We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You must go there”

Chez Boulay-bistro boreal
Ranked #13 of 1,506 Restaurants in Quebec City
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $29 - $50
Cuisines: Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Cote du Palais
Description: Confit goose and duck leg parmentier, potatoes with mushrooms and fir tree essence, birch syrup vinaigrette: these are a few examples of what can be found on the menu at Chez Boulay – Bistro Boréal. On rue Saint-Jean in Quebec City since 2012, the restaurant places a value on the boreal region, especially the produce from the vast wilderness of northern Canada. For the last five years, the Bistro has been a popular destination because of our passionate chefs. Come meet our team and enjoy a memorable Nordic experience. Five years after the opening of Chez Boulay – Bistro Boreal, Arnaud Marchand and his team innovate and export their culinary talent into this new gastronomic adventure: the Comptoir boreal. In our charming and warm space in the heart of Quebec City, you will find pastries, sandwiches and ready-made meals that emphasize the value of the produce from our region. Foodies and clients on the go can come and enjoy snacks and meals that are out of the ordinary.
Reviewed October 19, 2012

The service was exceptional and the food, outstanding. Quebec City has changed over the years, and if you feel like a great meal, stay away from old established tourist traps and try this place. I especially recommend this place for its fish and seafood, although the other dishes are quite good.
If you don't have a reservation, don't think about it.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Guy-Luc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sophie M, Propriétaire at Chez Boulay-bistro boreal, responded to this reviewResponded November 13, 2012

Thank you for this comment!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,943)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,159 - 1,163 of 1,943 reviews

Reviewed October 19, 2012

Prices are fair and the food fits the price. We tried a chicken, a salmon and a beef entree and they were typical of what we've had in many chain restaurants, even though the restaurant tries to be somewhat upscale. One curious thing they do is they write the specials on mirrors on the walls and the glare and reflections make the specials really hard to see.

Thank traveler47NJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sophie M, Propriétaire at Chez Boulay-bistro boreal, responded to this reviewResponded November 13, 2012

We take your comments into consideration.
Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2012

This delight was recommended by two different couples while we were touring in Quebec. The menu was not very large but we still had a difficult time choosing. We wanted everything! We were thrilled with our choices; everything was cooked to perfection and brought to our table hot. The service was exactly what it should be with a very cordial greeting when we entered and expert service throughout the meal. Our server who happened to be the manager took time to tell us about the dishes, answer our questions and made sure everything was cooked to perfection. The only bad thing of the experience is that it had to eventually end. This is truly one of the very special restaurants we have experienced in a lifetime of eating out.
Kudos to all at Chez Boulay!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Pamela S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sophie M, Propriétaire at Chez Boulay-bistro boreal, responded to this reviewResponded November 13, 2012

Thank you :)
We'll tell the staff!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2012

Good food, well-prepared. My fish was perfectly cooked. Reservations are useful. The noise factor could be an issue for some people.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank curious468
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sophie M, Propriétaire at Chez Boulay-bistro boreal, responded to this reviewResponded November 13, 2012

Thank you for your visit and your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2012

Best cuisine I've tasted for many years! A big surprise!
Note: reservations are mandatory; restaurant was full on a cold rainy Wednesday.
And what a meal! Appetizer: carpaccio with Ciel de Charlevoix. Soooo gooood!
Duck effiloché : to die for!
Staff cool and very friendly. A bit noisy but modern and high class look.
I highly recommend this place.
In my top five.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank QuebecDeltaLima
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sophie M, Propriétaire at Chez Boulay-bistro boreal, responded to this reviewResponded October 14, 2012

Thank you for this comment!
We hope we'll have the pleasure to welcome you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chez Boulay-bistro boreal also viewed

 
Quebec City, Quebec
Quebec City, Quebec
 

Been to Chez Boulay-bistro boreal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing