We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
B&B La Marquise de Bassano
Ranked #14 of 119 Quebec City B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Lafayette
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Nice Stay”
Reviewed July 15, 2006

Clean room and very friendly hosts. Location is great. we stayed in the library room. Breakfast was great and served from 8 to 11 every day. So you can sleep in and relax. We stayed in early July and they have no AC just like most places. The hosts gave us 2 fans and we slept like babies because the hills in Quebec City are quit the work out. Overall great place to stay.

  • Stayed July 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank telleaux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

200 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    156
    36
    5
    3
    0
See reviews for
32
116
10
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2006

I stayed here in May 2006. The house it beautiful. It is in a quite and safe area in Old Quebec City close to all the major attractions in the old city. My room was nice and comfortable. A nice breakfast was provided. The hosts Francis and Veronque were very nice and helpful. Highly recommended as a place to stay.

Helpful?
5 Thank gouldian1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 160 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2005

Bonjour!!

My wife and I spent 3 nights at the Marquise de Bassano and Francis, Veronique and Joseline made our stay tre magnifique.

The charm of the house along with the attentions of the hosts compare to no other B&B's we have stayed at; the location, breakfast, conversations both with the hosts and other guests, completed our experience. The whole time we were there we met guests from Belgium, France, Canada, and Switzerland, giving us a chance to practice our limited french.

We are already planning our next trip to Quebec and we will be sure to book our stay at the Marquise de Bassano!!

  • Stayed September 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ahuizote
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sherwood Park, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed May 5, 2005

We stayed during a conference last October. The trip turned out to be one of the most memorable in recent memory for us. Francis and Veronique made us feel like family. They recommended their favorite restaurants which were always spectacular. Our room, the library, was huge and very interesting. The location is perfect, central in the old city. Most evenings we wound up visiting with our hosts and other guests in the pleasant living room over a glass of wine or 2. Breakfast was always very good. When we go back to Quebec City we will be staying here.

  • Stayed October 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Canuk11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed April 26, 2005

My wife and I stayed at La Marquise de Bassano for one night in April 2005. Of all the hotels on our journey through Canada it turned out to be the best by far.

First of all the location. It simply couldn't be better! a 5 minute taxi ride from the station or a picturesque 15 minute stroll through the meandering streets of old Quebec. It is located just round the corner from one of the city's major landmarks, le Chateau Frontenac and a stone's throw away from the St Laurent river and streets full of palces to eat.

The owner, Francis, made us feel at home as soon as we set foot in the door. The house is beautiful with a great balance of old and new. Our room, "The Library", was quiet, comfortable and a pleasure to come back to in the evening. The breakfast was a feast of fruit, home-baked croissants and chocolatines, cereal, different breads, ham and cheese...what more can I say?

Since everything was above par and over our expectations I think it deserves a 5 star rating.

If ever we have the chance to return to Quebec in the future, I will definitely book a room at La Marquise de Bassano.

  • Stayed April 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Andrew_Eglinton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, ON
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2004

My husband and I spent out second wedding anniversary at the Marquise de Bassano B&B in Old Quebec City. The location was great, seconds from the river and the Chateau. The price was right, we stayed in the smallest room (the Cranny) there was no air conditioning, but they did provide a fan. We shared a bathroom but it was never a problem, and the rain shower is great! The hotel is very clean and Veronyc and Francis are wonderful hosts. We were there on election night and the guests all gathered around the T.V, it was really laid back, just like being at home. They also provided us with a parking pass for the Hotel de Ville, which was close by and very convenient. I would recommed this place to anyone wanting a relaxed stay for a reasonable price. They did have a dog that often came out to say hello during breakfast which might be a problem for people with allergies.

  • Stayed June 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank MollyAnnasMama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Quebec City hotels
0.1 mi away
Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac
Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac
#17 of 102 in Quebec City
4,366 reviews
0.0 mi away
Maison du Fort
Maison du Fort
#3 of 102 in Quebec City
765 reviews
0.2 mi away
Le Manoir d'Auteuil
Le Manoir d'Auteuil
#2 of 102 in Quebec City
1,187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Chateau Fleur de Lys - L'HOTEL
Chateau Fleur de Lys - L'HOTEL
#7 of 102 in Quebec City
558 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Chateau Bellevue
Hotel Chateau Bellevue
#29 of 102 in Quebec City
982 reviews
0.2 mi away
Auberge Place D'Armes
Auberge Place D'Armes
#10 of 102 in Quebec City
1,508 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to B&B La Marquise de Bassano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about B&B La Marquise de Bassano

Property: B&B La Marquise de Bassano
Address: 15 des Grisons, Quebec City, Quebec G1R 4M6, Canada
Location: Canada > Quebec > Quebec City
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 119 B&Bs / Inns in Quebec City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — B&B La Marquise de Bassano 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz and Hotwire so you can book your B&B La Marquise de Bassano reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Marquise De Bassano Hotel Quebec City
B&B La Marquise De Bassano Quebec/Quebec City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing