We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“A beautiful hotel in an amazing city” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Sainte-Anne

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Sainte-Anne
Ranked #42 of 107 Hotels in Quebec City
Certificate of Excellence
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A beautiful hotel in an amazing city”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

The hotel is a wonderful mixture of old and new - we loved the historic features mixed with the modern convenience.
The breakfast that was included was quite nice and served in a beautiful atmosphere. The only complaint about the room was the TV was very small and hard to see if trying to watch in bed - but in such a great setting, we weren't that interested in watching TV.
Our experience was good - we did have a fairly significant problem with our room, and I always think the measure of a business is how they handle the problems. The staff at this hotel was amazing! Benedict at the front desk was extremely helpful and understanding in helping us with the problem, and the issue was rectified in a more than satisfactory manner very quickly. We really appreciated her help and would recommend this hotel to other travelers.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nancy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

506 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    195
    205
    77
    15
    14
See reviews for
107
260
15
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sunapee, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

Hotel Sainte Anne on rue St. Anne in Quebec offers good prices, excellent location and clean rooms. Full breakfast is offered and it was great. Decor was modern especially the bathrooms but those modern features were not as useful as they looked. Huge shower but the handle was some 2 feet from the shower which was all enclosed. Made it difficult to adjust and the shower head would not detach from the bar so you had to make good with the position offered. Sink was very modern but small and the water spigot was directly in the middle making it hard to access water for drinking and such.

Room Tip: No free parking and the street itself is pedestrian. Thus, you have to park temporarily nearby and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Favpers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

Quebec city is absolutely gorgeous and the hotel is in a fantastic spot - walking distance to just about everything. The staff is excellent - very friendly and helpful - especially arranging a cab for us at 4:00 in the morning. The breakfast brunch was lovely and we weren't left wanting for anything. The room was immaculate and cozy and the duvets were the cherry on top. We will definiltely stay here again and I would definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 3travelfreaks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

This little hotel offered 3 ladies a safe, secure, well appointed, clean, friendly, accommodating hotel while we experienced the city of Quebec during their Carnival.
Simple reception, large clean elevator,perfect size room for 3 people(and then some) with 2 queen beds, and a full sitting area where we placed a rolling full size twin bed. Fabulous shower. Verbena soaps & such, Mini fridge, kureig coffee machine, wine glasses, waterglasses, coffee mugs. Perfect. It's only drawback is there is NO onsite parking. It is located on a pedestrian cobblestone street, which adds to its charm, and peacefulness. Parking was underground down the street at $20/day.But we never needed our car. Everything was walking distance...up and down hills.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Diana406
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton
Level Contributor
42 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

Quebec is a lovely city, especially being the only fortified city in north america... This hotels location is perfect... plenty of shops restaurants and sights to see.

Le Grill is a fantastic restaurant and i have to say the New York Strip Steak is one of the best i have ever had, with the wine choice also being good.

The room however was a little disappointing, bathroom was loverly, but the room its self dated. There wasn't a flat screen tv, meaning poor quality analogue tv. The images also make the rooms look like a mix of rustic and modern... but the room was rustic come distressed... out of all 5 hotels we were staying at in Canada we were looking forward to this the most... biggest let down also!

However i have to say the bi-lingual staff were more than helpful on the reception and welcomed us on every departure and arrival at the hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SamG_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

Hotel Sainte-Anne has an excellent location. One can walk to all of the desirable sights in Vieux- Quebec and Vieux- Port. It is very near the Tourist Office and a Bank with an ATM. The service was excellent. The young staff spoke fluent English but they were happy to help me with my French. They recommended good restaurants and made reservations for us. The staff really made us feel welcome. The breakfast was very good and there was plenty to eat. The croissants were outstanding but hard on the waistline. The room was clean and good size even though we were on the top floor. The queen size bed was firm and quite comfortable. This is a no frills hotel. The two downsides were the lack of a dresser for unpacking your suitcases and poor lighting. There is no real lobby but the fine service and the great location more than offset the few shortcomings.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank OldEuroVet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
514 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 275 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

My feelings are mixed on this one, first off the price was great, the location perfect and the room itself although smaller than a cruise ship cabin - quite comfortable with all the basic necessities. Can't go wrong if price and location matter; as it's smack dab where you want to be in old Qc.

My negatives were as follows, the room was DRY, like in Arizona dry with static electricity making every hair on my body stand on end! Of course the heating is to blame, but that was no fun. Furthermore, they should install a couple coat hooks near the door, there's hardly a closet for clothes, let alone a winter coat... If you're sharing the room with your spouse, that's two coats and no hooks... The top of the door was a makeshift coat rack!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank marquestra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Quebec City hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Clarendon
Hotel Clarendon
#37 of 107 in Quebec City
4.0 of 5 stars 1,216 reviews
0.0 mi away
Auberge Place D'Armes
Auberge Place D'Armes
#10 of 107 in Quebec City
4.5 of 5 stars 1,209 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Chateau Bellevue
Hotel Chateau Bellevue
#29 of 107 in Quebec City
4.0 of 5 stars 793 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Chateau Fleur de Lys - L'HOTEL
Chateau Fleur de Lys - L'HOTEL
#9 of 107 in Quebec City
4.5 of 5 stars 396 reviews
0.2 mi away
Le Manoir d'Auteuil
Le Manoir d'Auteuil
#3 of 107 in Quebec City
5.0 of 5 stars 880 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Le Clos St-Louis
Hotel Le Clos St-Louis
#21 of 107 in Quebec City
4.5 of 5 stars 463 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sainte-Anne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sainte-Anne

Property: Hotel Sainte-Anne
Address: 32, rue Sainte-Anne, Quebec City, Quebec G1R 3X3, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Quebec > Quebec City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#39 Romantic Hotel in Quebec City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Sainte-Anne 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Old Quebec, the building that houses the Hotel Sainte-Anne is a living witness of the history of downtown Québec. Before becoming a hotel, the place was a center of festivity where politicians met after long hours spent in the National Assembly. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Sainte-Anne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Sainte-Anne Quebec/Quebec City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing