We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
B&B La Marquise de Bassano
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Maison du Fort(Quebec City)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Chateau Fleur de Lys - L'HOTEL(Quebec City)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Fitness center
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
Manoir Sur-le-Cap(Quebec City)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Reviews (223)
Filter reviews
223 results
Traveler rating
174
41
5
3
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
174
41
5
3
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslibrary roomwelcome homehomemade croissantsgreat hostsother guestschateau frontenacshared bathroomold quebeceach morningfelt like homequiet streetclawfoot tubbreakfast was deliciousfour poster bedmaking dinner reservationsclip clopeuropean city
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
105 - 110 of 223 reviews
Reviewed June 27, 2013

My wife and I stayed here in early June for three nights. It is an excellent location for exploring both Upper Town and Lower Town. It is located in a generally quiet neighborhood.

The house, which was built in 1888 and seems to have a rich history, has been very well maintained. I enjoyed their eclectic collection of artwork.

Both Veronyc (who was our main contact during our stay) and Francis were gracious hosts. Veronyc provided plenty of tips on good restaurants. One morning my wife and I both slept in, missing their normal breakfast hours. But Veronyc waited around for us and provided breakfast anyway. That was an unexpected and pleasant surprise. Both Veronyc and Francis speak English pretty well, so that was helpful for us, with our limited mastery of French.

Breakfast, despite the absence of a warm entree, was pretty good. They provided a good variety of foods to choose from, such as cereals, croissants, cheeses, hard boiled eggs, fresh fruit, etc. The tea and coffee were also good. So it was a good way to start the day.

If I were to stay here again, we would probably pick a different room than we did. We stayed in the Library. The bed was a little too small for us. There did not seem to be any place to put the contents of our suitcases, so we pretty much had to live out of those. The shower was a challenge to operate. But we worked through all that. We still enjoyed our stay here based on the location, the food and the friendliness of the hosts, most notably Veronyc in our case.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steve K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Veronycsansoucy, co owner at B&B La Marquise de Bassano, responded to this reviewResponded July 1, 2013

Bonjour Steve,

Thank you for your review. We will see what we can do about some of the things you have mentionned, but some others we won't be able to change, (for example the bed size since it was built in the room.) As you have said it is a historical house and we try to respect its origin.
Once again, merci beaucoup and hope to seeing you soon again!
Have a great summer, Veronyc

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2013

On arrival you are greeted with a warm "Welcome Home" and indeed we felt totally at home during our five-day stay at this beautiful B & B on a quiet street within walking distance of all the restaurants and sites in Quebec's Old City. Seasoned travelers we have stayed at excellent B & B's around the world, but our experience here was by far the most outstanding and memorable. The living and dining rooms as well as our room were exceptionally comfortable and exquisitely furnished in charming old-world style (though with all modern amenities).The breakfasts are to die for--homemade croissants and cakes, eggs and yogurt, cheeses and hams, fresh fruits and juices. But what made the experience so extraordinary were the warmth, graciousness, helpfulness and hospitality of the hosts. We've never enjoyed a B & B as much as this. It is simply perfect. (PS No pool--rating checked in error.) Cheryl & Marty Rubenberg mcrubenberg@hotmail.com

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cheryl R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Veronycsansoucy, co owner at B&B La Marquise de Bassano, responded to this reviewResponded July 3, 2013

Cheryl and Marty, t-h-a-n-k you!

You brought tears to my eyes! Meeting great people like you, sharing a moment of their life and making new frienship consist above everything our daily leimotiv! Merci. Having you here, with us, was a great pleasure and I do hope we get to see you and Marty again (here or there!)

I wish you both a lovely summer!

kind regards, Veronyc, Francis and Anik

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2013

3 of us traveling from USA; 2 rooms-a single and a double, on the 3rd floor for 2 nights. Both rooms were clean, spacious and the beds were good. We shared a large bath with shower-excellent water pressure. There is a large sitting area on fl 1 and drinks & snacks are available. Free Wi-Fi. The house is very nice with eclectic art and furniture. Our breakfasts were standard fare with a little extra (fiddlehead frittata). The location, a block from the castle, in upper old town is great. A quiet street a couple of blocks from the ramparts/fort, the castle promenade, restaurants, shops, funicular. Our host was warm & so helpful in both generic and specific information. She even told of us of a great bakery at the edge of Quebec on our route when we were traveling on. This is not 5 stars accommodation but it is a great bargain for location, accommodation and hosts. We can easily recommend this BnB.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank henje
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Veronycsansoucy, Owner at B&B La Marquise de Bassano, responded to this reviewResponded June 19, 2013

Bonjour

Thank you for your comment. I'm glad you have enjoy the bakery. For people who have been asking me about this place, it is called: Boulangerie chez Oli on Myrand st.

I wish you a great summer and hope to see you again!

Take care,

Veronyc

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2013

We were after an eclectic slice of old Quebec, and the Marquise was perfect. It was mere minutes from the key attractions, including great restaurants, walking tours, le Carnival, and the lower city. Our hosts were gracious... and listen to their restaurant recommendations! We had one of the best dining experiences thanks to Francis. While not an avid hunter, and somewhat shy about Quebec politics, he has a great sense of humour, is a talented pianist, and is a wonderful breakfast chef! Next time we shall bring along our family dog!

Room Tip: Let your hosts help you choose your room. They will listen to your needs and graciously accommodate.
Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
4  Thank The Kelsibear S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
veroshua, co owner at B&B La Marquise de Bassano, responded to this reviewResponded April 22, 2013

Bonjour,
On behalf of Francis I would like to thank you for your great review. It will help people to feel the energy that's in the house! Come back anytime! Our doors will always be opened! Merci Veronyc

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 3, 2012

We booked the place through email and Francis replied with prompt confirmation and said we are the first guests from China!
My husband and I traveled Canada from Vancouver to Quebec City from Oct 6 to Oct 22. This is the last place stayed during the whole Canadian journey, but the best! Though only one night, we felt very unforgettable for everything, excellent location, decent food, warm and comfy bedroom, friendly hosts and reasonable price. All these make us to plan a second visit to Quebec city and of course stay at the La Marquise de Bassano in the near future!

Room Tip: Room with balcony
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank joylife568221
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Veronycsansoucy, co owner at B&B La Marquise de Bassano, responded to this reviewResponded December 6, 2012

Bonjour
Thank you for your great review! It was a pleasure to meet you! We hope to be able to visit you as well one day!

Hoping to seeing you soon again,

Veronyc and cie!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews