We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can't beat it”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Quebec City Marriott Downtown
Ranked #25 of 100 Hotels in Quebec City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 26, 2014

It was my first time in Quebec City. So i didn't know what to expect or how far i would have to travel to see the sights. This hotel is in the middle of it all. Didn't take one taxi and it was winter!

The rooms felt brand new. The gym was really impressive for a hotel. The staff was incredibly friendly and accommodating. I will definitely go again.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andre L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
J L, General Manager at Quebec City Marriott Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded April 2, 2014

I would like to thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at the Marriott Quebec City Downtown. We are happy that you have both enjoyed so much our city and our hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,269)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

586 - 592 of 1,269 reviews

Reviewed March 25, 2014

Great hotel in a perfect location for all Quebec City has to offer.

The location could not be better, 10 minute or less walk to all the major sights in beautiful Quebec City and a ton of nearby restaurants. Hotel has a more boutique feel than a big scale Marriott with nicely appointed very clean rooms. Staff is super friendly, especially front desk. I would stay here again without question.

Only negative .. wifi is about $15 for 24 hrs with taxes, hotels that charge for it drive me crazy.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PlateMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
J L, General Manager at Quebec City Marriott Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded April 2, 2014

I would like to thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at the Marriott Quebec City Downtown. We look forward to welcome you back and exceed your expectation once again. Please note that we will have a tiered-up internet plan very soon at a reduced price.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2014

The hotel was very nice, clean spacious room, had a beer in the bar $10 with the tip, parking is also extra had to park down the street.
But all in all very well situated near old Quebec next to the outdoor skating rink

Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
2  Thank Glen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roselyn F, Manager at Quebec City Marriott Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded March 20, 2014

First, I would like to thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at the Marriott Quebec City Downtown. It is only through feedback such as yours that we are able to maintain and indeed, where necessary, improve upon the service that we provide to our valued guests. Your feedback was shared with our team, and we look forward to the opportunity to welcome you back and exceed your expectations.
Thank you and have a wonderful day!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2014

We enjoyed our two night stay here. It's a great location, within walking distance of museums, attractions and great restaurants. The bed was very comfortable and the room size was adequate. We did not pay for breakfast as there are many other local choices nearby. They offer valet parking for a fee but we used the garage next door since we didnt use the car much. There is a metro grocery store within walking distance, if interested. We chose the hotel because we wanted to be loyal to marriott and we were not disappointed.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank oneblue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacques L, General Manager at Quebec City Marriott Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded April 3, 2014

I would like to thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at the Marriott Quebec City Downtown. Thank you also for being loyal customers of Marriott. Look forward to welcome you back and exceed your expectation once again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2014

This was our second stay here. The first time, the property was under construction, so this time was better because everything was updated. The front desk personnel are very friendly and eager to please. Same with the restaurant staff. We had breakfast here and it was so-so. Oatmeal was kind of glommy and eggs benedict were nothing special. I was disappointed to have to pay $12.95 per day for internet access. Also I asked advice from Xavier at the concierge on restaurants and I was not pleased with either recommendation. I wanted a nice Sushi Restaurant for lunch and he sent me to Yozu which is more like a McDonald's for Sushi....no ambiance and not very good food. He also sent us to Feu Sacre steakhouse and we did not like the hostess or the menu, so we left. On the plus side, the fitness center is updated and very nice, plus the location right outside the gates to the city is excellent. The bed was comfortable and everything was very clean.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank OutdoorsyMaineGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roselyn F, Manager at Quebec City Marriott Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded March 18, 2014

Good day,
First, I would like to thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at the Marriott Quebec City Downtown. The experiences you described are not characteristic of the level of service our associates strive to provide, and we apologize your stay was unsatisfactory. Your feedback was shared with our team, and we look forward to the opportunity to welcome you back and exceed your expectations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2014 via mobile

Being a frequent business traveler and not a huge fan of Marriott brand altogether (but a gold elite member) I'd have to say I was overall impressed with this hotel. Much smaller than most Marriott's I'm used to. This seems to allow the staff to be much more attentive and friendly than my previous experiences. Rooms are standard marriott quality. Great location just a short walk to most of old Quebec City. Decent little bar and restaurant as well. I'd recommend if the price is right. - better than the hilton across the street. No complaints here whatsoever for a short stay business traveler.

Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
4  Thank concordia7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacques L, General Manager at Quebec City Marriott Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded April 3, 2014

I would like to thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at the Marriott Quebec City Downtown. We have appreciated your comment especially because it is fair and along the line that we might be a small Marriott in size but we think big. We look forward to welcome you back and exceed your expectation once again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2014

We stayed 5 nights, 6 - 11 Feb 2014. We were with one other couple. The reception was adequate. The clerks were friendly and typically accommodating. Our room was clean and the typical but only average amenities were present. The heater was very loud. The view was of a large nautilus fitness center.
The service in the restaurant was fair. Food was very overpriced and somewhat below average. The concierge lounge was poorly staffed and food and beverage was scarse. I had to get plates, napkins and flatware from downstairs and was treated very rudely by one of the waitresses. I witnessed a young patron ask the same waitress for water and she only shook her head no!
Loading and unloading was very inadequate. The area was icy and unclear.
I strongly suggest avoiding this hotel until and if ever they improve. Chose a Canadian hotel nearby and enjoy the professional courtesy and pampering.

Room Tip: Chose a different hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank The1SGT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roselyn F, Manager at Quebec City Marriott Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded February 18, 2014

First, I would like to thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at the Marriott Quebec City Downtown. It is only through feedback such as yours that we are able to maintain and indeed, where necessary, improve upon the service that we provide to our valued guests.
I was very disappointed to read of your experience during your stay with us. While an apology will regrettably not alter the outcome of your experience on this occasion, I do extend with all sincerity, I certainly empathize regarding the point (s) your mention in your review.This level of service is certainly not acceptable and will be addressed with the concerned party.
Again, please accept my apology.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Quebec City hotels
0.1 mi away
Hilton Quebec
Hilton Quebec
#34 of 100 in Quebec City
2,901 reviews
0.2 mi away
Le Manoir d'Auteuil
Le Manoir d'Auteuil
#3 of 100 in Quebec City
1,354 reviews
0.4 mi away
Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac
Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac
#18 of 100 in Quebec City
5,009 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Delta Hotels by Marriott Quebec
0.3 mi away
Hotel du Vieux-Quebec
Hotel du Vieux-Quebec
#1 of 100 in Quebec City
1,727 reviews
0.7 mi away
Auberge Aux Deux Lions
Auberge Aux Deux Lions
#4 of 100 in Quebec City
1,014 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quebec City Marriott Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quebec City Marriott Downtown

Address: 850 Place D'Youville, Quebec City, Quebec G1R 3P6, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Quebec > Quebec City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#12 Family Hotel in Quebec City
#26 Business Hotel in Quebec City
#31 Romantic Hotel in Quebec City
Price Range: $127 - $351 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Quebec City Marriott Downtown 3.5*
Number of rooms: 111
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Providing easy access to Jean-Lesage International Airport, Québec City Marriott Downtown offers business travelers and vacationers an elegant, sophisticated spot from which to explore Old Quebec. Conveniently located near Québec City Convention Centre and the historic Citadelle of Québec, our upscale hotel offers spacious rooms and thoughtful amenities in abundance. Get a good night's sleep inspired by our luxury bedding, then begin your day by taking care of your work obligations using our ergonomic workstations and high-speed Wi-Fi, or by visiting our full-service business center. Have breakfast in bed thanks to our room service, or head down to the lobby to have delicious French cuisine at our on-site restaurant, Que Sera Sera. If you're hosting a meeting or celebration soon, reserve one of our six event spaces with AV equipment, an on-site culinary team and expert event planners. Begin making marvelous memories when you book your stay at Québec City Marriott Downtown. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Marriott, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Quebec City Marriott Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard Quebec City Downtown Hotel Quebec City
Marriott Quebec City
Quebec City Marriott Downtown
Quebec City Courtyard

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing