We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A tasty gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of La Gueule de Bois

La Gueule de Bois
Ranked #31 of 1,432 Restaurants in Quebec City
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $19
Cuisines: Canadian, French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Business meetings
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Local food, local crowd. Amazing food, nice wines, out of beaten track.
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
28 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A tasty gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2014

We had selected this restaurant based on others' reviews, and we were not disappointed. This is not a fancy place. The focus is on the food. And the service was superb--our many questions were answered patiently, and we were given plenty of time. Each of us got different different menu items, and we were all happy! There is a unique selection; I am not sure my husband would order blood pudding again, but he was glad to have the chance to try it.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank SandyPritz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

250 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    187
    46
    15
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
30 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“worth the walk”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2014

The food and service was great! We managed to eat here without reservation out of luck because we came a little bit earlier. The place soon filled up with group reservations. The fish of the day dish was fortunately changed by the server asking the chef because I didn't like olives which was much appreciated.

I would definitely recommend this place!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank rnkrissa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quebec City, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“excellent!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2014

everything was at its best! very tasty and well presented. the personel was very nice and not in a hurry to get rid of you. they took there time to answer our questions about the menu. do take a reservation before because places go fast! and theres a reason for it!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank sarahwill999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
84 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Loved this restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2014

We went on a Wednesday night and there were very few people in the restaurant which was wonderful. Charles was so sweet and helpful and explained everything on the menu to us. The food was wonderful. We had the "small appetizers" which are 2 to 3 bites...mushroom crème brule, blood pudding and grava trout. All great. The halibut was wonderful. For desert we had the chocolate thing and the ice cream sandwich both wonderful. Do not miss this place, it is fantastic.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank shrink516
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucks County, PA
Level Contributor
257 reviews
116 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 200 helpful votes
“Food Outstanding - Noise Defeaning”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2014

This would have been a five star recommendation if not for the noise level in the restaurant. The food was fantastic. Two of us had the lobster risotto, one had the halibut special, and one had the pork, and we all thought it was the best meal we had in Quebec. The quality of the dishes was excellent. The wine list was very reasonably priced and the restaurant had a very laid back and relaxed ambience about it. The problem was that this is a small restaurant with a bar and a limited number of tables in it. Unfortunately for us, right in the middle of the restaurant was a table of eight people, three of whom were perhaps the loudest and rudest men we have ever encountered in a restaurant setting. They were so loud - and I mean non-stop loud - that I could not even hear my wife who was sitting next to me when she spoke. This is not the restaurant's fault and I understand that. However, it definitely impacted upon our enjoyment of an exceptional dinner. I would highly recommend La Gueule do Bois, just be aware who is sitting near you because it can be very noisy.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Arch68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Gueule de Bois also viewed

 

Been to La Gueule de Bois? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing