We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Location, location, location!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Quebec City Marriott Downtown

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Quebec City Marriott Downtown
Ranked #24 of 106 Hotels in Quebec City
Certificate of Excellence
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
153 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“Location, location, location!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2012

We chose the Courtyard based on our TA reviews but it far surpassed my expectations. Great location, especially if you have a car. Easy walking to the old town. Staff is great - attentive and pleasant. Rooms are comfortable but don't expect a great bathroom. For the price outstanding value.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank WandaG_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Catherine G, Front Office Manager at Quebec City Marriott Downtown, responded to this review, November 24, 2012
Dear Client,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review!

Our employees are one of our greatest pride in our wonderful property.We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us.

We wish to see you again very soon!

With best regards,
Catherine Germain
Front Office Manager
Courtyard by Marriott Quebec City.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,085 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    613
    371
    72
    23
    6
See reviews for
302
462
39
116
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (209)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bruce Peninsula, Canada
Level Contributor
94 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2012

From the pre-email confirmation of your reservation which was loaded with information on sites near and around old Quebec to the smaller hotel, complete with the old world charm and character to the well informed desk and service staff you will not be disappointed with this hotel. Request a room looking over the old Quebec wall at St John's Gate. One of the prettiest sites you will see from the wall to the ice rink just below. In walking distance to all main streets of Old Quebec ,the night life of Old Quebec, fine dining. Unique style to the rooms which have all the modern conveniences at half the price of the so called upscale hotels. Fresh fruit available free of charge at the main desk, daily newspaper in English or French at your door in the morning. You can't ask for any more. You will not be disappointed.

Room Tip: choose a room over looking the old Quebec lights at night are terriffic
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dagwood-Blondie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Catherine G, Front Office Manager at Quebec City Marriott Downtown, responded to this review, November 24, 2012
Dear client,

On behalf of our entire team, we would like to thank you for taking the time to write this amazing review about your recent stay with us.

Your satisfaction is important to us! We truly hope to see you again in a near future.

Warmest regards,
Catherine Germain
Front Office Manager
Courtyard by Marriott Quebec City
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2012

I stayed at the hotel for a weekend in October and I could not have asked for anything better. It was a smaller hotel with charm and character, yet filled with modern conveniences. Its location could not have been any better. It is situated at Place D'Youville, the gate to old Quebec and lively Rue St.Jean and everything is a short walk away. I loved the public skating rink and the French music being broadcast throughout the square!

I found the hotel very comfortable with current decor. I received a great corner room with a lovely view, a lot of space and very clean. The bathroom was very large and appointed nicely with granite, tile and great products. I was so happy that there was a small refrigerator in the room as I was able to keep beverages nice and cold.

I really liked the staff. They were very friendly, outgoing and helped with maps and recommendations. They made me laugh and enjoy my visit.

I felt at home at this hotel and I highly recommend it if you are planning a visit to Quebec City, be it business or pleasure. You should not be disappointed.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank David P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Catherine G, Front Office Manager at Quebec City Marriott Downtown, responded to this review, November 24, 2012
Dear David,

What a great pleasure to read your amazing review ! Thank you very much for this wonderful review!!

We are extremelly proud that we delivered the service that you expect from us. We truly hope that you will be staying with us again.

Kind regards,

Catherine Germain
Front Office Manager
Courtyard by Marriott Quebec City
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hawkesbury, Canada
Level Contributor
114 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2012

I have been here before and this time again, no regrets. There were two cruise ships in the city, one out and one in, the hotel was totally jammed with people checking in and others checking out but the staff kept their calm and professionalism throughout the whole thing. Took our name and phone number so they may call when the room was ready and they did just like clockwork. The skating rink in front and outside of the hotel was full of people skating although it was about 15 degrees centigrade out there, it was great to see all the people enjoying themselves. Room was clean and comfortable as it ususally is, will definitely go again. Don't forger to have breadfeast in the morning, they make omelets just the way you want them.

Room Tip: Get a room with a view on the skating rink and or the entrance of old Quebec.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SusanLuc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Catherine G, Front Office Manager at Quebec City Marriott Downtown, responded to this review, November 24, 2012
Dear Susan,

Once again, thank you very much for staying with us for a second time!! We truly appreciate your loyalty to us!!

On behalf on the entire team, we wish to see you again next year!

With best regards,

Catherine Germain
Front Office Manager
Courtyard by Marriott Quebec City
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
79 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2012

Excellent. Centrally located. Quiet. Good staff. Clean. Small gym with two running machines somewhat dated. Nearby parking at $17.50 per day. Air conditioning a little noisy when it kicked in. Morning paper. Single speedy elevator. Comfortable bed. Good moderately priced restaurant.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Phil L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Catherine G, Front Office Manager at Quebec City Marriott Downtown, responded to this review, November 24, 2012
Dear Phil,

Thank you very much for taking the time to complete this review! Courtyard by Marriott Quebec City always do our best to provide an excellent service.
We truly appreciate your loyalty to our brand!

We wish to see you again soon!

Kind regards,
Catherine Germain
Front Office Manager
Courtyard by Marriott Quebec City
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth
Level Contributor
39 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here after reading other reviews. We arrived in the afternoon after a cruise around 2:00 pm. Unfortunately they were unable to accommodate an early check in due to being full the night before. The receptionist told my husband that they might have our room ready in a few hours and that we could leave our luggage. We opted to walk for lunch with a suggestion by the concierge. We found the bakery about halfway down St. Jean and the sandwiches were delicious. After lunch and walking a bit we thought we would check on our room. It still was not ready when we returned and we had to wait until after 5:00 before it was ready. The room which was 603 had a great view of the city and the skating rink across the street. We were able to explore the whole city on foot from here. Their breakfast buffet was delicious and we ate there one morning. The concierge services were wonderful and each of them provided great suggestions for restaurants or walks. The front desk receptionists never failed to greet you with a smile and a pleasant Bon jour. Would definitely stay here again.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank the2Dacys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Catherine G, Front Office Manager at Quebec City Marriott Downtown, responded to this review, November 24, 2012
Dear Client,

Thank you very much for taking the time to complete this amazing review!

Our greatest pride is without a doubt our staff and the quality of service that we offer. We are thrilled to hear that those standards were met

We look forward having the opportunity of welcoming you again at our property!

Sincerely,

Catherine Germain
Front Office Manager
Courtyard by Marriott Quebec City
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, Colorado
Level Contributor
700 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 320 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2012

As Marriott Platinum, we were given suite on 3rd floor. Nice views of Place d' Youville. Big bathroom. Good bed.
Big second room with second TV. Helpful staff. One minute walk to St. Jean Gate into Old Quebec.
This Courtyard may be the best in the Marriott chain.
Ate at Retro Restaurant on Rue St. Jean - quite good. Also ate at Mikes nearby - not at all good.
Easy to walk entire old Quebec from this hotel.
Check out the excellent big museum in the Lower City, as well as the also fine museum at 3 Rue d'Fabrique.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Buzzy1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Catherine G, Front Office Manager at Quebec City Marriott Downtown, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
Dear valued client,

We appreciate that you took the time to review our hotel. Your comments are highly valuable to us and will assist us in our continuous efforts to maintain and improve the quality and service level we aim for.

We truly appreciate your loyalty to our brand.

We hope you will come back and see us again soon.

With best regards,

Catherine Germain
Frnot Office Manager
Marriott Courtyard Quebec City
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Quebec City hotels
0.1 mi away
Hilton Quebec
Hilton Quebec
#35 of 106 in Quebec City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,368 reviews
0.2 mi away
Le Manoir d'Auteuil
Le Manoir d'Auteuil
#2 of 106 in Quebec City
5.0 of 5 bubbles 991 reviews
0.2 mi away
Delta Hotels by Marriott Quebec
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Palace Royal
Hotel Palace Royal
#32 of 106 in Quebec City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 587 reviews
0.5 mi away
Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac
Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac
#18 of 106 in Quebec City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,625 reviews
0.6 mi away
Auberge Saint-Antoine
Auberge Saint-Antoine
#3 of 106 in Quebec City
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,814 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quebec City Marriott Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quebec City Marriott Downtown

Property: Quebec City Marriott Downtown
Address: 850 Place d'Youville, Quebec City, Quebec G1R 3P6, Canada (Formerly Courtyard Quebec City Downtown)
Location: Canada > Quebec > Quebec City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Family Hotel in Quebec City
#26 Business Hotel in Quebec City
#31 Romantic Hotel in Quebec City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Quebec City Marriott Downtown 3.5*
Number of rooms: 111
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Orbitz, Booking.com, Odigeo, Travelocity, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Quebec City Marriott Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard Quebec City Downtown Hotel Quebec City
Marriott Quebec City
Quebec City Marriott Downtown
Quebec City Courtyard

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing