We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel des Coutellier
Ranked #8 of 100 Hotels in Quebec City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 7, 2013

From the time we entered the lobby this hotel ticked all the boxes for me. The lobby decor is beautiful, stone wall, fireplace, with coffee/tea, muffins, croissants, and fruit available. The front desk staff are very friendly and spoke very good english. The room decor did not disappoint either, our room was not large but big enough, with a keurig and coffee and green tea. However, my husband drinks orange pekoe or english breakfast tea neither of which was available for the keurig, this was disappointing when we sat down to enjoy our breakfast bag. They provided glass stemware (a must in a good hotel for me), mugs, and small plates in the room to be used with your breakfast bag as well. The breakfast bag is an awesome idea, as others have said it is placed outside your door at 7am on a hook. The first morning we had two orange juice, two croissants, two muffins and two apple sauce with jam and butter. The second day it was the same but with yogurt instead of apple sauce, the breakfast bag was a perfect start to the day. The room also came equiped with very nice fulffy robes. The bathroom was very nice, beautiful large fluffy towels (another must in a good hotel for me), the shower head was large and very nice.
One of the days we stayed it rained very hard and after a few hours of walking in the rain we decided to just give in and go back to our room. We got a movie from the front desk and sat in with some wine and snacks, I thought it was a very nice touch to provide movies for such times as when the weather doesn't fit into your plans.
Overall, this hotel ticked all the boxes and we would return, we have already recommended this hotel and will continue to recommend it to family and friends.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NovaScotiaHeatseeker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,085)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

539 - 545 of 1,086 reviews

Reviewed July 2, 2013

POSITIVES:

The staff were bilingual and it was easy to communicate in English, even though I wanted to practice my French. It was in a relatively good location just outside of the Old City and basically everything I wanted was within walking distance (did not take a cab or transit at all). The room prices were excellent for the amenities and the rooms seemed like they had been recently updated...very nice! The beds and pillows were very comfortable, the shower head was large and great for a hot shower after a long day, there was a mini-fridge, mini-bar (did not use), microwave, large toaster oven, bowls, utensils, mugs, cups, a Keurig machine, etc. If I was with my boyfriend, we could have easily stayed in the hotel without a regard for what was happening outside! There is English and French television, and a bedside stands that also detaches to be a breakfast tray if you'd like to eat in bed. They deliver a basic (but good) breakfast to your door at 7am, but they just hang it on the hook beside your door for you to access when you wake up. There is also free coffee/tea to make with the Keurig. Overall, a lovely stay in a beautiful city! But be sure to bring your walking shoes! Those hills are killer! :)

...and the "LESS POSITIVES":

I wish you could choose what kind of breakfast you wanted. For example, we were given vanilla and peach yogurt the one day, but I can't eat either of those. I also wish there was an option for K-cups, we had one green tea, one espresso, and one other "blend", but it would have been nice to have at least two of each so we could both have the same, if we wanted.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ashlyne O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2013

We just returned to Massachusetts after four nights in Quebec City. This hotel was perfect in all respects. The rooms were tastefully done (we had a superior king). We walked everywhere from this hotel---walked to the ferry to cross the river, took a long walk to the Plains of Abraham (climbed the 386 stairs!), all restaurants and museums within walking distance...hotel staff were so friendly and willing to offer suggestions for lunch/dinner, sightseeing, etc. ...the breakfast prepared for us every morning (found outside our door in an insulated bag was just enough to jump start our day! We highly recommend the Hotel des Coutellier!

Room Tip: Book early...this hotel is getting great reviews!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rws3634
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2013

Lovely little place to stay in Quebec City. Reception staff are exceptionally friendly and helpful. We were orientated to the area and taken outside to be shown where to catch a bus. The room was clean, fresh and ever so comfortable. The bathroom was well supplied and clean.
The location was great such that one could walk comfortably through interesting streets to the lower town and walk back down from the upper town.
I would stay here again and recommend this hotel to anyone.
The price was worth every cent.

Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
Thank S D C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jean-Sebastien_Page, General Manager at Hotel des Coutellier, responded to this reviewResponded June 27, 2013

Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay at our Hotel. We are pleased to know that your visit was very enjoyable.

We look forward to serve you again soon and we are happy to consider you among our distinguished customers.

Jean-Sébastien Pagé
General manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2013

Great location!Walking distance from VIA station, bus station and local bus stops:)
I could access to everywhere very easily and port is near:)

The local bus stop is just 1 minute walk, the bus 400 which is going to the Quebec Aquarium!

Staffs are very friendly and room was very very nice.
Breakfast is delivered at the door and we can eat in the room, set up coffees,
plates with lovely meal :)

I will definitely stay here next time visiting!

Room Tip: If someone trip by VIA or BUS, it will be very easy to access. Also the superior room can be very r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MegMeg1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2013

Very comfortable & clean hotel with spacious rooms. The staff are very helpful. Loved the extra goodies to eat & drink in the foyer. Easy walking distance to city & plenty of restaurants nearby. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Judy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2013

I'm sad to say that our stay at this charming hotel is coming to an end! This has been a very pleasant experience. The cheery front desk staff and the wonderful room attendant whom we saw every day made it extra special. How nice to be greeted warmly and given every bit of help and information that we needed. I just wish that the hotel management at every hotel could learn that lesson: Service and friendliness do mean a lot to guests! This hotel staff and management has learned it well. By the way, every person that we talked to at the front desk spoke perfect English. I only wish that my French were half as good as their English.

This is not a cookie cutter chain hotel. It’s an older hotel that’s been nicely renovated. Our room had an irregular shape, an exposed brick wall, good linens,and a nice flat screen TV. The bathroom was modern with a good shower. We found the wireless connections fine, and the desk in the room was perfect for setting up our laptop.

In the small lobby we enjoyed iced tea and fruit each day.

To know before you go:

1.The hotel is very near their pretty Gar du Palais train and bus station. (Yes, I did say pretty!) You’re only about four blocks away from the train, and the area, unlike most city train station areas, is really very nice. We took advantage of this location to take the train to Montreal for a couple of days. Very, very convenient. If you need to grab something for breakfast or lunch before getting the train or bus, there are several places right at the train station that are reasonably priced.

2. It’s also within about half a mile of the port where cruise ships dock.

3. The hotel is located in the “Lower Town.” If you’re walking around, you’ll be walking uphill quite a bit, but that is Quebec. It’s just a short walk to the center of Old Town. The hotel is on a fairly busy road, but we had no problem AT ALL with noise from the road. I think that the rooms are pretty quiet, but If you’re extra sensitive to noise, you might want to ask for a room in back.

4. There are little cafes nearby.

5. We took full advantage of a Metro market a few blocks away for snacks and drinks, and there’s an SAQ wine mart nearby too. We did find that this wine store has a good selection but also rather high prices. We found better deals on wine at the Metro market.

6. There’s also a pharmacy in that general area.

7. The hotel has no restaurant, but as others have said, your continental breakfast (in an insulated bag) is delivered to your door each morning at 7 a.m. It’s hung on a hook just outside your room for you to retrieve when you wake up. We enjoyed the Keurig coffee maker in our room to make tea or coffee.

8. Rooms are very clean and the bed was comfy. Bathroom was modern and convenient. Blow dryer and the usual toiletries were supplied.

Would we return to this hotel? Absolutely! It was a lovely stay here, and we’d be only too happy to return. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PatRemA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jean-Sebastien_Page, General Manager at Hotel des Coutellier, responded to this reviewResponded June 27, 2013

Wow! Thit is quite a review... Thank you and we hope to have the pleasure to welcome you again!

Jean-Sébastien Pagé

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Quebec City hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel du Vieux-Quebec
Hotel du Vieux-Quebec
#1 of 100 in Quebec City
1,702 reviews
0.4 mi away
Le Manoir d'Auteuil
Le Manoir d'Auteuil
#3 of 100 in Quebec City
1,322 reviews
0.4 mi away
Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac
Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac
#18 of 100 in Quebec City
4,864 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Auberge Saint-Antoine
Auberge Saint-Antoine
#5 of 100 in Quebec City
2,225 reviews
1 mi away
Auberge Aux Deux Lions
Auberge Aux Deux Lions
#4 of 100 in Quebec City
1,007 reviews
0.3 mi away
Le Champlain Hotel
Le Champlain Hotel
#16 of 100 in Quebec City
2,144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel des Coutellier? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel des Coutellier

Address: 253 rue St-Paul | 253, rue St-Paul, Quebec City, Quebec G1K 8C1, Canada
Location: Canada > Quebec > Quebec City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#10 Romantic Hotel in Quebec City
#11 Business Hotel in Quebec City
#15 Family Hotel in Quebec City
Price Range: $122 - $281 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel des Coutellier 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in downtown Quebec, in the heart of Old Quebec City, Hotel des Coutellier is one of the nicest and charming Old Port Inn. For a romantic weekend getaway, a hotel meeting, honeymoon or family vacations, one of our hotel package will fulfill your needs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel des Coutellier reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Des Coutellier Hotel
Des Coutellier Quebec City
Hotel Des Coutellier Quebec/Quebec City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing