We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great hotel steps from old town.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Quebec City Marriott Downtown

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Quebec City Marriott Downtown
Ranked #24 of 107 Hotels in Quebec City
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“great hotel steps from old town.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

the hotel is 1/2 a block from the beautiful streets of old Quebec and st john's gate. very clean, new and modern. parking is very convenient as there is a garage right next to it. staff is very friendly (esp. nicolas, michael and xavier) and gave great advice as to restaurants and day trips. everything we wanted to see was in close proximity. glad we chose this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pas73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,017 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    577
    344
    68
    22
    6
See reviews for
289
431
34
104
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (195)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
NJ
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

We were very happy with our stay at the Downtown Marriott in Quebec City. It is located just outside the Ste. Jean gate leading to the Old City. With shops, restaurants and other attractions within walking distance, we walked everywhere! If desired, the Eco Bus stops right outside the hotel and will bring you to the waterfront for $2.00 (exact change required). The hotel had recently undergone renovations and the bedroom and bathroom were very nice. We had a fridge which was convenient. The bed and bedding were very comfortable. Ask for a room facing the front of the hotel if you like a bright room (sunrises!!). The bonus was distant water views. All of the staff members that we interacted with were friendly and helpful. Overall, another wonderful experience at Marriott!

Room Tip: Front facing rooms are bright and have a nice view. We were on the third floor and never heard the t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mval23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, CANADA
Level Contributor
33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

I stayed here for business when it was a Courtyard. The upgrade to the Marriott brand seems largely complete. It's a good hotel with a great location - right outside one of the gates to the old city. The staff are very professional.

TIP - take the Valet parking if you're there on a weekend. There are waves of activity going in/out of the parking and getting through the madness will take infinite patience - so let them do it for you

The only negative is that there isn't a pool at this location.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank darrello
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tennessee
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights. The hotel is just a short walk (uphill) from train terminal. It is pretty quick unless you are not in shape, then take a cab . Excellent service and nice surprise was free breakfast and snacks for rewards members. If you are not, there is a good breakfast in the hotel. I like the location and it has a great view of the laser show from cirque du solei if you are lucky enough to be there when they do it . Can't imagine why you wouldn't stay here. It is great.

Room Tip: Front of hotel overlooking the downtown are great. Can also see laser show.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank susantravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bronx, New York
Level Contributor
34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013 via mobile

Doorman greeted us with genuine friendliness as did the desk staff . Staff seemed eager to help with their suggestions of restaurants etc and did not steer is wrong. The rooms etc is what one would expect from the Marriott brand .

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PackieJoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Portland ME
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

Our weekend at this Marriott was a pleasant experience. Although our room had a view only of an adjacent wall the hotel itself was in a great location, just outside the gates to the old city and next the plaza where the Quebec summer festival was playing. With great weather and good (but expensive) meals we had an enjoyable time.

Room Tip: If you like quiet for sleeping ask for an inside room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 332FrankandJane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Short Hills, New Jersey
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

We stay for three nights and found the hotel very comfortable, clean, and the staff was extremely helpful in setting up our whale tours and restaurant advice - being objective and not trying to push what we chose to do. Parking is expensive ($24 for hotel parking) - but that appears to be the going rate around there. On the last night, we found easy street parking on a side street (Rue St Jean?) near the "Hobbit" restaurant. Had to move the car before 8 am which we wanted to do in any case as we were checking out. On-site restaurant was good - though reflected to high prices of the neighborhood. Could get better value a few blocks away.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sam V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Quebec City hotels
0.1 mi away
Hilton Quebec
Hilton Quebec
#35 of 107 in Quebec City
4.0 of 5 stars 2,196 reviews
0.2 mi away
Le Manoir d'Auteuil
Le Manoir d'Auteuil
#4 of 107 in Quebec City
5.0 of 5 stars 869 reviews
0.2 mi away
Delta Quebec
Delta Quebec
#41 of 107 in Quebec City
4.0 of 5 stars 1,030 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Manoir Victoria
Hotel Manoir Victoria
#22 of 107 in Quebec City
4.5 of 5 stars 1,043 reviews
0.5 mi away
Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac
Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac
#18 of 107 in Quebec City
4.5 of 5 stars 3,173 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel 71
Hotel 71
#7 of 107 in Quebec City
4.5 of 5 stars 1,357 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quebec City Marriott Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quebec City Marriott Downtown

Property: Quebec City Marriott Downtown
Address: 850 Place d'Youville, Quebec City, Quebec G1R 3P6, Canada (Formerly Courtyard Quebec City Downtown)
Location: Canada > Quebec > Quebec City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Family Hotel in Quebec City
#26 Business Hotel in Quebec City
#31 Romantic Hotel in Quebec City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Quebec City Marriott Downtown 3.5*
Number of rooms: 111
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Odigeo and Marriott so you can book your Quebec City Marriott Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard Quebec City Downtown Hotel Quebec City
Marriott Quebec City
Quebec City Courtyard
Quebec City Marriott Downtown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing