We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Elegant, impressive accommodation” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel des Coutellier

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel des Coutellier
Ranked #13 of 101 Hotels in Quebec City
Certificate of Excellence
Grande Prairie, Canada
1 review
“Elegant, impressive accommodation”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2013

Had a fantastic 3-night stay. The room decor blew us away. It was so beautifully decorated, with extra attention to detail and comfort. The breakfast that was hung on our door each morning was delicious and also very romantic to enjoy together in our room. The hotel staff were very friendly and made a special effort to speak English as we did not speak French. We would return in a heartbeat and recommend to all our friends

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LouiseBluegrass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

891 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    666
    191
    23
    10
    1
See reviews for
116
546
21
59
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (132)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Malvern, Pennsylvania
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2013

Our room was spotless. The staff couldn't be more helpful recommending great resturants and making dinner reservations for us. Each morning we were greeted with a continental breakfast featuring fresh pastry, jellies, and juice or yogurt which was hung in an insulated bag on a hook outside our door. Our room had a Kurig coffee maker. There is a bike rental store just a block away. The city has great bike paths which our friend enjoyed. We were able to pick up our Hertz Rental car several blocks away. All in all an awesome hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank marfg2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
101 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2013 via mobile

I'm always a little anxious about staying at very small, unbranded boutique hotels, but this hotel is fantastic. Front desk staff was always friendly and helpful. The rooms are nicely decorated and come with all of the amenities you'd find at a luxury hotel. The hotel seemed busy, but it was very quiet. The breakfast delivered to the door in the morning was surprisingly good and a clever idea. Overall, a wonderful 3 nights.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank DRBSFM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roseburg, Oregon
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2013

My first trip to Quebec City and this hotel made the experience a complete success. Location was ideal. Across the street from the farmer's market and waterfront, a quick walk up the street behind the hotel and you are in the old city and all the wonderful things it offers, out the front door turn right and you have restaurants, antique shops and art galleries. Room was comfortable with a large bathroom. The one window in the room opened to let in fresh air and I fell asleep as soon as my head hit the pillow. A breakfast bag was delivered to our room every morning that included extra yogurt, applesauce and cheese for me due to my gluten free diet. My husband enjoyed the baked goods, jam, orange juice and yogurt. Did I mention Justine? Well she was amazing answered all our questions helped with restaurant suggestions and was so pleasant we need a Justine at every hotel we visit when we travel the world. One very small suggestion I would make for the hotel and that is a fan in every room outside of that it was perfection we would/will definitely stay again on our next visit.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back of the hotel for less traffic noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2013

After extensive research from Trip Advisor and around the web, we found this hotel and booked it. I had reasonable expectations but the room was better than expected. We had booked a classic room but it was bigger than we expected and the space was well used. The bathroom, in particular, was spacious and had great fluffy towels and nice toiletries, including little extras such as make-up removing toilettes and a massage bar. I've stayed in 5-star hotels in Quebec City before and haven't seen that. The staff was very helpful and we had excellent customer service. I had emailed the hotel prior to our stay and they were very quick to reply and to assist us.

The location was very good, in close proximity to everything if you don't mind a walk. Quebec is a walking city though so bring comfy shoes! The parking is across the street from the hotel and we had in and out privileges. For 10$ a day, it's a great value.

One small suggestion for improvement is that the rooms were air conditioned however we couldn't make the rooms colder and at night, we were warm. Luckily, the windows open (rare in hotel rooms). Also, we had a room with a kitchenette (microwave, microwave oven and fridge) that was stocked with flatware, drink ware and wine glasses but no silverware. It would have been really nice to have some cutlery in the room since we ate in one night.

All in all, for our money, we had a great stay and it was very comfortable. We had a I wouldn't hesitate to stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank earlyontuesday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2013

Great location on in the old port area - quiet, close to restaurants and the the old city, amenities include soft robes, large bath sheets, continental breakfast delivered to your door. Manager and other staff willingly offered suggestions for restaurants and sights as well as helpful map and directions

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank supersam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellesley, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
52 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2013

We visited Quebec City in mid August 2013 with 4 other couples. We all stayed here on advice from one of our party who is French speaking Canadian. We were delighted with the location and the ammenities of the hotel. The staff is helpful and attentive and the rooms are comfortable and clean. They provide a nice continental breakfast (Delicious bakery goods Croissants, scones, muffin, fruit or yogurt) which is delivered to each room each morning. Some rooms have microwave and refrigeration. The building is ancient but looks recently remodeled and feels very upscale. There is no ice down the hall and it does not appear to be at all handicapped accessible.
I would not recommend for younger families either, as there is no kid oriented area. For adults who are in reasonably good shape I would not hesitate to recommend it. You need to walk when you are in QC and there are plenty of great shops and eateries nearby (seaport, farmers market and train station where there are several nice upscale restaurants), but much of the old city is a healthy walk up a steep hill. Or you can take the Funicular tram to the top of the hill for a few Loonies. We stayed 3 nights and were delighted. We did not eat at the hotel cafe/restaurand but I noticed that it was usually full at meal times. The weather was a bit cool while we were there but we did not get rained upon. The check-in may be tricky as you need to park on the side walk to bring luggage in, up several stairs -no ramp. You park across the street for $10 per night. We never used the car in 3 days.
I would definitely choose this hotel next time I return to QC.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank denoonan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Quebec City hotels
0.4 mi away
Le Manoir d'Auteuil
Le Manoir d'Auteuil
#2 of 101 in Quebec City
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,050 reviews
0.4 mi away
Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac
Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac
#15 of 101 in Quebec City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,912 reviews
0.4 mi away
Auberge Saint-Antoine
Auberge Saint-Antoine
#3 of 101 in Quebec City
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,907 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Auberge Place D'Armes
Auberge Place D'Armes
#8 of 101 in Quebec City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,372 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel du Vieux-Quebec
Hotel du Vieux-Quebec
#1 of 101 in Quebec City
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,455 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Le Priori
Hotel Le Priori
#6 of 101 in Quebec City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,019 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel des Coutellier? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel des Coutellier

Property: Hotel des Coutellier
Address: 253 rue St-Paul | 253, rue St-Paul, Quebec City, Quebec G1K 8C1, Canada
Location: Canada > Quebec > Quebec City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#10 Romantic Hotel in Quebec City
#11 Business Hotel in Quebec City
#15 Family Hotel in Quebec City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel des Coutellier 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in downtown Quebec, in the heart of Old Quebec City, Hotel des Coutellier is one of the nicest and charming Old Port Inn. For a romantic weekend getaway, a hotel meeting, honeymoon or family vacations, one of our hotel package will fulfill your needs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Reservation Counter and Despegar.com so you can book your Hotel des Coutellier reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Des Coutellier Hotel
Des Coutellier Quebec City
Hotel Des Coutellier Quebec/Quebec City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing