We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel close to everything”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel des Coutellier
Ranked #11 of 102 Hotels in Quebec City
Certificate of Excellence
Ottawa
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Great hotel close to everything”
Reviewed November 11, 2013

I stayed at this hotel last weekend using a Livingsocial coupon. The deal included champagne and breakfast. Upon arrival we were greeted by friendly staff who was helpful at recommending great choices for restaurants and things to do. ALL recommendations exceeded expectations. Rooms were very clean, updated and comfortable. They even provided free movies as well which is great for families or adults.

Breakfast was hung outside of our door every morning. It included juice, fresh croissants, cakes, yogurt, applesauce, jam's etc.... perfect to start the day. You also have a personal Keurig machine with coffee and tea (bring your own if you want more of a choice).

I would definitely recommend this to anyone visiting Quebec City, walking to the heart of the old city was approx. 5-8 minutes away. Via Rail is also approx. a 10 minute walk and Cruise Terminal is 10 minutes away as well.

One recommendation : More consideration should be taken for those that have a Gluten Allergy or are avoiding Gluten in their diet. I would include special Gluten Free snacks for the morning not just applesauce and Yogurt.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ottyb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,014 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    762
    216
    24
    11
    1
See reviews for
138
618
25
71
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (133)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 1, 2013

We stayed in Quebec City for two nights before we embarked on our Canada/New England cruise. We absolutely loved our stay at Hotel des Coutellier. Our room was lovely and well appointed...much better than expected...not your typical hotel room. The bed was sooooo comfortable. Breakfast delivered to our door each morning. Perfect location for getting on our cruise ship and sightseeing. When we come back to Quebec City we will definitely stay again at the Hotel des Coutellier.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KAGossett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Libertyville, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
130 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2013

We stayed here two nights as a getaway to Quebec City. This hotel is convenient to the Old Port and directly across from the Vieux Marche (old market) so fresh produce and excellent macarons are across the street. The upper city is a pleasant walk, not far at all, and through the old Port. Excellent, pleasant staff.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Okeydokey1956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atascadero, California
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2013

We had a too-short, romantic stay at the Hotel des Coutellier. The hotel's location near the port and the market was perfect for us. There is a stop on the Quebec City on-off tour bus near by, making it easy to see the sites and get a nice overview of the city. The staff was great -- both helpful and friendly. The hotel/room decor added to the romance. I'll come back if I can.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LizHelger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2013 via mobile

Spent 4 nights here in early October,very comfortable. Nice touch having continental breakfast delivered to door,no need to go to breakfast room before a certain time.All the staff were fantastic. Within a easy walk everywhere. We would stay here again.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Sue J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2013

Customer service excellent. Good location to port for those connecting to cruise ship. short walk to station and also tourist areas. No restaurant available so breakfast delivered in picnic style to room, not the same as eating warm and fresh food). Room on small side however lovely and clean.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the back are away from traffic noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank peat2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montana
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2013 via mobile

I think the best aspect to this hotel is their customer service...they obviously care about the experience of their guests. The suite we stayed in was a bit small for a suite...more like one would expect from a European suite. It was mostly clean...but someone before us had opened a can of soda or something that found its way to how wall and floor boards by the bed and this apparently went unnoticed by housekeeping. I'm sure had I said something it would have been taken care of. The room could use a fan or something to help with circulation of air. We asked if they had one but they did not. The breakfast we had for three mornings was good. Parking was great across the street. The area felt very safe to us. I would say we paid too much for the room itself for what it offered...$200 instead of $230 would have made the price-related-to-value more even. But overall I would recommend the hotel...

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank dianeri123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Quebec City hotels
0.4 mi away
Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac
Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac
#18 of 102 in Quebec City
4,374 reviews
0.4 mi away
Le Manoir d'Auteuil
Le Manoir d'Auteuil
#2 of 102 in Quebec City
1,192 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel 71
Hotel 71
#8 of 102 in Quebec City
1,679 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Auberge Saint-Antoine
Auberge Saint-Antoine
#5 of 102 in Quebec City
2,098 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Manoir Victoria
Hotel Manoir Victoria
#21 of 102 in Quebec City
1,338 reviews
0.3 mi away
Auberge Place D'Armes
Auberge Place D'Armes
#10 of 102 in Quebec City
1,508 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel des Coutellier? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel des Coutellier

Property: Hotel des Coutellier
Address: 253 rue St-Paul | 253, rue St-Paul, Quebec City, Quebec G1K 8C1, Canada
Location: Canada > Quebec > Quebec City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#10 Romantic Hotel in Quebec City
#11 Business Hotel in Quebec City
#15 Family Hotel in Quebec City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel des Coutellier 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in downtown Quebec, in the heart of Old Quebec City, Hotel des Coutellier is one of the nicest and charming Old Port Inn. For a romantic weekend getaway, a hotel meeting, honeymoon or family vacations, one of our hotel package will fulfill your needs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel des Coutellier reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Des Coutellier Hotel
Des Coutellier Quebec City
Hotel Des Coutellier Quebec/Quebec City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing