We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No frills but a pleasant stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
La Maison Sainte-Ursule
Ranked #48 of 120 Quebec City B&B and Inns
Reviewed January 4, 2014

This little hotel is fabulously located just inside the St. Louis gate and that is its main attraction. It is also clean, there is plenty of hot water, and the staff are friendly. The room decor was a bit weary and our double-bed room was small (the bathroom in particular) but we got to peek into other rooms that seemed more spacious and elegantly presented, available at a higher cost. A word of caution: there is no parking and you need to park in a municipal lot several blocks away so be sure and take everything you need into the hotel before you park. Overall, we had a great time because everything was a short walk away, but in terms of overall value, $235 for two nights including tax seemed quite pricey to us.

Room Tip: Ask to see the room if you can as there seems to be a variety of rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Denise S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (63)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

17 - 23 of 64 reviews

Reviewed September 29, 2012 via mobile

Believe they are in the process of renovation, little by little. Our room had new carpet, wall paper, paint, and furnishings....clean and esthetic, though small, but adequate. Hallways and staires are still in desperate need of repair. The best part is location...can hear horse carriages clopping thru the cobble stone streets from time to time. Many restaurants right around the corners.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank apain_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2010

We booked this hostel as the other places were full. After reading the reviews we were a bit scared, but when arriving at the hostel, we were really pleased: The location is excellent, the prices are really OK for Quebec downtown (you pay less than in the shabby youth hostel on the opposite side of the road). The best part of our experience: They even offered as a room with a bathroom for the price of a room without a bathroom (which saved us about 20 dollars) - maybe because we arrived during the low-season.
There is no breakfast, but many little bars in the surroundings offer bagels, croissants and coffee.
Or you can do what we did: We bought our own breakfast and asked the guy at the lobby to borrow some bowls and spoons - what he kindly did! I can thus recommend the room No. 4- very quiet, spacious - you even have a private terrace!!!

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank organicvision
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2010

Needed a room just to sleep in on a Saturday night in late October. Location is good - it's in the upper old city, close to everything. They gave me a parking pass, but I had trouble finding a nearby lot that could accept the pass - I finally found one a few blocks away. The manager was very friendly and helpful. The room was cheaper than a private room at the youth hostel across the street. Tiny, thin old carpeting, clean. Worn comforter, sheets, pillow, and bed okay. No remote for TV. Shared bath was small and basic, but clean and functional. I checked for evidence of bedbugs and found none; still, I hung all my things on the hooks on the walls, put nothing on the bed or floor. No bites. This is a very basic inn, but if you just need a place to sleep for the night for very cheap ($49) inside the upper old city, it works. Safety issue - there is no bolt for the door, just a keyed lock.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank pragmatist1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2010

It looked like a good bargain with friendly staff in a great location, but nothing makes up for bed bugs.

My wife and daughter slept in one bed and didn't get bitten, but I wasn't so lucky. I woke up with bites all over on my shoulder and foot.

I guess that's what I get for trying a one star hotel. Never again!

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank DrMullet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2009

It's a bit pricey for the average backpacker, but you pay for the great location. Walking distance from everything there is to see. Located on a romantic, small cobble stone street. I would go to the hostel next time for the price but I would still recommend to a couple for a nice weekend getaway.

  • Stayed: July 2006, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank izzys613
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2008

This little hotel has only a couple of rooms and lies in uptown Quebec inside the City Walls. The top level (2nd) has three rooms w/o bathroom (but with washbasin), a shared bathroom (1 shower, 1 toilet) is on that level. Staying up there is cheaper. As this building is so old, the doors are very small and the frames pretty low. Our room was entirely wood lined and quite small. Bed was OK, and the street is quiet at night. All floors and our room has carpet. It was clean and absolutely acceptable for the price.
Unfortunately, no car parking lot is provided. The car has to go into the municipal garage 5 min away, which costs $16 for 24 hrs, take that into account when looking at room prices. And funny enough, the receptionists are rather poor in English, they did not even understand the word "baggage". Generally, however, is was a good choice for us, even with a little 3 months old baby.

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank nordkap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Quebec City hotels
Auberge Aux Deux Lions
#4 of 102 in Quebec City
1,002 reviews
Au Petit Hotel
#18 of 120 in Quebec City
154 reviews
Downtown Quebec City
Hotel la Maison Demers
Hotel la Maison Demers
#78 of 120 in Quebec City
58 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Le Cavalier du Moulin
#45 of 120 in Quebec City
102 reviews
L'Autre Jardin
#42 of 120 in Quebec City
109 reviews
Downtown Quebec City
La Boheme Bed and Breakfast
La Boheme Bed and Breakfast
#36 of 120 in Quebec City
51 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Maison Sainte-Ursule? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Maison Sainte-Ursule

Address: 40, rue Sainte-Ursule, Quebec City, Quebec G1R 4E2, Canada
Location: Canada > Quebec > Quebec City > Downtown Quebec City
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #48 of 120 B&Bs / Inns in Quebec City
Price Range: $69 - $129 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — La Maison Sainte-Ursule 1*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your La Maison Sainte-Ursule reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Maison Sainte-Ursule Hotel Quebec City
La Maison Sainte-Ursule Quebec/Quebec City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing