We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent location, good room for family”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Le Cavalier du Moulin
Ranked #40 of 119 Quebec City B&B and Inns
Corvallis, Oregon
Level Contributor
32 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Excellent location, good room for family”
Reviewed August 22, 2007

I had a difficult time finding an affordable hotel within the walls of Old Quebec for our family of four until I came across Hotel Le Cavalier du Moulin. I pictured our room to be just inside the streetside shuttered windows shown on their website, but it turned out to be through a short alley next door and off the street, providing a quieter stay (except for the brief excitement of arguing workers throwing garbage to the dumpsters from the back stairs of the restaurant next door). Check-in is at the counter of the souvenir shop on the street; a small street adjacent is available for unloading if arriving by car, and parking was $12/day at City Hall a few blocks away. Our second floor room (#12) had a queen bed downstairs with a bathroom (refrig in bathroom), coffee maker in room, and another queen bed in an upstairs room, open to below, with a sink and TV. Because the upstairs was brighter and seemed roomier, we spent most of our time there. The windows overlooked rooftops or the alleyway and could be opened for fresh air. The room was comfortable, a little bit worn, and an excellent location to all areas of Old Quebec and just beyond the gates. Other rooms were located nearby in our narrow hallway, but we never heard noise, and hope that they did not hear us. Our only complaint was that our non-smoking room had a definite history of smoking visitors at some time in the past, and the smell of cigarettes was a bit overwhelming upon entering the room. We'd stay here again if the kids were along, but might try to find something different if we had the numerous options available to a couple.

  • Stayed August 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
3 Thank pacifico
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    41
    21
    4
    2
See reviews for
7
57
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Ontario
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2007

We booked this hotel through the tourism Quebec website. We followed up with a phone call to ensure we had a room with air conditionning (not all their rooms have it). We received excellent service over the phone and in person when we arrived. Our room was old, but very clean. Another reviewer stated the locks were questionnable and we agree, however it appears the hotel is in a good area of town. You get great value for the money. If you aren't planning on spending loads of time in your room - this hotel is more than adequate. We were just looking for a quiet place to shower and sleep. To be noted: there are no phones in the room (payphone in the entrance of the boutique only).

  • Liked — Location, cleanliness and service.
  • Disliked — No phones in room.
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Emanonem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vleuten, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
115 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 208 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2006

We booked this hotel via the tourist-office of Quebec when we drove into the city and altough they don't offer breakfast it's a really nice hotel.

The location is excellent. For a really good price you are IN the city which is very convenient.
The owner of the hotel has a tourist-shop and they own 2 buildings next to each other. I had some doubts about the locks on the doors but I think this area is safe.
We paid in total 210.87 Canadian Dollars including parking in the garage nearby.

The room was very big and comfortable.

  • Liked — The location can't be beaten
  • Disliked — The doors have very basic locks but it seems to be working
  • Tips/Secrets — Take the ferry to the other site of the river if you want to make nice pictures of Quebec
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank kevertje
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed June 14, 2005

We took 5 family members from England to Quebec City so they could experiance French speaking Quebec. We discovered this hotel on the internet and really had no idea what we would get when we arrived and what a surprise!

A charming old building that has been revamped beautifully while retaining all that historic charm. Huge clean rooms with comfortable beds and the bathrooms big & airy what a gem! We had 3 rooms and they were all fantastic. While there was no breakfast it really didnt matter as there are restaurants galore minutes away. I would recommend this hotel to any one wanting to experiance old Quebec charm with comfort.

  • Stayed August 2003
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed July 27, 2004

There is only one way to see Quebec City and that is through the magical porthole casement windows of the Hotel Cavalier du Moulin on the Rue St. Louis. My wife and I, our two children and my wife’s cousin just returned from Quebec and it was one of the best trips we have ever been on. Staying at the Hotel Cavalier definitely helped to make the stay a magical one. Our suite had a full bath, a kitchenette; two queen sized beds and a pullout couch, all for $120.00 CDN a night. But if you can’t find a vacancy at the Cavalier du Moulin just keep walking up the Rue St. Louis…there are several such hotel rooms up above the boutiques and restaurants of this amazing street.
Our daughter and my wife’s cousin are both 16 and they enjoyed watching the hustle and bustle of the Rue St. Louis from the third story casement windows of our ancient and immaculate hotel suite. They sat for over an hour in the window watching the horse and carriage tours go past, hearing the excited tourists talk, laugh and sing.
We eventually took one of the horse and carriage rides and it was the best $75.00 we spent! The drivers are bilingual and give wonderful guided tours of old Quebec City. They took us everywhere over the course of our fifty-minute ride, showing us every site the city has to offer.
One of the factors that kept us from visiting Quebec was our inability to speak the language. We were nervous about being able to fully communicate with people. Our concerns were lifted the moment we arrived. Everybody we came into contact with slipped easily into English once they realized we were struggling with our own very limited French. And everybody we came into contact with was extremely kind and generous. If the language barrier was ever a factor holding you back, have no fears!
Traveling the streets of old Quebec City on foot was like walking into a European city of the 1800s. From the street buskers juggling fiery batons to the unbelievable statuary and artisans, it was one exciting discovery after another. Not to mention the beautiful churches and buildings we came across.
I cannot say enough about my discovery of this Canadian treasure. My wife and I plan to return soon by ourselves. Quebec definitely has a very romantic undertone that we would like to discover without the kids. I give our experiences thus far a five star rating.

Helpful?
9 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Quebec City hotels
Manoir Sur-le-Cap
#42 of 101 in Quebec City
231 reviews
Hotel Le Clos Saint-Louis
#22 of 101 in Quebec City
503 reviews
Chateau Fleur de Lys - L'HOTEL
#10 of 101 in Quebec City
504 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown Quebec City
L'Auberge Saint Louis
L'Auberge Saint Louis
#81 of 119 in Quebec City
80 reviews
Hotel Marie Rollet
#28 of 119 in Quebec City
139 reviews
Auberge La Chouette
#26 of 119 in Quebec City
68 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Le Cavalier du Moulin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Le Cavalier du Moulin

Property: Hotel Le Cavalier du Moulin
Address: 58, rue Saint-Louis, Quebec City, Quebec G1R 3Z3, Canada
Location: Canada > Quebec > Quebec City
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #40 of 119 B&Bs / Inns in Quebec City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Le Cavalier du Moulin 2*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Le Cavalier du Moulin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Le Cavalier Du Moulin Quebec/Quebec City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing