We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Truly unique experience”
Review of iX pour Bistro

iX pour Bistro
Ranked #1 of 1,468 Restaurants in Quebec City
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $21 - $30
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Reservations
California
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Truly unique experience”
Reviewed August 21, 2014

Old town is so cute, it is hard to imagine wanting to go out to eat in a dull working class neighborhood that feels like you are in the middle of nowhere. But this is a true gastronomic experience. Just 2 guys and some sensational, creative and perfectly executed food. They only serve 9 tables a night (IX, get it?). The service is very personal and the food is wonderful.

This was, the best meal we had in Quebec City -- and perhaps as good as anywhere we have eaten. Delicious local ingredients and creative combinations in a cozy and unpretentious atmosphere. This was a true find!

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank CalAdventureGal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Benoit L, Propriétaire at iX pour Bistro, responded to this review, August 22, 2014
Thousand Thanks again.

We are so happy and proud to have comments like thats. And people who's enjoyed and loved what we are doing at the Ix.

Hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

683 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    631
    39
    10
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Hopewell, New Jersey
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Just go...”
Reviewed August 18, 2014 via mobile

I can't say anything that hasn't already been said--so just go. Let the wacky food dudes order for you, let them chose the wine and get the palate cleansing calvados. These guys stand toe to toe with the LA NYC food scene. And if they have the lamb w goat cheese, just get it. You'll thank me. Reserve a table soon-these guys will be outgrowing their current operation soon'

Helpful?
2 Thank sbenhill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Amazing”
Reviewed August 17, 2014 via mobile

Coming from the downtown Manhattan and having no idea how old Quebec City is completely touristy, this was just completely refreshing and off the beaten tracks. I loved every dish we had, from the halibut cheeks, king makeral, and their signature dessert fois gras!!! Seriously....all amazing!! This needs to be Michelin rated!!

Helpful?
3 Thank Victoria R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland OR
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“eh VOILAAA!”
Reviewed August 16, 2014

Two of the hippest food dudes ever working hard to deliver your most memorable meal ever- and they totally pull it off. My husband and I had a reservation at iX pour Bistro on our first night in Quebec City. It was so stupendously good that we crashed the place the following night 'cause we didn't want to run the risk of not being able to secure a table through more traditional means (don't do this, it's very rude).

The exterior isn't very promising. Neither is the interior- aside from the very witty restroom door. But you'll abandon your concerns over the aesthetics of the place the moment you begin to fill your belly with Ben's best. Over the two evenings we had all but one "not a menu" item. Each and every plate was an unexpected combination of saturated flavors and fun textures, perfectly prepared. Everyone in your party will be well satisfied. (Especially the person who orders the lamb- it's killer diller stuff.)

Ben and Vincent are both charming hosts, and a big part of their charm is the obvious pleasure they take from being able to serve you an extraordinary meal. Their personalities fill the space with an almost giddy happiness.

No need to take a cab- iX is easy to reach by bus and the money is better spent on a good bottle of wine.

Too bad for us we didn't spend a third night in QC, no doubt we would have gone for the triple crown!

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Tooteroo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Benoit L, Propriétaire at iX pour Bistro, responded to this review, August 22, 2014
Et Voila!!!



Review as great as the reviewers. We did have so much fun having you two night in a row, we still wishing for the triple crown.

Hope to see you back in quebec soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
toronto
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Joyful”
Reviewed August 14, 2014

We live in Toronto and have dined in fabulous restaurants around the world and rarely have we enjoyed such a joyful culinary experience. Benoit is an exceptional chef who takes well-deserved pride in his work and Vincent is warm, gracious, exuberant. Truly a dining destination; we are already making plans to return in November. Merci, merci, merci, Benoit et Vincent! As an aside, do check out the art on display - charming!

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank hewon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed iX pour Bistro also viewed

 
 
Quebec City, Quebec
Quebec City, Quebec
 

Been to iX pour Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing