We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice stay in Québec”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Auberge Michel Doyon
Ranked #58 of 119 Quebec City B&B and Inns
Ottawa, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Nice stay in Québec”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2013

The owner was very friendly and to our surprise we got a room with our own bathroom even if we booked for a shared one. We could walk to the city through a nice park nearby and for our way back the bus stop was right in front. The room was clean and the breakfast was also good. If you do not mind to stay not directly in downtown Québec than this is a really good place.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stefanie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

210 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    52
    77
    41
    20
    20
See reviews for
29
96
16
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Passau, Germany
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 18, 2013

Excellent hostel. We booked a room with shared bathroom and without breakfast. But the very friendly staff gave us an upgrade, though we got an own bathroom and a good breakfast without any additional costs.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Soso0815
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 2, 2013

First of all, the location of the hotel was bad, too far away from the centre. The view was ugly. There are no super market or any restaurants around which you can walk to. Secondly, the customer service was extremely horrible. There was only one person who did everything. He gave us attitude right when we first arrived at the parking lot to wait for our friends. Then the room was dark, the light was broken. There was no hair blow drier. And MOST IMPORTANT THING, it was expensive overall. We got a coupon online but still paid like 130 for one night one room 2 beds. We also paid extra $5 for internet but it DID NOT WORK. We complained and got yelled at. Still had to pay $5 for nothing. Anyway, dont let the coupon or discount fool you, MICHEL DOYON WAS THE WORST HOTEL EVER!!!!!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tracynguyen09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sjdoyon, Owner at Auberge Michel Doyon, responded to this review, May 5, 2013
1. We are located three kilometers from the wall of the Old CIty. 10 minutes by bus (at the door).
2. The view gives on a nice residential complex called La Cité Verte (The Green City), which is an attractive well laid out complex.
3. There are 10 restaurants within a five minutes walk. Really, not more than five minutes. There is also a convenience store within three minutes.
4. A dark room or a broken light can be easily fixed when reported. Hair dryers are available upon request.
5. Reservation was for two persons, not for four. Thus the price was upped from $69 for two persons to $109 for four persons. Before taxes. $27.25 per person.
6. If the Internet did not work, how did we get the address of the device on the invoice. It was paid for when this proof was given to the customer. It is well advertised that we do charge $5 for Internet charge. This is also confirmed at time of reservation.
7. We do respect customers and go to any length to make sure they are satisfied. They are even handed the owner cellular phone number when they check in, in case something goes out of control. As the owner, I never did receive a call from the customer.
8. The grief is associated to the fact that we asked the customers to pay for four persons, instead of two. The room has two double beds, a kitchenette, a microwave oven, a refrigerator, a television, free parking, free telephone calls - Canada/USA.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Quebec City hotels

Québec
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2013

Internet didn't work, blinds were inadequate (you could see the traffic lights), desk worker didn't speak English well enough. Parking was good. The location wasn't too bad either. The room was cleaned when our group came back from our daily adventures which was good.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
1 Thank Antti N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lemmer, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
84 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2012

We had a great time in Quebec, staying in this hotel. We were offered great service and information by the owner and his staff. We will visit this hotel again! The location was a good starting point to explore the city and the surroundings. We were given a very helpfull selection of usefull information put together by the owners...chapeau!

Friendlyness of the owners and the very helpfull gentleman in the breakfast room were quality.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marit123356
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moncton, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2012

Horrible service the room didn`t feel fresh, we found spider webs and a sealed but still broken window, there were only two bathrooms in the building and they were shared bathrooms (with other rooms). Next time I'll pay 15 bucks more to stay in a nice, more recognised hotel

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mat8738
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sjdoyon, Owner at Auberge Michel Doyon, responded to this review, May 5, 2013
The customer reserved a room with shared bathroom. Average of three customers per bathroom, Customers also have access to a full kitchen. Free parking. $59 per night. Unlimited calls to Canada/USA.

We would have been glad to move the customer to another room, had we know that he was not satisfied with this one. We can only correct problems we are aware of. We have a full guarantee of satisfaction which is delivered to each customer at time of check-in.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Quebec City hotels
Auberge Maison Roy
#85 of 119 in Quebec City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 68 reviews
Le Gite 812
#100 of 119 in Quebec City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 14 reviews
B & B Le Soleil Nordique
#54 of 119 in Quebec City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 15 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
B & B La Bedondaine
#48 of 119 in Quebec City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 23 reviews
Maizerets
Auberge Amerik
Auberge Amerik
#8 of 119 in Quebec City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 329 reviews
Hotel Le Cavalier du Moulin
#40 of 119 in Quebec City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 84 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Auberge Michel Doyon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Auberge Michel Doyon

Property: Auberge Michel Doyon
Address: 1215 chemin Ste-Foy, Quebec City, Quebec G1S 2N1, Canada
Location: Canada > Quebec > Quebec City
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #58 of 119 B&Bs / Inns in Quebec City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Auberge Michel Doyon 2.5*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
High speed Internet access; many rooms with PC. This property opened in July of 1947, and was renovated in September of 2002. Family atmosphere. Ensuite private or semi-private bathroom. All rooms with private bathroom are Air Conditioned. Cable TV; Telephone (No charge for local calls); Regrigerator; Microwave; Complimentary continental breakfast. 10 minutes to Old Quebec via Bus #7. Best value for the money in Quebec City. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, HostelWorld, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Auberge Michel Doyon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Auberge Michel Doyon Hotel Quebec City
Auberge Michel Doyon Quebec/Quebec City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing