We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Great location, good value” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel l'Ermitage

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel l'Ermitage
Ranked #75 of 104 Hotels in Quebec City
Brookline, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great location, good value”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2014

Excellent location in the old town and pleasant, clean room albeit a bit small. Very helpful and responsive bilingual staff who were very personable and professional. Other travelers apparently had trouble with the WIFI but I used mine extensively and had no difficulty.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robert K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sebastien_Collin, Manager at Hotel l'Ermitage, responded to this review, August 25, 2014
Dear guest,
Thank you for taking time to share your comments about our hotel.
We're pleased to see that you enjoyed your stay and we hope to have the chance to welcome you again.
Regards,
Sébastien Collin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    46
    11
    10
    1
See reviews for
25
37
1
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2014

Just returned from Quebec City and stayed at Hotel l'Ermitage. We have been visiting Quebec City several times and stayed in different hotels.I must say that we were pleasantly surprised by this place. It is really an old house which has been beautifully restored. Location is ideal, within walking distance from the Chateau Frontenac and Grande Allée with a multitude of restaurants, and bars closeby. We have to register at the hotel across the street but it is not a big inconvenience. The only improvement I would suggest would be to add anti-slip tape or mat to the tiny bathtub. This tub looks new but is very slippery and there is no grab bar around the tub. Personnel was very helpful and professional.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tangueraMontreal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sebastien_Collin, Manager at Hotel l'Ermitage, responded to this review, August 11, 2014
Dear guest,
Thank you for taking time to share your comment about our hotel.
We are pleased to see that you enjoyed your stay
Hoping to have the chance to welcome you again
Regards,
Sébastien Collin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2014

Found it weird to check in across the road then back to the hotel (think part of a chain) Location was good for old town and near the original walls. Room was a bit small for my liking but clean would have preferred to have the sink in the bathroom not next to my bed. Just felt it lacked something

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sebastien_Collin, Manager at Hotel l'Ermitage, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Dear guest,
Thank you for taking time to share your comment about our hotel.
As you mentioned, the check in must to be done at the front desk of the hotel Acadia, which is always open. In our 4 hotel, the hotel Ermitage is more an economic option, this is mainly why the rooms are smaller.
Hoping to have the chance to welcome you again.
Regards,
Sébastien Collin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2014

If WiFi is important to you do not stay here. The rooms were clean and the location was good but the WiFi issue really soured our experience. They need to upgrade their WiFi big time. Our phones stayed connected for a min max and our computer took 5 minutes to load a webpage.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ady27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sebastien_Collin, Manager at Hotel l'Ermitage, responded to this review, July 17, 2014
Dear guest,
Thank you for taking time to share your comments about our hotel.
I'm kind of surprised that you had had difficulties with the WI-FI, because I'm working in this building and I never have any problem of that kind. But we are really sorry about this inconvenience, and we take great consideration of your comment and will will do our best to improve the wireless connection.
We hope to have the chance to welcome you again.
Regards,
Sébastien Collin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax Region, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2014

Great hotel in excellent quiet location in the old city. Although the room was on the small size it was very clean, comfortable bed coffee making facility's and fridge. Check in across the street at Acadia hotel staff very helpful.

Room Tip: Although small would have given excellent for rooms but needs updating.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cruiser1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sebastien_Collin, Manager at Hotel l'Ermitage, responded to this review, June 19, 2014
Dear guest,
Thank you for taking time to share your comments about our hotel.
We're pleased to see that you enjoyed your stay.
In hope to have the chance to welcome you again
Regards,
Sébastien Collin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
Level Contributor
38 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2014

Ask for room 350. This room was much larger than the one across the hall. We were amazed at the size and character of the room. 2 queen size beds (end to end) across the room from each other with 2 leather chairs, a small table and a wooden desk with 2 chairs arranged in between the beds. The room has large bay windows which can open with heavy ceiling to floor curtains. There are double doors which open onto a small balcony with a street view of Old Quebec. There is a small washroom with a tub and shower. The sink and large mirror are in the room but outside of the bathroom. The room has a fridge, T.V., hair dryer, ice bucket with wine glasses, coffee maker and mugs. The room is nicely decorated with a beautiful plaster ceiling and attractive light fixture. The door to our room was wood with a large beveled glass window, covered by a heavy curtain. This hotel was built in the 1800's and has LOTS of character. Did not wake up to any street noise but could faintly hear the church bells on Sunday morning. We quickly opened the windows to record them ringing. You need to check in just down the street at Hotel Acadia. Very friendly staff. They will take your luggage to the hotel. There is an Urban Spa on the top floor of the Acadia which you have free access to along with a buffet breakfast at a restaurant (Feu Sacre) located just around the corner (delicious). I got a deal through Hotwire so this was not included but was well worth it for $10 per person. The hotel also offers valet service, massage services (at a cost), free internet and a relaxation room. Great location, we walked everywhere throughout Old Quebec and outside the walls (did not need a car). We did take a bus tour outside the city one afternoon which was great for picture taking (waterfalls, cathedral, copper factory, bakery and across to the Island of Orleans). Took a taxi from airport to hotel. Flat rate $35, one way. Cab driver very nice and arranged our pick up time for our return home, when he dropped us off. The Hotel Acadia stored our luggage after we checked out so that we could do some more shopping/site seeing before we left.

Room Tip: Ask for room 350.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank g0lfgirl16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sebastien_Collin, Manager at Hotel l'Ermitage, responded to this review, June 12, 2014
Dear guest,
Thank you for taking time to share your comments about our hotel Ermitage.
We're pleased to see that you enjoyed your stay.
Hoping to have the chance to welcome you again.
Regards,
Sébastien Collin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2014

We went to Quebec for the Carnaval. The hotel staff were very friendly and helpful, the room although small, was very comfortable, one of the better hotel beds I have slept on in a hotel. The location could not have been better. The hotel was in a quiet part of town but still only a five minute walk from the action.

Room Tip: Pack light...the hotel does not have an elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Caroline B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FBergeron-Ouellet, General Manager at Hotel l'Ermitage, responded to this review, February 19, 2014
Dear guest,
Thank you for taking time to share your nice experience in our hotel.
We're really pleased to see that you enjoyed all parts of your stay.
Hoping to welcome you again.
Best regards,
François Bergeron-Ouellet
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Quebec City hotels
Hotel Louisbourg
#77 of 104 in Quebec City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 148 reviews
Maison du General
#94 of 104 in Quebec City
3.0 of 5 bubbles 24 reviews
Downtown Quebec City
Hotel Acadia
Hotel Acadia
#54 of 104 in Quebec City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 635 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown Quebec City
Le Grande-Allee Hotel and Suites
Le Grande-Allee Hotel and Suites
#71 of 104 in Quebec City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 277 reviews
Le Champlain Hotel
#15 of 104 in Quebec City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,569 reviews
Hotel Terrasse Dufferin
#48 of 104 in Quebec City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel l'Ermitage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel l'Ermitage

Property: Hotel l'Ermitage
Address: 60 rue Sainte-Ursule | Old Québec, Quebec City, Quebec G1R 4E6, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Quebec > Quebec City
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#34 Family Hotel in Quebec City
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel l'Ermitage 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your Hotel l'Ermitage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel L'Ermitage Quebec/Quebec City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing