We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel des Coutellier
Ranked #12 of 101 Hotels in Quebec City
Certificate of Excellence
San Diego, California
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Fantastic Hotel”
Reviewed December 28, 2005

My boyfriend and I spent the holidays in Quebec City. We stayed at Hotel des Coutellier for 5 nights. I highly recommend staying here. The staff is wonderful - friendly and extremenly helpful with your questions. They can provide directions, book resturant reservations, and have wonderful suggestions on places to visit. The room we stayed in was amazing - very clean and very comfortable beds. One of the best parts is the picnic basket breakfast they leave outside your door every morning. Delicious! Crossiants, Orange Juice, Yogart, Muffins, and Fruit. Parking is right acriss the street. There is also a wonderful indoor farmers market across the street - a must visit. The hotel is conviently located in lower town, but is a quick walk or drive to upper town. The location was perfect. We would stay there again.

  • Stayed December 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Reekas_Travels77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

994 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    747
    212
    24
    10
    1
See reviews for
133
607
23
71
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (133)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kansas City
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed November 24, 2005

We absolutely loved this hotel! It is in a perfect location to Old Town Quebec, in walking distance to excellent resturants, shopping and museums. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The rooms were cozy and comfortable and the delicious breakfast basket gave us something to look forward to when we woke up each morning. It was like having a romantic picnic breakfast in your room each morning. If you are traveling to Quebec City and looking for a great hotel to stay that is in a good location, affordable price range, clean, and comfortable, then stay here, you will not be disappointed. We will definetely stay here again next time we are in Quebec City.

Aaron and Jodie Bonham
Kansas City, USA

  • Stayed October 2005, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank jbonham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, England
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2005

We stayed in this hotel for 2 nights in October 2005.

The staff were friendly and helpful. The hotel is conveniently located close to the train station and just outside the old city walls.

The breakfast basket delivered each morning was a nice touch.

  • Stayed October 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chall32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2005

My husband and I stayed at Hotel des Coutellier for 3 nights earlier this month and loved it. We stayed in the presidential suite, what a beautiful room. The breakfast delivered each morning to our door in the picnic basket was wonderful, a great start to the day. The desk staff were all very nice and helpful which was great since we didn't have a clue where we were going !!! There's so much to see and we were very close to everything. There is a huge indoor market right across the road and the marina is right there as well, and it's only steps away from the Wall (wear good walking shoes - there are a lot of hills to climb). All in all a great vacation and we would definitely stay there again.

Helpful?
5 Thank Barb K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2005

I have read some of the recent comments, and have to agree after staying recently at this Hotel that is very basic for the modern traveller.
The room we stayed in was quite small, and appeared very worn and carpets stained. Although the room was clean, it did appear worn out and smelt of smoke, although we had booked a non-smoking room.
The complimentary breakfast was provided in a basket, which was neat, but it was quite basic.
We did not think the accommodation was worth the amount we paid, as there other much better Hotels in the area, for less money.

Helpful?
4 Thank anany
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nyc
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2005

My mother and I stayed here and enjoyed it. It was quiet and the staff were friendly and helpful. All of our requests were attended to. We ended up going out to breakfast as we didn't find the little basket to be satisfying. The restaurant across the street had a great breakfast, though. I would recommend this hotel to anyone who doesn't mind the walking.

  • Stayed September 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ucpkbl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed September 24, 2005

As a few people noted the desk staff is very attentive to your needs but the hotel could withstand a little freshening. Some of the rooms only have one small window and face a dark alley. Very depressing, so I would ask about your room placement before you arrive. From what I could see there are nicer rooms in the place with lots of light and views. In addition, although most of the room was clean the rugs were filthy-full of spots and stains. Not terribly appetizingly when breakfast is served only in your room. The breakfast basket was really subpar-stale croissants and yogurt. Would be much better if they served you breakfast in the restaurant. The location-not the best but decent. Lots of long walks but thats part of the fun of vacationing. I think for the money one could do better.

  • Stayed September 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Quebec City hotels
0.4 mi away
Le Manoir d'Auteuil
Le Manoir d'Auteuil
#2 of 101 in Quebec City
1,144 reviews
0.4 mi away
Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac
Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac
#17 of 101 in Quebec City
4,254 reviews
0.4 mi away
Auberge Saint-Antoine
Auberge Saint-Antoine
#3 of 101 in Quebec City
2,056 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel 71
Hotel 71
#10 of 101 in Quebec City
1,655 reviews
0.3 mi away
Auberge Place D'Armes
Auberge Place D'Armes
#9 of 101 in Quebec City
1,480 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Manoir Victoria
Hotel Manoir Victoria
#21 of 101 in Quebec City
1,300 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel des Coutellier? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel des Coutellier

Property: Hotel des Coutellier
Address: 253 rue St-Paul | 253, rue St-Paul, Quebec City, Quebec G1K 8C1, Canada
Location: Canada > Quebec > Quebec City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#10 Romantic Hotel in Quebec City
#11 Business Hotel in Quebec City
#15 Family Hotel in Quebec City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel des Coutellier 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in downtown Quebec, in the heart of Old Quebec City, Hotel des Coutellier is one of the nicest and charming Old Port Inn. For a romantic weekend getaway, a hotel meeting, honeymoon or family vacations, one of our hotel package will fulfill your needs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel des Coutellier reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Des Coutellier Hotel
Des Coutellier Quebec City
Hotel Des Coutellier Quebec/Quebec City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing