We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Central, unique looking hostel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Auberge de Jeunesse Maeva Quebec

Auberge de Jeunesse Maeva Quebec
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Auberge de Jeunesse Maeva Quebec
Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Very Central, unique looking hostel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 8, 2014

I recently stayed here while visiting Carnival de Quebec.
Its a great place! The gentleman who seems to always be working there is extremely friendly, welcoming and helpful. He have us a run down of where everything was, the best possible way to get there and how much it would cost.
I really liked how the staff were so personable. They got to know everyone, and cooked us all breakfast ( Toast, tea, coffee).

The hostel is decorated with all sorts of funny signs and pictures. It reminded me of a tacky cottage set up - That is not a bad thing, its actually made the stay much for enjoyable.
The rooms are clean and have bathroom inside each one. My only complaint was that every night I literally froze. Just wear sweats and sweaters to bed?

Quebec is a walkable city, you do walk up large hills and endless flights of stairs, but its definitely a walkable city.

The location of this hostel is in the lower part of the city, near tons of bars, grocery stores, restaurants and shops.
You can walk about 15 minutes up to the top where the old town ( chateau frontnac) is located.
Staying in a hostel in this area was great because everything was less expensive near us compared to up in the old town.

I would recommend anyone to stay here, its a great place. Close to bus stops and the price is very reasonable.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Caelbs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    13
    12
    7
    7
See reviews for
3
10
16
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dusseldorf, Germany
Level Contributor
37 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 12, 2013

it's a good place to stay. Enough place in the dorms. You have your own bathroom. Great breakfast. 15 minutes away from the old town. Grocery shopping only 5 minutes away. some other shopping's stores around the corner. From the bus station(Jacques Cartier place) only ten minutes on walk.

Room Tip: Take the princess room- only for girls:)
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Anja H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Besancon, France
Level Contributor
42 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2013

There was a breakfast so i took nothing before, and i was surprised to see there was nothing else than coffee/tee to drink, so i just took water, good. Where is the milk or juices ? Anyway. The commun room is very small, and if you want to prepare yourself, be patient if the youth hostel is full or even half. Else, it's a good location to walk to the city, but not for park you car. Rooms are good, but not enough bathooms on the first floor (just one actually). And the owner was a little too much touch with some friends even he gave us good advices.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JeromePuckman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Quebec City hotels

liverpool
Level Contributor
35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2013

Well this place looks small from the outside, it is not! It is rather big!
I stayed in September and it was unusually quiet for the time of year, but we met a few people and that was lovely! Ok down to business : The Facts
1. Staff , Mohammed was lovely! He was helpful and always happy even if he was doing long shifts!
2. Bedding was lovely and clean, comfy beds, not too small either! Had thick duvets in case it became chilly in the night.
3. Myself and Conor had a five bed dorm for three nights and then a twelve bed dorm which were great.
4. The showers were clean but you didn't get a towel you had to pay for one which was 2 dollars.
5.Rooms were clean.
6. There could have been a few more lockers in the place especially the five bed room, there were only three.
7. The kitchen needed a scrub and the fridge needed a good clear out, I took it upon myself to throw some very rotten food out!
8. Milk, instead of horrid cream could be given out for tea.
9. Breakfast was OK. Bread. Jam coffee and tea. So.so but its food!
10. Location was perfect, not on a busy road and really close to everything.
11. There was one PC which was free to use and the internet was great on it.
12. Wifi was temperamental, cut out often.
13. Have to pay to store luggage there whilst you o out and enjoy your day after you have checked out! Not good. Very cheeky.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 849lizzie_loo849
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
221 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2013

Stayed here over the weekend of the Quebec Marathon with a group of friends (we were all running in various races). This is a really convenient location, being a short walk to the race activities and also a short walk (though up a hill...) to the old city. We stayed in one of the 8-bed dorms on the ground floor which had its own bathroom (basic but functional) and there are lockers in the room (you need to provide your own lock).

I think this place only opened recently so there is still a bit of refurbishing going on (mostly superficial, i.e. not structural), and the kitchen/common space was nice to hang out in. The owner is one of the nicest, most helpful people I've ever come across in a hostel. He was really friendly and chilled out and even helped us out by moving his car off the street so we could take his spot! They have bikes you can rent also. The breakfast is as much toast, PB&J and coffee as you can eat, and there is some kitchen equipment if you want to cook something simple.

Overall this is a really convenient place and I'd certainly stay here again. However, the owner said he was heading out on a trip across the whole of Canada to Alaska (!) and the place would likely be closed until he returned. (this may have changed, don't take my word for it).

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Helen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
205 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2013

This place opened just a few weeks before I travelled there. The house was still being refurbished but it felt already like home.
It's located on a nice house, in the lower part of Québec City, near to some attractions and many bars and restaurants.
The place was very clean. I had a room in the upper floor, shared with another travaller.
The staff also was very welcoming. 100% recommended.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TheMetalTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aarhus
Level Contributor
19 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2013

This is a pretty good hostel. We were 7 people sharing a dorm room. The temperatures swung between very high and very low, and rolls of toilet paper seemed to dis- and reappear out of the blue. There was breakfast included, which means more toasted bread than you can possibly eat and a lot of coffee.
The owner was friendly, he gave us tips on what to see and where to park (you can park outside from 4pm-10am if there isn't a blizzard).

oh, and just 1 bathroom for the two dorm rooms on the top floor, ouch.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BjornZall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Quebec City hotels
0.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS City Centre/Centre-Ville
0.6 mi away
Hotel du Vieux-Quebec
Hotel du Vieux-Quebec
#1 of 101 in Quebec City
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,454 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Le Vincent
Hotel Le Vincent
#15 of 101 in Quebec City
5.0 of 5 bubbles 754 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac
Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac
#16 of 101 in Quebec City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,907 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel PUR Quebec
Hotel PUR Quebec
#45 of 101 in Quebec City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 419 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Royal William
Hotel Royal William
#57 of 101 in Quebec City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 297 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Auberge de Jeunesse Maeva Quebec? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Auberge de Jeunesse Maeva Quebec

Property: Auberge de Jeunesse Maeva Quebec
Address: 671, rue St-Francois, Quebec City, Quebec G1K 2Z8, Canada
Location: Canada > Quebec > Quebec City
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 30 Specialty Lodging in Quebec City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, HostelWorld and Booking.com so you can book your Auberge de Jeunesse Maeva Quebec reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Auberge De Jeunesse Maeva Quebec Quebec City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing