We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel l'Ermitage

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel l'Ermitage
Ranked #70 of 107 Hotels in Quebec City
Buffalo, NY
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great value!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

This hotel was great - perfect location right in the heart of the city. The rooms were clean and comfortable and the breakfast included was delicious. What a deal for just $80/nite. And the rooftop hot tub right across the street at the sister hotel, Acadia, was perfect after a long day of siteseeing. The restaurant right next door, L'Amoure was wonderful - expensive but worth it!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mary Ellen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FBergeron-Ouellet, General Manager at Hotel l'Ermitage, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
Dear guest,
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We're pleased to see that you enjoyed your stay and that our hotel has met your expectations. Hoping to welcome you again on your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    46
    11
    9
    1
See reviews for
25
37
1
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ajax, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012 via mobile

What a wee gem as long as you're not too fussy.

It's cheap and cheerful as we only paid $60 a night for a Fri-Mon stay. Perfect location! Bed was comfy, really sweet atmosphere, had en suite! (in this price range many didn't!)

Be warned, you have to climb the stairs and our room wasn't very big. Oh and the shower can be a bit of roulette.

But, we'd definitely go back!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lm87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FBergeron-Ouellet, General Manager at Hotel l'Ermitage, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
Dear guest,
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We're pleased to see that you enjoyed your stay and that our hotel has met your expectations. We would be happy to welcome you again on your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beaver Dam, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
74 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

We enjoyed our stay in this hotel.
Pros: It's in Old Quebec, which is not that large, so that you can easily walk to everything, return to your room when you want a rest, and go out again later. Location is important in a city. The room, though small, was quite nicely done with new, high-quality decor. The bed was comfortable. The shower was quite nice and water got hot quickly. I felt like I was in the movie, "Midnight in Paris." We got a good price through priceline, but it did not include breakfast. However, we discovered a small restaurant, Le Petit Coin Latin down the hill, which was less touristy than most and very good. Parking was available for $18/night with a valet who did a nice job.
Cons: The walls are thin, and we did hear people coming and going and talking in the next room, but it was not annoying to us. The snack machine took only one-dollar coins. Only one pot of coffee each day comes with the room; you must pay extra for more. This wasn't really a problem, either, since we went out for meals, anyway, but it would have been nice to have some decaf and/or tea in the evenings. The room temperature was warm to us, and we could not open the window or turn on the fan in the air conditioner. so it was a little stuffy, but not too bad.

All in all, we loved the L'Ermitage and would certainly stay here again since we did get a good price.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hilltraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FBergeron-Ouellet, General Manager at Hotel l'Ermitage, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
Dear guest,
We're happy to see that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel and that Hotel l'Ermitage has met your expectations. Thank you for taking some of your time to share your review with us! We will take note of your comments. We look forward to welcome you again on your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

good location but TINY room and bathroom. The heating seemed to be turned up to maximum level all day and night so it was like sleeping in a sauna even with our radiator turned off. Rooms are very noisy and can hear everything from the room next door including people going to the bathroom which was really annoying. Would not reccomend this hotel.

Room Tip: dont go to this hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Marcus H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

This hotel is an excellent value. It is located on a quiet street in the Old City. It is very convenient to everything. We were traveling with two young boys and were thrilled to find a park with a great climbing structure just one block away. Our room had a charming balcony and was quite spacious. We also used the rooftop hot tub at the affiliated hotel. The breakfast was fine and the staff seemed very professional.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank mlk11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
frankbeo, Director of Sales at Hotel l'Ermitage, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
Dear guest,
Thank you for sharing your comments about our hotel. We're glad to see that you had a great stay with your family and that our hotel has met your expectations. We would be really happy to welcome you again on your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012

We were really impressed with this hotel. Our room was very tiny, as was the bathroom, but the room had lots of character, with a beautiful brick wall, well maintained, and best of all - a gorgeous small private balcony attached to our room looking over Old Quebec.

It was a fairly basic hotel room, but we loved it, and the location was perfect, being in the heart of Old Quebec. They also have a hot tub available on the roof top of the Acadia Hotel which was free to use for us (only a few steps away from Hotel L'Ermitage), which was a nice treat for one evening.

The continental breakfast was served at a restaurant just a block away from the hotel, the food was just a basic breakfast buffet of bacon, eggs, sausage, cereal, fruit and crepes. Nothing spectacular but it was okay, and free.

Overall, a great place to stay in an absolutely beautiful city!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank chrred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
frankbeo, Director of Sales at Hotel l'Ermitage, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
Dear guest,
Thank you for taking some of your time to review our hotel. We're really happy to know that you were impressed by our hotel and that it has met your expectations. We would be happy to welcome you again on your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Quebec City hotels
Hotel Louisbourg
#74 of 107 in Quebec City
3.5 of 5 stars 143 reviews
Downtown Quebec City
Hotel Acadia
Hotel Acadia
#47 of 107 in Quebec City
4.0 of 5 stars 552 reviews
Maison du General
#96 of 107 in Quebec City
3.0 of 5 stars 18 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Jardin Ste-Anne
#58 of 107 in Quebec City
4.0 of 5 stars 205 reviews
Manoir de L'Esplanade
#43 of 107 in Quebec City
4.0 of 5 stars 206 reviews
Hotel Le Clos St-Louis
#28 of 107 in Quebec City
4.5 of 5 stars 454 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel l'Ermitage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel l'Ermitage

Property: Hotel l'Ermitage
Address: 60 rue Sainte-Ursule | Old Québec, Quebec City, Quebec G1R 4E6, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Quebec > Quebec City
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Quebec City
#34 Family Hotel in Quebec City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel l'Ermitage 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your Hotel l'Ermitage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel L'Ermitage Quebec/Quebec City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing