet and really no hassle.

We had the attic room which was on the top floor. It was 53 steps up as the hotel has no lift but the receptionist was very helpful and carried one of our suitcases up for us (I volunteered my husband to take the second one!) The room itself was very charming with a lovely bed and a really great modern bathroom. It was on the small side, but this was expected from a loft room. The only slightly disappointing thing was that there was no view whatsoever.

The breakfast in the hotel was really lovely and I splurged on the waffles with maple syrup and fruit (yum!) We also ate at the restaurant that is adjoined to the hotel in the evening. We had a really pleasant meal here and the chocolate dessert was absolutely to die for !!!!!! The waitress at the restaurant was so lovely and talked to us at length about the local area. She really appreciated that we tried to speak some french and seemed genuinely happy that we had tried and was very patient with mistakes.

The location is absolutely superb, within easy walking distance of the promenade near the hotel Frontenac (now that looks like a decadent hotel...) and of other restaurants and cafes.

We were sorry to leave and would love to return one day

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TracyandMark1508
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MichelleDore, Owner at Auberge Place D'Armes, responded to this review, September 23, 2012
Bonjour TracyandMark1508
Merci for taking your time to write us a review, we appreciate it. We are proud of our team since they make the différence. They know their city and want to share it with you. We are also happy that even, if you had one of the smallest room , you felt the cosyness and charm of our rooms.
The hotel, as you mentioned, has a lot of character since it is 2 old buildings joined together. In our renovations we did our best to save the old walls , while adding modern amenities to provide you an unique stay.
Our location in the middle of everything is unique and each of our guest can walk everywhere to explore our beautiful city.
Traveling or at home the first meal of the day is important and we make sure that our guests starts well their day with excellent coffee and a nice variety of breakfast offerings. Thanks for your nice comments.
Au plaisir de vous accueillir à nouveau
Michelle and Marc-Antoine Doré
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,508 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,144
    297
    49
    12
    6
See reviews for
189
1,022
63
45
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (357)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, Arizona
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2012

This Auberge is in a prime location for a visit to Quebec City. We were fully prepared and looking forward to our stay here. We knew that the rooms would each be different and unique; ours was on the third floor in the front of the building. View to the street was grand and the double windows kept the street noise out which is very favorable. The room is in a dormer portion, so that much of the room has knee walls and not a lot of usable space, if you are tall. The electric fireplace was a nice touch. Bedding was comfortable and lighting good. Bathroom was very modern, though not much space to place ones toiletries. Much of the décor seems to have been carved from fiber board and painted, which although artful, appears a bit unsubstantial. Generally day to day cleaning was done well, but the Inn doesn’t seem to have a program for periodic deep clearing. The carpet in both the hall and our room was very dirty (dark paths in the walking areas) and very stained throughout. Also there is the appearance of mold around the caulk joint in the bath. Menu at the included breakfast offered a good selection and was well presented and prepared. Service for breakfast was less than friendly.

Room Tip: Rooms at the front allow a great view. 2nd floor is likely a good choice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tryingfor100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MichelleDore, Owner at Auberge Place D'Armes, responded to this review, September 23, 2012
Bonjour Tryingfor100
Thank you for your comment, it proved very very useful. Your comment for dirty carpets was a first for the Auberge. In summer, the rooms are continuously occupied and only the maid enters the rooms for daily cleaning and to report broken furniture or special cleaning. The maid did ask the man responsible for cleaning the carpets to do the entire floor and hallway, but he neglected to do it. He had been in our employ for a few months and we had to fire him for his negligence, but we consider that we are ultimately responsible for your discomfort, we are ashamed for what happened and we would like to apologize, we are extremely sorry. We have taken additional steps to make sure that it does not happen again. It is unfortunate that you did not mention it at the desk, steps could have been taken much more rapidly and your stay would have been more comfortable and would have give you another room while cleaning. Just to add: materials used in our room goes from pine with faux-fini to stainless steel, iron to polycarbonate, crystal and silk. We try to offer a décor of yesteryears in modern comfort.
Thanks for your good words on our selection for breakfast.
Again we apologize and thank for your comment that helped us. Hope that you enjoyed your stay in Quebec.
Michelle and Marc-Antoine Doré
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
usa
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2012

Stayed here in July. Previously wrote a review which was removed - don't understand why. My wife wrote a review under her TA account and now I am giving my opinion. Room was clean, it was quiet at night. The included breakfast was not something so special it justified the overall price for the room. The furnishings and decor did not justify this either, and we booked a suite, not a standard room. Ammenities, like ear buds, toothbrush, etc. are not offered. Bed was not comfortable. Bathroom needed better attention in the cleaning.

Apparently, management of this hotel is sensitive to criticism; but there is definitely room for improvement at this facility.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ginginbaba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2012

Satisfied with the amenities provided, with Free breakfast and Wireless access. Breakfast - pick anything on the hotel menu. Staff was very accommodating. Hotel is on street full of Cafe's and Restaurants. Easy walk to all locations. Enjoyed the fact hotel located inside the Old City.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank GS_Chicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MichelleDore, Owner at Auberge Place D'Armes, responded to this review, September 23, 2012
Bonjour GS_Chicago
The entire team of the Auberge Place d’Armes would like to thank you for your wonderful review. Your comment give us wings !
Au plaisir de vous accueillir lors de votre prochain séjour !
Michelle and Marc-Antoine Doré
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2012

We stayed at the Auberge Place D'Armes over the Labour Day weekend.

It we had a nice sized room which was well decorated and had a cozy feel to it.

The staff was good and the breakfast in the attached restaurant was also quite good.

The hotel is perfectly situated right near the Chateau Frontenac and near the top of the escarpment.

If I were to stay there again I would book a room that overlooked the walking street below and which gets the morning sunlight.

My only criticism is that it is a bit expensive for what it is, but other than that, no complaints.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CaptCanuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MichelleDore, Owner at Auberge Place D'Armes, responded to this review, September 23, 2012
Bonjour CaptCanuck
Merci for taking time to give us a feedback on your stay. What an excellent review and I agree with you our location is fantastic. At the corner of rue Ste-Anne and du Trésor the only 2 pedestrian streets in upper Town. Just in front of the Château Frontenac which gave your junioa such beautiful view. Thank you for your compliments on our rooms and bathrooms, we tried to take advantage of the 1730 old walls and add modern amenities to give you the feeling of Old Quebec.
I will also pass to the chef your appreciation of the breakfeast.
Au plaisir de vous accueillir à nouveau !
Michelle and Marc-Antoine Doré
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
155 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 244 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2012

Since the hotel is on a pedestrian walkway,if you have a car you first have to park in the circle closest to the hotel, and then run in to register and leave your bags off. They will then Valet your car, or you can park in the public garage a short walk away.

The hotel is very nice if you know what to expect. Quirky is the word that comes to mind. I like our room (#22) a lot. It faced the pedestrian walkway and had large windows that opened. When the windows are closed there was no problem with noise. The A/C worked well and was quiet.The bathroom had a toilet and sink, and a large soaking tub with modern shower was located in the main part of the room, and could be closed off with a curtain. There was also another sink next to the bathtub. There was also a really nice sitting area.

My only complaints would be the bed-it was really hard, and the stairs to get to the room. Room #22 was actually on the 3rd floor, as they consider the ground floor to be what we would call the 1st floor. The stairs are narrow and steep. As a rule this wouldn't be too much of a problem for me, but after walking the streets of Quebec sightseeing for hours, to come back and have to climb 36 steep steps was not fun.

Just so you know, there really is no lobby. Just a desk that serves as the reception to the restaurant as well. The staff were all nice and helpful.

I would not hesitate to stay here again, but would definitely want a room on the ground or 1st floor.

Room Tip: Unless you like stairs, get a room on the ground or 1st floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JD3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MichelleDore, Owner at Auberge Place D'Armes, responded to this review, September 23, 2012
Bonjour JD3
Merci for your compliments about our rooms! Combining 1730 old walls, modern amenities, hand made designer furniture and antiques give each of our rooms their unicity and soul!
Our team work hard to provide a unique stay for each of our guests and let them feel l’hospitalité Québécoise ! They love their work and it show’s !
An elevator is in our projects, for your information there is sitting area with a fireplace, a computer, books and the ice machine is on the first floor in the museum section.
Your comment give us wings ! Thank you for choosing us !
Au plaisir de vous accueillir à l’Auberge Place d’Armes lors de votre prochaine visite à Québec.
Michelle and Marc-Antoine Doré
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
136 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2012

Stayed in a Junior Suite on the first floor with breakfast included. Room faced the very busy street but was quiet. If you want to be where the action is this is the place. Convenient to numerous restaurants and sellers of eveything. Also right across from the Frontenac
The included breakfast was very good with an excellent selection. The front desk staff were very helpful.

If you intend to rent a car this auberge is only a five minute walk from Hertz so it helps getting a car and dropping it off as there is a large number of one way streets to make things kind of crazy for driving.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Caribbeancrazy243
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MichelleDore, Owner at Auberge Place D'Armes, responded to this review, September 23, 2012
Bonjour Caribbeancrazy 243,
Merci for taking time to give us a feedback on your stay. What an excellent review and I agree with you our location is fantastic. At the corner of rue Ste-Anne and du Trésor the only 2 pedestrian streets in upper Town. Just in front of the Château Frontenac which gave you in room 3 such a beautiful view. Thank you for your compliments on our rooms and bathrooms, we tried to take advantage of the 1730 old walls and add modern amenities to give you the feeling of Old Quebec.
The breakfast is an important meal and we try our best to make it so as you have experienced. Our best asset is our team, devoted to our guests and their needs. They know their city and want to share it with you.

We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back.
Michelle et Marc-Antoine Doré
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Quebec City hotels
0.1 mi away
Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac
Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac
#18 of 102 in Quebec City
4,379 reviews
0.2 mi away
Auberge Saint-Antoine
Auberge Saint-Antoine
#5 of 102 in Quebec City
2,099 reviews
0.3 mi away
Le Manoir d'Auteuil
Le Manoir d'Auteuil
#2 of 102 in Quebec City
1,192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel 71
Hotel 71
#8 of 102 in Quebec City
1,679 reviews
1.0 mi away
Auberge Aux Deux Lions
Auberge Aux Deux Lions
#4 of 102 in Quebec City
949 reviews
0.2 mi away
Chateau Fleur de Lys - L'HOTEL
Chateau Fleur de Lys - L'HOTEL
#7 of 102 in Quebec City
559 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Auberge Place D'Armes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Auberge Place D'Armes

Property: Auberge Place D'Armes
Address: 24, rue Ste-Anne, Quebec City, Quebec G1R 3X3, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Quebec > Quebec City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#9 Romantic Hotel in Quebec City
#10 Business Hotel in Quebec City
#13 Family Hotel in Quebec City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Auberge Place D'Armes 3.5*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Agoda and getaroom.com so you can book your Auberge Place D'Armes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Auberge Place d`Armes Hotel Quebec City
Auberge Place D'Armes Quebec/Quebec City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing