We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Great B&B”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Quebec City
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hayden's Wexford House
Ranked #29 of 120 Quebec City B&B and Inns
Reviewed July 13, 2009

The Hayden's Wexford house is a quiet, beautiful and comfortable B&B, I think it is best one we've had stay, Jacque and Sylvie, wonderful hosts, prepared tasty breakfast. Though we only stay here one day according to our travel plan, we can't wait next quebec trip to stay this great place again.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TorontoMarvin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (133)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

111 - 117 of 133 reviews

Reviewed July 8, 2009

This was an inviting, quiet B&B which served a delicious breakfast. The owners, Jacque and Sylvie, were friendly, helpful and interesting to talk with. They prepared tasty and colorful breakfasts which they graciously allowed us to linger over as we exchanged travel experiences with the other travelers staying there. The beds were very comfortable and the bathrooms were pleasant and clean. We would definitely stay here again if we return to Q.C. The only drawback was that my arthritic knees did not like the stairs to the bedrooms. Otherwise, it was a perfect stay!

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank niaUpstateNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2009

Sylvie & Jacques are wonderful hosts, great breakfasts & location made our stay with them a pleasure.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank crawmerwv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2009

The Hayden's Wexford house is perhaps the best bed and breakfast experience we've had.

The owners, Jacques and Sylvie, are absolutely amazing people. Both of them have a way of bringing out the best in people. They are engaging, funny, and have overflowing hospitality and talent. For instance, after spending a few days there we discovered that some of the beautiful artwork in their house was made by them! And when the breakfast table was full of strangers, Jacques had a way of getting us all talking, and us loving every moment of it. (That's not easy with us... We're both very shy people.)

The location is excellent. It's on a quiet street, a short walk from either the old city or the stairs to the Plains of Abraham. There is a bus stop right near by, although you don't really need it, as there's so much to see and do in walking distance from the B&B.

The house itself is beautiful. It is an old house with history, yet feels warm and welcoming. Jacques and Sylvie have made it feel such that when you walk in, you feel as if you're at home. The rooms are cozy and cute, comfortable and reminiscent of an older way of life. The beds were very comfortable, and wouldn't make a noise. Some of the rooms have a view of the St. Lawrence. Although the bathrooms are shared, it's a great layout. It has two fully equipped washrooms, of which you could use either, if the other was in use.

Although the street is quiet, the house is older, and some sounds can carry. If you are easily awoken, it could be handy to have earplugs, although I found that it was rare that they were actually necessary.

So much thought was put in to making us comfortable, I was very impressed. So many little details, such as housecoats, slippers, and extra pillows made the stay that much more comfortable.

Even after our stay was over, Jacques and Sylvie extended their hospitality further. Our car broke down when we were ready to leave, and they were instrumental in getting our car towed, talking to the shop for us, and even offered us a ride to the shop when the car was ready!

Overall, this place is wonderful.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kalibyrn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2008

We often go to Québec City so we try to stay at this B&B whenever a room is available. As other reviewers mentioned, this B&B is located on a very quiet one-way street, approximately 15 minutes on foot from the main tourists attractions.

We have stayed in every room as well as the apartment suite next to the B&B. All were very clean and comfortable. The single rooms share bathroom facilities. Since the new owners took over, an additional full size bathroom has been added.

Although we liked the previous owners, Jacques & Sylvie are great hosts. Parking can be an issue in that parking close to the B&B is limited to an hour between certain times. However, Jacques is more than willing to move your car should you not be around to do so yourself.

We are going back to Québec City this coming September and plan to stay three nights in this B&B.

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LMJGatineau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2007

Had a great stay at this B&B. Stayed in one of the suites adjoining the main building, with its own kitchen, living room and bedroom. Property is very well maintained, with charming furniture, and interior.

The B&B is located on a quiet (very quiet) one-way lane just below the cliffs. Its about a 15 minute walk to the main part of Old Quebec, but the walk is very enjoyable, being right beside the St. Lawrence and the riverside park. Well-lit and safe at night as well.

Breakfast was excellent, with the menu changing for each day that we were there. Jean makes an excellent french toast, and his poached eggs were great as well.

The best part of our stay were our excellent hosts Jean and Louise. Very friendly and helpful, even going beyond the call of duty when our car developed a mechanical fault. Jean guided us (by leading with his van) to a mechanic in the city, and helped to translate between the French-speaking mechanic and us.

  • Stayed: July 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dimbulb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2004

We are a family of 5 (three teenagers) and stayed 3 nights in a suite in this lovely 160-year-old inn, which has been resurrected by Louise and Jean (originally from Belgium) in such a manner that the antique qualities (rock and brick walls, wooden beams) blend with modern conveniences (new bathrooms, kitchenettes in the suites, telephone, TV, etc). It is located in a charming, absolutely quiet, very European-looking one-way side-street that runs right under the cliff in the Cap Blanc neighborhood. An easy 10-minute walk from historic Basse-Ville, and also just a few houses away from a set of stairs (390 steps!) that climbs directly to the Plains of Abraham. Super breakfasts of waffle, quiche, granola, muffin, etc., were served by Jean every morning at either 8:00 or 9:00 AM (the hour arranged with him the previous day). Jean and Louise are particular about requesting that their guests treat their furnishings carefully, but after all many of the furnishings are antiques. Our suite had a comfortable double-sized sofa bed in the living room for two of the kids, a cozy dining room, a kitchenette with refrigerator, stove, microwave, coffeemaker, and sink, a small but nicely done bathroom with enclosed shower, and a small but charming bedroom with double bed. The innkeepers provided a roll-away bed for our third child. They request that guests vacate the rooms between 11:00 AM and 4:00 PM so the rooms can be cleaned; but even then they didn't turn us away when we showed up early on our first day. I can't speak for the B&B side of this inn, where I believe bathrooms are shared among single rooms. But our suite was lovely, the location was perfect, and the innkeepers extremely welcoming. They were pleased that I was willing to try my French, but they were perfectly fluent in English. I would go back in a minute.

  • Stayed: July 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 3_Is_Enough
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Quebec City hotels
Auberge Aux Deux Lions
#4 of 101 in Quebec City
1,018 reviews
Auberge Place D'Armes
#9 of 101 in Quebec City
1,661 reviews
Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac
#18 of 101 in Quebec City
5,070 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown Quebec City
Auberge du Tresor
Auberge du Tresor
#10 of 120 in Quebec City
327 reviews
Downtown Quebec City
Auberge J.A. Moisan
Auberge J.A. Moisan
#11 of 120 in Quebec City
246 reviews
Au Petit Hotel
#19 of 120 in Quebec City
156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hayden's Wexford House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hayden's Wexford House

Address: 450 rue Champlain, Quebec City, Quebec G1K 4J3, Canada
Location: Canada > Quebec > Quebec City
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 120 B&Bs / Inns in Quebec City
Price Range: $59 - $79 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
Haydens Wexford Hotel
Hayden's Wexford House Quebec/Quebec City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing