We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely B&B”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
B&B La Marquise de Bassano
Ranked #11 of 120 Quebec City B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Lovely B&B”
Reviewed July 30, 2013

We stayed at La Marquise de Bassano for one night and really enjoyed it. The staff are very welcoming and you are made to feel right at home. The rooms are beautiful and all unique. The bathrooms look new and everything was very clean.

Breakfast is something to look forward to. The staff put on an amazing spread, with fresh bread, pastries and lots of fruit!! Veronyc was also very helpful, giving us tips for places to see, restaurants and a delicious bakery on our way out of Old Town.

We loved our stay here and hope to stay again if we are ever back in Quebec City.

We would highly recommend staying here!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 2010_ATT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Veronycsansoucy, co owner at B&B La Marquise de Bassano, responded to this review, August 15, 2013
BOnjour

Thank you for sharing your experience! Hope you had a safe trip back to Australia!
If you ever come back on this side of the globe, please remember that you will always have a home away from home!

Merci

Veronyc
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

197 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    153
    36
    5
    3
    0
See reviews for
32
114
10
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Massachusetts
Level Contributor
253 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 179 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2013

We stayed three nights in the Dovecoat room (upstairs, shared bath, private patio). The room is clean and large and contains beautiful art, as does the rest of the inn. Veronica and Francis are great hosts; they had great recommendations for restaurants and attractions. Breakfast consisted of fresh breads and fruit, one hot dish, cereals and drinks. All great. The location is perfect; it's in the Old City, a block from the Chateau Frontenac, the Citadelle, and the St. Lawrence River (we had a water view from the patio).

We stay in a lot of B&Bs, and this one was near the top of the list. I'll recommend it to friends planning a trip to Quebec.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Melvillean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Veronycsansoucy, co owner at B&B La Marquise de Bassano, responded to this review, August 15, 2013
Bonjour et merci for the wonderful description. It will give the other people a better idea of where we are located and what they can find nearby!

Once again thank you and have a great summer!

Kind regards,

Veronyc
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
1 review
Reviewed July 12, 2013

We stayed with the wonderful and friendly owners and staff of La Marquise for 6 nights recently. We were greeted warmly and encouraged to treat their B & B as if we were in our home. Our room overlooked the quiet corner street just a stone's throw from the grounds of La Citadelle. Indeed, virtually all of the sites and restaurants of the Old City of Quebec were within walking distance. The house has been gently lived in since the late eighteen hundreds and is full of old world charm inside and outside. It has been very well maintained and has a charming parlor/sitting room adjacent to a lovely dining room with piano in the corner. Guests are welcome to play the piano, watch TV in the parlor or simply read one of the many books available for guests. Our hosts helped us plan the next days activities using one of the many brochures available and also got on the internet for last minute updates on events nearby. At the end of the day, it was lovely to share a glass of wine on the settee and chairs in front of the window boxes over flowing with flowers which face the quiet street. Each morning we were treated to a sumptuous breakfast with all varieties of fruit, croissants and breads, quiches, cheeses and sliced meats and bottomless OJ and coffee or tea in addition to an assortment of healthy dry cereals. Our hosts were exceptionally friendly, gracious and helpful which made this memorable experience one we will cherish for many years. Sue and John G.

Room Tip: We made our reservation early as we preferred a room with private bath.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Veronycsansoucy, co owner at B&B La Marquise de Bassano, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Bonjour Sue & John,

I have been wanting to reply to your wonderful comment for days but our internet connection was not working well. Your description is just perfect and I think it will be very helpful to the other visitors. Thank you for taking the time to do this! I hope we will have the chance to see you again. Meanwhile I wish you a great summer and take good care.

Lots of love from la Marquise,

Veronyc
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2013

My wife and I stayed here in early June for three nights. It is an excellent location for exploring both Upper Town and Lower Town. It is located in a generally quiet neighborhood.

The house, which was built in 1888 and seems to have a rich history, has been very well maintained. I enjoyed their eclectic collection of artwork.

Both Veronyc (who was our main contact during our stay) and Francis were gracious hosts. Veronyc provided plenty of tips on good restaurants. One morning my wife and I both slept in, missing their normal breakfast hours. But Veronyc waited around for us and provided breakfast anyway. That was an unexpected and pleasant surprise. Both Veronyc and Francis speak English pretty well, so that was helpful for us, with our limited mastery of French.

Breakfast, despite the absence of a warm entree, was pretty good. They provided a good variety of foods to choose from, such as cereals, croissants, cheeses, hard boiled eggs, fresh fruit, etc. The tea and coffee were also good. So it was a good way to start the day.

If I were to stay here again, we would probably pick a different room than we did. We stayed in the Library. The bed was a little too small for us. There did not seem to be any place to put the contents of our suitcases, so we pretty much had to live out of those. The shower was a challenge to operate. But we worked through all that. We still enjoyed our stay here based on the location, the food and the friendliness of the hosts, most notably Veronyc in our case.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Veronycsansoucy, co owner at B&B La Marquise de Bassano, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Bonjour Steve,

Thank you for your review. We will see what we can do about some of the things you have mentionned, but some others we won't be able to change, (for example the bed size since it was built in the room.) As you have said it is a historical house and we try to respect its origin.
Once again, merci beaucoup and hope to seeing you soon again!
Have a great summer, Veronyc
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boca Raton, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 26, 2013

On arrival you are greeted with a warm "Welcome Home" and indeed we felt totally at home during our five-day stay at this beautiful B & B on a quiet street within walking distance of all the restaurants and sites in Quebec's Old City. Seasoned travelers we have stayed at excellent B & B's around the world, but our experience here was by far the most outstanding and memorable. The living and dining rooms as well as our room were exceptionally comfortable and exquisitely furnished in charming old-world style (though with all modern amenities).The breakfasts are to die for--homemade croissants and cakes, eggs and yogurt, cheeses and hams, fresh fruits and juices. But what made the experience so extraordinary were the warmth, graciousness, helpfulness and hospitality of the hosts. We've never enjoyed a B & B as much as this. It is simply perfect. (PS No pool--rating checked in error.) Cheryl & Marty Rubenberg mcrubenberg@hotmail.com

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cheryl R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Veronycsansoucy, co owner at B&B La Marquise de Bassano, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
Cheryl and Marty, t-h-a-n-k you!

You brought tears to my eyes! Meeting great people like you, sharing a moment of their life and making new frienship consist above everything our daily leimotiv! Merci. Having you here, with us, was a great pleasure and I do hope we get to see you and Marty again (here or there!)

I wish you both a lovely summer!

kind regards, Veronyc, Francis and Anik
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2013

3 of us traveling from USA; 2 rooms-a single and a double, on the 3rd floor for 2 nights. Both rooms were clean, spacious and the beds were good. We shared a large bath with shower-excellent water pressure. There is a large sitting area on fl 1 and drinks & snacks are available. Free Wi-Fi. The house is very nice with eclectic art and furniture. Our breakfasts were standard fare with a little extra (fiddlehead frittata). The location, a block from the castle, in upper old town is great. A quiet street a couple of blocks from the ramparts/fort, the castle promenade, restaurants, shops, funicular. Our host was warm & so helpful in both generic and specific information. She even told of us of a great bakery at the edge of Quebec on our route when we were traveling on. This is not 5 stars accommodation but it is a great bargain for location, accommodation and hosts. We can easily recommend this BnB.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank henje
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Veronycsansoucy, Owner at B&B La Marquise de Bassano, responded to this review, June 19, 2013
Bonjour

Thank you for your comment. I'm glad you have enjoy the bakery. For people who have been asking me about this place, it is called: Boulangerie chez Oli on Myrand st.

I wish you a great summer and hope to see you again!

Take care,

Veronyc
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2013

We were after an eclectic slice of old Quebec, and the Marquise was perfect. It was mere minutes from the key attractions, including great restaurants, walking tours, le Carnival, and the lower city. Our hosts were gracious... and listen to their restaurant recommendations! We had one of the best dining experiences thanks to Francis. While not an avid hunter, and somewhat shy about Quebec politics, he has a great sense of humour, is a talented pianist, and is a wonderful breakfast chef! Next time we shall bring along our family dog!

Room Tip: Let your hosts help you choose your room. They will listen to your needs and graciously accommodate.
See more room tips
Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank The Kelsibear S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
veroshua, co owner at B&B La Marquise de Bassano, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Bonjour,
On behalf of Francis I would like to thank you for your great review. It will help people to feel the energy that's in the house! Come back anytime! Our doors will always be opened! Merci Veronyc
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Quebec City hotels
0.0 mi away
Chateau Fleur de Lys - L'HOTEL
Chateau Fleur de Lys - L'HOTEL
#8 of 101 in Quebec City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 515 reviews
0.0 mi away
Maison du Fort
Maison du Fort
#4 of 101 in Quebec City
5.0 of 5 bubbles 731 reviews
0.1 mi away
Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac
Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac
#15 of 101 in Quebec City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,033 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Le Manoir d'Auteuil
Le Manoir d'Auteuil
#2 of 101 in Quebec City
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,084 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Chateau Bellevue
Hotel Chateau Bellevue
#26 of 101 in Quebec City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 941 reviews
0.4 mi away
Auberge Saint-Antoine
Auberge Saint-Antoine
#3 of 101 in Quebec City
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,970 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to B&B La Marquise de Bassano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about B&B La Marquise de Bassano

Property: B&B La Marquise de Bassano
Address: 15 des Grisons, Quebec City, Quebec G1R 4M6, Canada
Location: Canada > Quebec > Quebec City
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 120 B&Bs / Inns in Quebec City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — B&B La Marquise de Bassano 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com and Hotel.de so you can book your B&B La Marquise de Bassano reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Marquise De Bassano Hotel Quebec City
B&B La Marquise De Bassano Quebec/Quebec City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing