We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice hotel in great location”
Review of Hotel Sainte-Anne

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Sainte-Anne
Ranked #39 of 100 Hotels in Quebec City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 13, 2013

We stayed in Room 402, located on the top floor. It was a nicely stylish room, well done in modern fixtures and nice colors and natural materials (exposed brick). We were very happy with the room and bathroom, though the toilet didn't flush very well (low water type, older variety i guess). The room was quiet even though we were on the street side, but we were also high up. The downside of the room was that it was dark, even with all the lights on, as there were only 2 dormer windows (this room is on the attic level). Regardless, it was a charming, comfortable room, and we were quite happy.

The staff was helpful and friendly. We wouldn't hesitate to return to this hotel.

Room Tip: 4th Floor rooms might be dark.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank burrlamb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (627)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

273 - 279 of 627 reviews

Reviewed July 7, 2013

Stayed in june 2013, in room 201. It was a corner room with not a nice backyard view but spacious room, near the elevator. The room had an old stone wall which gave it some charm, furnished with modern furniture. Bed comfortable, linens clean. The only problem we encountered was a loud repetitive sound through the wall, which after much consideration, we determined, was the noisy bathroom fan.
Front desk staff was nice.

As for the hotel's restaurant, the terrasse had a good atmosphere to it. The food was good (had the pork loin glazed in maple syrup for 26$ and salmon tartar for 15$; small portions) however the service was less than average. The servors were uncoordinated and indifferent, getting twice the order from another table. Plus, we had to ask for our own bread basket after 15 min of being seated.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Simtine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2013

We loved it here and wished we could have stayed longer. From the minute we arrived we were treated very well and the ambience of the hotel and location is hard to beat. Pedestrian street, very quiet with street art and musicians lining the street. Almost like a mini Paris. Easy walk to all main attractions . Food was fantastic. Breakfast was included and was plentiful and delicious. We took evening dinner on the terrace and although quite expensive, it was some of the best steak we had eaten, a truly wonderful dining experience. Rooms are ' cosy' but charming , the beds are very comfortable and the toiletries good quality. Anyone who complains about this hotel must be very picky indeed!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sandarab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2013

Funky rooms ..heart of old Quebec ..stayed on fourth floor in a suite..across from the elevator ...big mistake ..every time the elevator came up ...ding ding....woke me up ....also the cleaning staff "talking " to each other from one room to another.they woke us up too. .. no sleeping in here...they were like a couple of crows squaking at 8:15 AM....

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank flhx2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2013

We loved our room, our breakfast and the location of this modern hotel. Parking was somewhat problematic, but being inside Quebec City, it is to be expected. We carried our luggage from a small public street parking area for about 35 yards to the hotel and then parked the car two blocks away. This may sound more difficult than it was, and since we did not need our car during our stay it was not a concern for us. The hotel does have an elevator, something that another nearby hotel did not. In looking back however, I do not believe the building is handicapped accessible.

Our room was comfortable with a pleasant view and had a glass walled shower - very chic! The breakfast was delightful and much more than we anticipated with fresh chocolate croissants, juices, great coffee and a personally prepared egg dish with bacon or sausage. All employees were helpful and spoke English which we appreciated.

We definitely would stay here again.

Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Chip_from_Virginia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2013

The hotel is situated in a pedestrianised area of Old Quebec. The situation is brilliant for visiting Old Quebec and although the weather was awful, because of the Hotel's location we managed to see most of old Quebec. The Hotel is small but the staff were very helpful and the bedroom had recently been done up. The bathroom with the large glass screened shower was great with a good range of toiletries. The breakfast was more of a "Continental" style than American but was still good as long as you didn't want anything cooked. The view at the back was over a yard where old bits of machinery etc seemed to be stored - so not a good view. Overall it was a lovely hotel in a great location and good value for money.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Ajsb32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2013

My husband and I stayed for an extended weekend in late May 2013. This quaint hotel is perfectly located close to all the main attractions that people want to see in 'Old Quebec'. It is on a lovely cobble stone street practically across the street from the famed Le Chateau Frontenac. There are fabulous restaurants, in every direction, within a few minutes of walking and a tourist information building a few doors down. The hotel itself is quite small with no large lobby but just a little room with a couch and a small front desk. We were greeted very warmly and english speaking was absolutely no problem. It was a little hard to get luggage in and out the door upon checking in and out but was no big deal to us. Breakfast was not included in our rate since we booked on expedia, so we did not end up eating at the hotel. The hotel room seemed a little run down (some of the furniture wood was damaged/nicked) yet they were going for a modern feel and in general was nice looking.

The disadvantages were fairly minimal to us. We were just looking to stay somewhere clean and convenient location wise, as we didn't plan on spending much time in the room. The room was small but not enough to be constrictive. The t.v. was the old 'box' kind and extremely small but we did not watch it. The mattress was pretty hard and is only tolerable if you are only staying for a few nights. The room is fairly dim as well, even with all the lights on. The bathroom needed hooks on the door, barely any room to put your toiletries on the small counter around the sink and the facial tissue is like sandpaper...again...all small issues, but maybe not to some people. My only complaint really is that between floors is not very sound proof. I could hear the person above me stomping (thought, they were probably only walking!) on the floor above at 4am every night. I could also hear their alarm clock going off in the morning. We don't care about living 'out of our suitcase' for a few days, so the fact that there is no where to unpack your clothes didn't phase us, but some may not like that.

The advantages were that everyone we encountered was super friendly, helpful and bilingual. I needed to print off the Frommer's walking tour of Quebec two mornings in a row (walk #1 and walk#2, which I highly recommend) and they happily did this and for no charge. They called cabs for us and also made some eating recommendations etc. The proximity of the hotel as I mentioned above is another major advantage. The great thing about the bathroom was the shower. Great shower stall with glass walls and hot, strong pressured water. Nice clean linens changed daily.

I would probably stay here again.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank MichelleP993
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Quebec City hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Manoir Morgan
Hotel Manoir Morgan
#68 of 100 in Quebec City
10 reviews
0 mi away
Auberge Place D'Armes
Auberge Place D'Armes
#9 of 100 in Quebec City
1,622 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Chateau Bellevue
Hotel Chateau Bellevue
#25 of 100 in Quebec City
1,033 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Le Manoir d'Auteuil
Le Manoir d'Auteuil
#2 of 100 in Quebec City
1,323 reviews
0.2 mi away
Chateau Fleur de Lys - L'HOTEL
Chateau Fleur de Lys - L'HOTEL
#7 of 100 in Quebec City
608 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Le Saint-Paul
Hotel Le Saint-Paul
#47 of 100 in Quebec City
382 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sainte-Anne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sainte-Anne

Address: 32, rue Sainte-Anne, Quebec City, Quebec G1R 3X3, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Quebec > Quebec City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#39 Romantic Hotel in Quebec City
Price Range: $104 - $233 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Sainte-Anne 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Old Quebec, the building that houses the Hotel Sainte-Anne is a living witness of the history of downtown Québec. Before becoming a hotel, the place was a center of festivity where politicians met after long hours spent in the National Assembly. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Sainte-Anne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Sainte-Anne Quebec/Quebec City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing