We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Location and Fantastic Service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Quebec City Marriott Downtown
Ranked #25 of 101 Hotels in Quebec City
Certificate of Excellence
Montreal
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Good Location and Fantastic Service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2014

The most impressive thing about this hotel is the staff - front desk, parking attendant, bell hop, and the maintenance person who came to fix our TV. In this day and age we accept mediocre, but these people were above average.

The room was small, but newly furnished and nicely decorated. The location is perfect and it is easy to walk everywhere.

I will definitely stay here again on my next trip to Quebec City.

Room Tip: If you book online, they don't seem to read your special requests, so best to call ahead and ens...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheSardonicOne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
J L, General Manager at Quebec City Marriott Downtown, responded to this review, April 3, 2014
I would like to thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at the Marriott Quebec City Downtown. We have shared your comment on our billboard staff. We look forward to welcome you back and exceed your expectation once again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,127 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    637
    385
    76
    23
    6
See reviews for
312
481
43
123
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (220)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vassalboro, Maine, United States
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2014

The Quebec City Marriott Downtown is a converted Courtyard that tries really hard to feel like a Marriott.

The location is excellent, just outside the lower gate on Rue St. James. Parking garage is just outside the front door for $18/day. Park and walk is the order of the day in Quebec.

The staff is warm and welcoming. They were accommodating with room choice at check in.

We didn't try the restaurant. We were going to eat there on New Years Eve to avoid crowds but the only dining option they had was a $69 meal that was not what we would have chosen. I think this was a case of a head chef trying to pretend his hotel restaurant was much more than it is...

The Concierge food / experience is sub-par for a Marriott. Breakfast there was great but forget about being a great place to hang and relax before heading out for the night. The small selection of apps was not well maintained.

The room we had was fine but small, again, this isn't a huge hotel.

We'll probably stay here again as the location works nicely for us, it's easy to find and parking is very convenient for downtown.

Room Tip: Rooms on the West side of the building are noisy with street traffic. An old city view would be pre...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Volator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacques L, General Manager at Quebec City Marriott Downtown, responded to this review, April 3, 2014
I would like to thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at the Marriott Quebec City Downtown. We welcome all constructive criticism, as it helps us to improve systems and processes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delray Beach, FL
Level Contributor
185 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2013

The location is so conveniently located to everything. It really surpassed the physical quality and location of the Loew's which we stayed at about 2 years ago. The staff could not be better. They answered all our questions and really went out of their way to make out stay fantastic. As with many of the other city hotels, valet parking is rather steep at $30/day. This place also had a very nice gym and a comfortable lobby/restaurant with fireplaces. Definitely recommended.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BoyntonOU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
J L, General Manager at Quebec City Marriott Downtown, responded to this review, April 3, 2014
I would like to thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at the Marriott Quebec City Downtown. Thank for mentioning that we have a brand new gym with brand new equipment. We look forward to welcome you back and exceed your expectation once again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Level Contributor
44 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2013

Average might be a little exaggerated. Actually, it was so-so. Our room was small, had no view except for a building directly outside the windows and was starting to look like it needed to be updated. It also lacked a pool and other activities. The caption said that it was within the walls of Old Quebec and in fact, it was outside of the walls. Parking was close to $30 for one day and seemed pretty high. This Hotel room, although not bad, was not a premium place that I had expected for the premium price that I paid. That said, the value wasn't there unless you consider the proximity to Old-Quebec. I have stayed at better hotels in the area for less money.

Room Tip: Maybe a room with some type of view would have made the room more palatable. Ask for a room with a v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Richard P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacques L, General Manager at Quebec City Marriott Downtown, responded to this review, April 3, 2014
Clearly, the hotel was not up to your expectations for that I sincerely apologize. We indeed to not have a pool for kids because of space restrictions. We will find and correct the caption stating that we are within the old city walls. Although meters away, we are outside the old walls. We look forward to the opportunity to welcome you back and this time, exceed your expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
98 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2013 via mobile

If you decide on this hotel, you will not need a car to get around and see almost all there is to see. 5 minutes cab ride from the train station,Rooms are clean, friendly staff, helpful concierge, but food is just o.k. Concierge food was very basic. Their bistro with a small bar is pretty average too. It's doable to beat hunger.
There are variety of eateries around, however, we found dining out expensive, even the casual options were up there in price. Something to keep in mind when budgeting!!
For a great view request rooms 703 - 705 on the 7th floor. Other than we enjoyed our stay.

Stayed December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Henny M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacques L, General Manager at Quebec City Marriott Downtown, responded to this review, April 3, 2014
I would like to thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at the Marriott Quebec City Downtown. We are happy that you found our hotel very convenient as far as location is concerned. We have passed your restaurant comments to our chef. We look forward to welcome you back and exceed your expectation once again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weston, Florida
Level Contributor
36 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 23, 2013

Comfortable, cozy rooms!
The food in the restaurants and in room service were delicious. The rooms and bathrooms were very clean and the downstairs staff were very very pleasant and helpful.

The location is also very good as it is close to many restaurants and stores and across the street from the skating rink.

The only complaint I would have is the concierge lounge is very under stocked. The only benefit was that you can go there and get your drinks and water for free and take them back to your room which can start adding up if you keep ordering room service.

Room Tip: Ask for room facing old Quebec. You can see the people skating from your room window.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Flfamilyfun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacques L, General Manager at Quebec City Marriott Downtown, responded to this review, April 3, 2014
I would like to thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at the Marriott Quebec City Downtown. Thank you for your comments on the concierge lounge, we will look into this with our restaurant staff. We look forward to welcome you back and exceed your expectation once again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level Contributor
64 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 16, 2013

Nice hotel with spacious room and good views. A great and warm staff with helpful tips on where to go throughout the city. Property is near all the major sites, would recommend to all. Beautiful view of skating rink in front of hotel with restaurants and old gate leading through walled Old Quebec..

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank swiftfireman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacques L, General Manager at Quebec City Marriott Downtown, responded to this review, April 3, 2014
I would like to thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at the Marriott Quebec City Downtown. We are happy that you found our hotel to have the perfect location. We look forward to welcome you back and exceed your expectation once again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Quebec City hotels
0.1 mi away
Hilton Quebec
Hilton Quebec
#34 of 101 in Quebec City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,553 reviews
0.2 mi away
Le Manoir d'Auteuil
Le Manoir d'Auteuil
#2 of 101 in Quebec City
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,061 reviews
0.2 mi away
Delta Hotels by Marriott Quebec
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Palace Royal
Hotel Palace Royal
#31 of 101 in Quebec City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 635 reviews
0.2 mi away
Le Champlain Hotel
Le Champlain Hotel
#14 of 101 in Quebec City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,773 reviews
0.4 mi away
Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac
Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac
#15 of 101 in Quebec City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,960 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quebec City Marriott Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quebec City Marriott Downtown

Property: Quebec City Marriott Downtown
Address: 850 Place d'Youville, Quebec City, Quebec G1R 3P6, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Quebec > Quebec City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Family Hotel in Quebec City
#26 Business Hotel in Quebec City
#31 Romantic Hotel in Quebec City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Quebec City Marriott Downtown 3.5*
Number of rooms: 111
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Quebec City Marriott Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard Quebec City Downtown Hotel Quebec City
Marriott Quebec City
Quebec City Marriott Downtown
Quebec City Courtyard

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing