We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Welcoming Staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel des Coutellier
Ranked #9 of 102 Hotels in Quebec City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 10, 2013

The best aspect of this hotel is the staff. They are very warm, welcoming, informed, and competent. That says much about the property because there are other equally impressive points. The rooms are decorated with charm and ambiance. The location is quiet, pretty and near old Quebec (we walked to all the sights). The best part is the breakfast delivered to your door in a little bag. The bag changes every day. Sometimes you have wonderful chocolate croissant, sometimes a regular croissant, and sometimes muffins. Also included in the bag are yogurt, marmalade, coffee and juice. Well done Hotel des Coutellier.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tess C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,077)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

504 - 510 of 1,077 reviews

Reviewed October 8, 2013

We stayed at the Hotel des Coutellier in mid-September. From our first telephone call to our last good-bye, the staff, in particular, Justine St. Denis, remarkable!. She made every effort to make our stay at the hotel and in Quebec City wonderful. Her tour advice and her restaurant suggestions were spot on. Quebec City is so beautiful and exciting, it was a pleasure to return to the hotel after a day of walking. The hotel is in a quaint area, away from the hustle & bustle at the top of the hill, but still within walking distance to great restaurants, galleries and boutiques along rue St. Paul and the attractions on the hill. When we return to QC we will definitely stay at this quaint hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AKD210912
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2013

The rooms were excellently decorated with modern conveniences, minibar and toiletries.
The breakfast was generous by our standards - one large croissant and scone or pastry for each person with butter and jam and milk (for tea/coffee), and cheese or yoghurt during the three days we stayed.
The bilingual staff were very pleasant and were able to give us information on the local facilities.
The internet was very fast anytime we used the wifi.
Out the door to the left were bike rental and many restaurants within 5-10 min walk.
Across the street was the Farmers Market stocked with awesome fall produce - I think autumn/fall is the best time to go for best fruit/vegetables, while cheeses, liquers, preserves and the like must be there all year.
Out the door to the right are numerous shops and the hill walks up to the Upper Town.
Our personal experience was that people were very friendly, and sales people selling food products always ensured you had the maximum information to enjoy the use of their product. This seems to be a French and Quebecois trait, and one reason any foodie should visit Quebec in general, and the Farmer's Market, in our experience.
We also considered the restaurants along the hotel's street to be very economically priced, so that value for money far exceeded typical restaurant meals in many places I've been around the world - from capital to small cities.
Finally, your holiday is what you make of it - engage the people in a friendly manner, and you will really enjoy the hotel, its staff, and Quebec City.

Room Tip: Connecting rooms are available, book in advance and make a request. My wife and I took my Mom, and w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 1969AMS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2013

This boutique hotel was a highlight of our recent ladies' trip to Quebec. The location was perfect, rooms were lovely, and the staff were attentive to our every request. I can not remember when I have stayed at a hotel with better customer service from the front desk. When we had questions one evening about the air conditioner in our room, not only did the front desk clerk come to help us, but the owner as well ! Our rooms were very well appointed as mentioned by other reviewers and I liked the decor...perfect for a boutique hotel. I will definitely recommend this hotel to my friends, and I even hope to return myself one day. Thank you Hotel des Coutellier.

Room Tip: We were in a corner suite with an adjoining room. Perfect
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ladeda15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2013

This is a well maintained boutique hotel with nicely appointed rooms. Rooms are reasonably sized and clean.

There is an included continental breakfast each morning. A bag containing a pastry and muffin, and yoghurt or fruit is put outside the room at 7 each morning. The room has a Keurig coffee making facility.

It is an easy 10-15 minute walk (but quiet at night) into Old Quebec.

It is a 5 minute walk to the VIA rail station.

Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank connoisseurc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2013

Boutique hotel in Old Port. The rooms were spacious, for a boutique style hotel and very clean. The front desk workers were friendly and spoke English or French fluently. the hotel was near everything, Farmers Market, wharf, bike rentals, shops, restaurants and a 10 min walk to Old Quebec which made it nice as you were away from the crowds.

Room Tip: Our room was on the back side which was probably quieter, as front has a busier street and a bar nex...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MBKcalgary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2013

When visiting Québec City, the question is: should one stay in the Upper City or the Lower? Hotel des Coutellier splits the difference beautifully: it's in the lower city on the picturesque, antiques-filled Rue St. Paul, but a relatively easy hill climb to the upper city is just behind the hotel and you can be up there in less than 10 minutes. The hotel is also in a quieter, less-tourist-clogged part of town, which is another bonus.
We loved the comfortable, sophisticated rooms with their super-comfy beds and plush terry robes (I actually bought one to take home). The continental breakfast basket was also delightful in the mornings with more than enough to eat (yummy croissants!). And the staff was extra nice — making good suggestions for meals and even binding up my husband's scraped arm when he fell (that accident was NOT at the hotel).
We will definitely return to the Coutellier; we can't imagine a better home in beautiful QC. This hotel goes the extra mile in every way.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mezzomagic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Quebec City hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel du Vieux-Quebec
Hotel du Vieux-Quebec
#1 of 102 in Quebec City
1,688 reviews
0.4 mi away
Le Manoir d'Auteuil
Le Manoir d'Auteuil
#2 of 102 in Quebec City
1,311 reviews
0.4 mi away
Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac
Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac
#18 of 102 in Quebec City
4,790 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Auberge Saint-Antoine
Auberge Saint-Antoine
#5 of 102 in Quebec City
2,219 reviews
0.3 mi away
Auberge Place D'Armes
Auberge Place D'Armes
#8 of 102 in Quebec City
1,606 reviews
0.5 mi away
Chateau Fleur de Lys - L'HOTEL
Chateau Fleur de Lys - L'HOTEL
#7 of 102 in Quebec City
605 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel des Coutellier? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel des Coutellier

Address: 253 rue St-Paul | 253, rue St-Paul, Quebec City, Quebec G1K 8C1, Canada
Location: Canada > Quebec > Quebec City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#10 Romantic Hotel in Quebec City
#11 Business Hotel in Quebec City
#15 Family Hotel in Quebec City
Price Range: $123 - $263 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel des Coutellier 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in downtown Quebec, in the heart of Old Quebec City, Hotel des Coutellier is one of the nicest and charming Old Port Inn. For a romantic weekend getaway, a hotel meeting, honeymoon or family vacations, one of our hotel package will fulfill your needs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel des Coutellier reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Des Coutellier Hotel
Des Coutellier Quebec City
Hotel Des Coutellier Quebec/Quebec City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing