We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A truly satisfying hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel des Coutellier
Ranked #8 of 102 Hotels in Quebec City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 24, 2013

My wife and I stayed two nights in Coutellier. I cannot not say enough good things about this hotel. It's location is excellent: very close to all the important sights in the Old Quebec, yet is away from the usual tourist crowd. There is even a convenient parking right across the street. Every aspects of the hotel are thoughtfully designed --- functional and beautiful. All the staff are unfailingly courteous and go out of their way to be helpful. We will definitely stay in this hotel again when we visit Quebec again.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ovi82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,080)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

529 - 535 of 1,080 reviews

Reviewed July 24, 2013

This is a very nice, modern Euro style hotel located in the lower part of town. Easy walk to good restaurants, galleries, and very neat farmers mkt across the street. Parking is nearby at $10 per night and works well. This is pretty much a self-service hotel, but want to note that the people at the front desk are exceptionally helpful. Only complaint is that the pastries in the morning leave much to be desired. Mgt should brainstorm how to improve freshness and crispness of croissants.
Apart from this, highly recommend this friendly and efficient hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Woodstock05091
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2013

We wouldn't think of staying anywhere else in Quebec City. Great location for exploring on foot the beauty of old Quebec, friendly and helpful staff, beautifully maintained property......we couldn't have asked for anything more......I'm certain if we had, the staff would have made every attempt to provide it.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Travelers1234578
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2013

Vraiment bien.
Let me start by saying, that the air conditioning broke during our stay on a very hot day. BUT none of it affected the trip because they dealt with it in the best manner. We left happy.
The rooms are beautiful (we took the presidential), the service very nice. Love the details in the service. Location is amasing. Price is good for all the things you get.

Thank you!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank juspamplemousse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2013

Perfect location in old Quebec, off the busy touristy streets. Close to everything. Make sure you walk along the St.Paul street towards the port - bunch of nice restaurants and shops!
About Hotel itself. Nice but small rooms, definitely not for families with children (saw some reviews with complains). Clean overall, beautiful bathrooms, attentive personnel. Not sure the breakfast at the door is the greatest idea, but better then nothing. Only complain - the noise from the delivery trucks in the morning (probably for the 2 restaurants in the same building). Otherwise - great stay. Would return.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Elena_Boston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2013

Great location without being in the tourist area, and just outside the old city walls...about a 10 minute walk. There is a farmers market just across the street. We stayed 4 nights and our room was a Superior King which by hotel standards is a little smaller, but cosy and probably standard in size for a boutique hotel. Personal and friendly service. DVD rentals were free. The continental breakfast was delivered which we didn't particularly like. However, there are cafes in the area if you want a full breakfast. like bacon and eggs, omelette etc. If you want a great brunch, go to Cafe du Monde which is a 10 minute walk.

Room Tip: The largest room here is the King Suite which is nicely appointed. If budget is not a problem, book...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JohnNelsonBay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2013

This hotel is well suited for a visit to Quebec. With convenient access to the lower part of old town, and a short walk to the upper part, it is well located.

The staff were extremely helpful with everything.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank loren17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Quebec City hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel du Vieux-Quebec
Hotel du Vieux-Quebec
#1 of 102 in Quebec City
1,691 reviews
0.4 mi away
Le Manoir d'Auteuil
Le Manoir d'Auteuil
#2 of 102 in Quebec City
1,313 reviews
0.4 mi away
Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac
Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac
#18 of 102 in Quebec City
4,809 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Auberge Saint-Antoine
Auberge Saint-Antoine
#5 of 102 in Quebec City
2,218 reviews
0.3 mi away
Auberge Place D'Armes
Auberge Place D'Armes
#9 of 102 in Quebec City
1,609 reviews
0.5 mi away
Chateau Fleur de Lys - L'HOTEL
Chateau Fleur de Lys - L'HOTEL
#7 of 102 in Quebec City
606 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel des Coutellier? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel des Coutellier

Address: 253 rue St-Paul | 253, rue St-Paul, Quebec City, Quebec G1K 8C1, Canada
Location: Canada > Quebec > Quebec City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#10 Romantic Hotel in Quebec City
#11 Business Hotel in Quebec City
#15 Family Hotel in Quebec City
Price Range: $123 - $268 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel des Coutellier 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in downtown Quebec, in the heart of Old Quebec City, Hotel des Coutellier is one of the nicest and charming Old Port Inn. For a romantic weekend getaway, a hotel meeting, honeymoon or family vacations, one of our hotel package will fulfill your needs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel des Coutellier reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Des Coutellier Hotel
Des Coutellier Quebec City
Hotel Des Coutellier Quebec/Quebec City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing