We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect vacation location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
B&B La Marquise de Bassano
Ranked #12 of 119 Quebec City B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Seattle
Level Contributor
62 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Perfect vacation location”
Reviewed September 13, 2012

We stayed in 2 apartments with our 3 children (teen/young adult) in 1 and my husband and I in the other. We all agreed this was a perfect location and would stay here again. The owners were friendly and attentive and the space was perfect for us. We were able to walk to the market to buy fresh fruit, bread and fish and we ate a few meals together in 1 apartment. We loved being able to walk to restaurants, museums and the lower city. The street wasWe stayed in apartment 2 & quiet yet so close to all the things we wanted to do. We highly recommend B&B La Marquis de Basssano.

Room Tip: We stayed in apartment 2 & 4. Both had plenty of room (3 kids in #2, 2 adults in #4) and spaciou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ExcelWiz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

197 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    153
    36
    5
    3
    0
See reviews for
32
114
10
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
calgary, alberta
Level Contributor
20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2012

My wife & I stayed a few nights in July and it was a very pleasant stay. Francis and Veronyc and their staff were very friendly, helpful and fun. Great location within the old city walls, yet on a quiet street.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank swp1867
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2012

We spend 4 nights, in Quebec City in the Marquis de Bassano.

The owners (Francis et Véronyc) and operators were fabulous and accommodating, once shown to our room (the Cranny) . We settled in and returned to the common room, where our hostess , was waiting to happily answer any questions. She pointed out all the free events going on in the city and reviewed a map of the area with us, making recommendations as to what locals would do.

The B&B is located close to he end of the governors walk, and was a 2 min walk to the Chateau Frontenac, and 5 mins to everything the old city had to offer.

Breakfast was Continental, with fabulous fresh fruit and a wide selection, and we awoke every morning to the smell of fresh croissants,starting our day right!. We never needed lunch until mid afternoon.

We had a single room with shared bathroom, the bathroom was gorgeous and well up kept, there was never a wait..

The hosts Francis et Véronyc were personable and fun and made the whole experience wonderful!

Merci Marquis de Bassano.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Daleo-to
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
veroshua, co proprietor at B&B La Marquise de Bassano, responded to this review, August 21, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review! This information will certainly be helpful to people who want to come at la Marquise! Merci and hope to see you soon again!
Veronyc
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
29 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2012

Recently spent 3 nights at La Marquise and I can't say enough great things about it.
Upon arrival, was greeted warmly and welcomed as if I was a returning, long time friend.
Clean rooms with a distiguished 19th century feel, this place is ideal if you're looking for a classic, traditional B&B environment. It certainly outdoes any cookie-cutter hotel experience. This is the real deal, with a lovely breakfast every morning, with different dishes and always fresh. In fact, the aromas of both the food and coffee would wake us up, anxious to get downstairs and start our day.
Location wise, it's located on a quiet street near the Citadel and just a couple of minutes walk away from the Dufferin boardwalk, Artists row and several great restaurants.
Thumbs up all around!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelMammal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Veronycsansoucy, family business at B&B La Marquise de Bassano, responded to this review, August 15, 2012
Thank you very much for your constructive message! It was a great pleasure meeting you! Our home is your home! Come back anytime!
Veronyc
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston, ON
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 4, 2012

My wife and I spent a delightful few days, anchored by hospitable, refined and quaint accommodations in the King bedroom, with an ensuite bath, visiting 'old towne Quebec'....on the recommendation of our friends and neighbours, regulars at "La Marquise"...The breakfasts were elegant, tasty and animated in conversation with visitors from both France and Belgium...The room was clean, comfortable and historic as is the B & B itself.
Of course, we would recommend this B&B to others confident that they, too, would enjoy the interior ambience as much as the history and ethos of the area.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JTAcorn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2012

So many options for B&Bs in Old Quebec City, we felt lucky to have found this place. Kind hosts that seemed genuinely interested in helping. The rooms that I saw were well-appointed and clean. The location was great within a few minutes walk to the Chateau Frontenac and they served a solid breakfast.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Library Room and it was very unique, charming with two windows overlooking the stre...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nomad_singapore_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2012

My wife and I spent four nights here for our honeymoon, and are very glad we did. The hosts were very friendly, accommodating, and had a wealth of knowledge to share about the area. We stayed in the library, which was well-decorated (with working typewriter!) and had a great classic charm to it. It was great having the windows open, and hearing the sounds of the horse-drawn caleches as they rode by. The bed was comfortable, the room was clean, and the breakfasts were delicious. The fresh croissants with the home-made jam every morning were fantastic!

The location of the B&B is hard to beat. It's a very short walk to a secure parking garage, incredible restaurants, and many attractions. Yet, it's positioned on a quiet side-street from the main roads, which allows you to enjoy peace and quiet with the windows open, without being disturbed by the sounds of vehicle and pedestrian traffic.

When my wife and I stayed here, there was a large music festival going on in Quebec at the same time. Once again, the location was perfect for us. It was about a 5 to 10 minute walk to the locations of the performances; close enough to hear the great performances in the distance with the windows open, but not so close that the music was too loud by any means.

We were so happy with our stay at La Marquise de Bassano that my wife and I have been recommending this place to friends and family, and we plan on staying here for our 1-year anniversary. If you're thinking about staying here, do it. You will not be disappointed!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank James E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
veroshua, co owner at B&B La Marquise de Bassano, responded to this review, July 23, 2012
Bonjour and thank you for your great review!
It gives us wings to continue! Merci! It was a great pleasure meeting you and if you ever come back to Quebec, remember you have a home away from home ;)
Veronyc, Francis, Anik, Simon and Lioubov!

ps. Sorry for the others if I haven't responded before. I just learned how to reply this morning !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Quebec City hotels
0.0 mi away
Maison du Fort
Maison du Fort
#4 of 102 in Quebec City
741 reviews
0.0 mi away
Chateau Fleur de Lys - L'HOTEL
Chateau Fleur de Lys - L'HOTEL
#8 of 102 in Quebec City
520 reviews
0.2 mi away
Le Manoir d'Auteuil
Le Manoir d'Auteuil
#2 of 102 in Quebec City
1,113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac
Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac
#15 of 102 in Quebec City
4,111 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Clarendon
Hotel Clarendon
#39 of 102 in Quebec City
1,388 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Chateau Bellevue
Hotel Chateau Bellevue
#26 of 102 in Quebec City
950 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to B&B La Marquise de Bassano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about B&B La Marquise de Bassano

Property: B&B La Marquise de Bassano
Address: 15 des Grisons, Quebec City, Quebec G1R 4M6, Canada
Location: Canada > Quebec > Quebec City
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 119 B&Bs / Inns in Quebec City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — B&B La Marquise de Bassano 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com and Hotel.de so you can book your B&B La Marquise de Bassano reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Marquise De Bassano Hotel Quebec City
B&B La Marquise De Bassano Quebec/Quebec City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing