We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Authentic Italian food”
Review of Il Matto

Il Matto
Ranked #19 of 1,442 Restaurants in Quebec City
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: For a successful evening out, Hôtel 71’s restaurant Il Matto presents its distinguished guests with the finest of authentic Italian cuisine, brimming with comfort foods. Its trendy decor and festive ambience are also sure to please. A Matto signature experience is always a resounding success. Give true meaning to your visit here in the Old Capital.
Wolfville, Nova Scotia, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Authentic Italian food”
Reviewed July 7, 2014

Eating at Il Matto brought back very fond memories of our trip to Italy. The food was absolutely amazing so much so that you could close your eyes and think you were in Italy. The pappardelle was recommended and was thoroughly enjoyed by both of us as we insisted on sharing it. Our server was delightful offering to make suggestions which we gladly received. I would strongly recommend it to anyone who respects and savours Italian food.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Martha M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

839 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    544
    196
    54
    34
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Best meal on our trip to Quebec”
Reviewed July 6, 2014 via mobile

My wife and I visited for 4 days and tried many different places and this was by far the best meal and had the best service on our trip. We highly recommend dinner. My wife had the pasta with lobster and I had the lasagna and both were great. The caprese salad was a great start. But it might have been the wait staff that was most notable. It was a busy Saturday night and all the tables were full but they were attentive and quick to refill a glass and answer any questions. Such great service seemed rare in Quebec but they were outstanding here at Matto.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Kladow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moncton
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great Italian Food”
Reviewed July 6, 2014

I had a 3 course dinner with my wife there tonight. It all started when the Minestrone soup came. It was delicious!!! The the Parmiggiano based Carbonara pasta. Yummy! And then the Tiramisu! Great finisher! The only thing I regret is that I was driving and I couldn't enjoy a glad of wine from their extensive selection. Almost all the tables in the venue had at least one bottle of wine.
I have to mention that I was at the other location they have in Quebec City, the one on Myrand Avenue, but I can't imagine the one in the old city being any less!

Definitely recommended for the foodies!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Constantin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great meal”
Reviewed July 6, 2014

Wonderful restaurant. Enjoyed the food and the service was friendly and helpful .very nice experience !

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Susan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
Level Contributor
176 reviews
123 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“A great Italian restaurant”
Reviewed July 4, 2014

We had dinner one night and returned later in the week for drinks and dessert, and both times we really enjoyed Il Matto. Our waiter for dinner was funny and helpful, and he gave us great advice about food and drink options. The papardelle with mushrooms was amazing -- a house specialty for a very good reason. My husband had salmon that was cooked perfectly (he asked for it to be cooked through and they honored that request without drying it out) with a lovely pesto crust and delicious side items. When we had dessert two nights later, we loved the beignets with Nutella sauce -- amazing but definitely best to share. A great hotel restaurant that is much more than your typical hotel restaurant.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank RinfromMA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Il Matto also viewed

Quebec City, Quebec
Quebec City, Quebec
 
Quebec City, Quebec
 
Quebec City, Quebec
Quebec City, Quebec
 

Been to Il Matto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing