We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding!”

Chez Boulay-bistro boreal
Ranked #12 of 1,434 Restaurants in Quebec City
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $29 - $50
Cuisines: Diner, French, Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special occasions, Large groups, Romantic, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Drinks, Dinner, Brunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Cote du Palais
Description: Confit goose and duck leg parmentier, potatoes with mushrooms and fir tree essence, birch syrup vinaigrette: these are a few examples of what can be found on the menu at Chez Boulay – Bistro Boréal. On rue Saint-Jean in Quebec City since 2012, the restaurant places a value on the boreal region, especially the produce from the vast wilderness of northern Canada. For the last five years, the Bistro has been a popular destination because of our passionate chefs. Come meet our team and enjoy a memorable Nordic experience. Five years after the opening of Chez Boulay – Bistro Boreal, Arnaud Marchand and his team innovate and export their culinary talent into this new gastronomic adventure: the Comptoir boreal. In our charming and warm space in the heart of Quebec City, you will find pastries, sandwiches and ready-made meals that emphasize the value of the produce from our region. Foodies and clients on the go can come and enjoy snacks and meals that are out of the ordinary.
Burlington, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Outstanding!”
Reviewed May 4, 2014

This restaurant was recommended to us by Phillipe at the L'Hotel Germain Dominion where we spent 2 wonderful nights in Quebec City!
We were greeted by very friendly staff members and had outstanding service from start to finish.
All 4 of us are gluten free and we worried that because we do not speak French very well that they might find us high maintenance. We could not have been more wrong! Our waiter, Patrice (I think) was absolutely amazing! What impressed us the most (besides his very friendly manner) was his knowledge of the menu and that he knew exactly what was in each dish, and to be expected from a very good restaurant such as this, there was nothing (except perhaps any pasta dishes) that we could not have. They were MORE THAN WILLING to ensure that any dish we chose would be prepared so that we could enjoy it!
The food was excellent! Our 2 daughters are still raving about their respective dishes...the confit duck leg and goose with scalloped parsnips (which really was outstanding!!) and the pork filet with pork belly!! Both my husband and I had the lamb shanks which came in their own little cast iron pots and were very very tasty which made up for the fact that they were a bit dry.
We had excellent wine and the creme brûlée was one of the best we have had!
The kids want to go back to Quebec City if ONLY to go back to Boulay to try all the other menu items!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Cathy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,624 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,092
    392
    100
    28
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
35 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great way to finish the trip!”
Reviewed May 4, 2014

This was the last restaurant we will be dining at for dinner during our trip. Reservations were made and kept no problem. The restaurant was buzzing, quite busy but the service was always efficient, friendly and accommodating. We chose to drink glasses of wine as they restaurant does not offer half litre options unfortunately. For starters we chose the Fois Gras which was absolutely delicious, smooth silk like texture which melted in the mouth. We also chose to partake in a meat/seafood platter. The server told us we could do half meat, half seafood (as the platter is meant for 2) which worked out perfectly for us. WOW was the platter good, really you have to try it.

We skipped "formal" appetizers and went straight to the main courses which were lamb shank and black cod. I was told the lamb shank although super tender (off the bone) was a bit dry overall. I had a small sample taste myself and concurred. Also the dish itself appeared to be quite greasy underneath the garnish. The cod on the other hand was absolutely to die for. I had tried cod the night before at another restaurant and this one put the other cod to shame. The skin was cooked perfectly, crispy and salty. The garnish was delicious.

Being very full we decided to share a desert. We received the chocolate surprise with honeysuckle. It was good, but not great. The honeysuckle center was definitely tart. A little too tart for my taste given the chocolate surprise overall was a less sugary desert (low glycemic).

Overall I throughly enjoyed the restaurant and would return, it was not perfect but again very good.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Gurlex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sophie M, Propriétaire at Chez Boulay-bistro boreal, responded to this review, May 20, 2014
Thank you for sharing this with us.
We are taking good note regarding your comment!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Visit with Wife”
Reviewed May 1, 2014 via mobile

Went for lunch excellent lunch specials for lunch it was reasonable compared to other restaurant great quality of food and the service was great

Helpful?
1 Thank Obsrtx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
53 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Excellent food!”
Reviewed April 27, 2014 via mobile

The food here was delicious. Atmosphere a little in the noisy side and probably not as romantic as you might like for a couple setting but the food was incredible so worth the noisier atmosphere and cafeteria feel (which it wasn't). Wait times between courses a little on the long side. Also it was very warm this evening inside. We might considered soups or even after-dinner coffee if it hadn't been so warm in the restaurant. The wait staff had to be uncomfortable.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Kim F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quebec City, Canada
Level Contributor
68 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“I could have ordered all the menu”
Reviewed April 20, 2014

I've been there two times and each dinner was an amazing experience. It's almost impossible to make a choice since everything on the menu looks so delicious. The waiters are very helpful and kind to give you advice and answer all your questions. The atmosphere is perfect: not too casual nor too formal, so you can dress up a bit but still enjoy your friday night with some laughs. Plus, the location allows you to take a walk in the old city after your meal.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Manuel P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sophie M, Propriétaire at Chez Boulay-bistro boreal, responded to this review, May 20, 2014
Google Translation
Merci beaucoup monsieur d'avoir pris le temps de partage votre expérience avec nous!
C'est un plaisir de vous lire.
Au plaisir,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chez Boulay-bistro boreal also viewed

Quebec City, Quebec
Quebec City, Quebec
 
Quebec City, Quebec
 

Been to Chez Boulay-bistro boreal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing