We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel, convenient for city & stations”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel des Coutellier
Ranked #8 of 101 Hotels in Quebec City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 24, 2013

Very comfortable & clean hotel with spacious rooms. The staff are very helpful. Loved the extra goodies to eat & drink in the foyer. Easy walking distance to city & plenty of restaurants nearby. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Judy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,126)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

570 - 576 of 1,126 reviews

Reviewed June 21, 2013

I'm sad to say that our stay at this charming hotel is coming to an end! This has been a very pleasant experience. The cheery front desk staff and the wonderful room attendant whom we saw every day made it extra special. How nice to be greeted warmly and given every bit of help and information that we needed. I just wish that the hotel management at every hotel could learn that lesson: Service and friendliness do mean a lot to guests! This hotel staff and management has learned it well. By the way, every person that we talked to at the front desk spoke perfect English. I only wish that my French were half as good as their English.

This is not a cookie cutter chain hotel. It’s an older hotel that’s been nicely renovated. Our room had an irregular shape, an exposed brick wall, good linens,and a nice flat screen TV. The bathroom was modern with a good shower. We found the wireless connections fine, and the desk in the room was perfect for setting up our laptop.

In the small lobby we enjoyed iced tea and fruit each day.

To know before you go:

1.The hotel is very near their pretty Gar du Palais train and bus station. (Yes, I did say pretty!) You’re only about four blocks away from the train, and the area, unlike most city train station areas, is really very nice. We took advantage of this location to take the train to Montreal for a couple of days. Very, very convenient. If you need to grab something for breakfast or lunch before getting the train or bus, there are several places right at the train station that are reasonably priced.

2. It’s also within about half a mile of the port where cruise ships dock.

3. The hotel is located in the “Lower Town.” If you’re walking around, you’ll be walking uphill quite a bit, but that is Quebec. It’s just a short walk to the center of Old Town. The hotel is on a fairly busy road, but we had no problem AT ALL with noise from the road. I think that the rooms are pretty quiet, but If you’re extra sensitive to noise, you might want to ask for a room in back.

4. There are little cafes nearby.

5. We took full advantage of a Metro market a few blocks away for snacks and drinks, and there’s an SAQ wine mart nearby too. We did find that this wine store has a good selection but also rather high prices. We found better deals on wine at the Metro market.

6. There’s also a pharmacy in that general area.

7. The hotel has no restaurant, but as others have said, your continental breakfast (in an insulated bag) is delivered to your door each morning at 7 a.m. It’s hung on a hook just outside your room for you to retrieve when you wake up. We enjoyed the Keurig coffee maker in our room to make tea or coffee.

8. Rooms are very clean and the bed was comfy. Bathroom was modern and convenient. Blow dryer and the usual toiletries were supplied.

Would we return to this hotel? Absolutely! It was a lovely stay here, and we’d be only too happy to return. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PatRemA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jean-Sebastien_Page, General Manager at Hotel des Coutellier, responded to this reviewResponded June 27, 2013

Wow! Thit is quite a review... Thank you and we hope to have the pleasure to welcome you again!

Jean-Sébastien Pagé

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2013

Hotel des Coutellier is modern, clean, five minutes from the train station and Lower Quebec City.
The staff is lovely, and continental breakfast "hanging" on the door starts the day easily.
Great beds - A perfect place to stay while exploring.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kathleen F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2013

The room was spotless. The personnel were very friendly and helpful. You will enjoy your stay here. The room was spacious and the king size bed very comfortable. The market across the street was fun. I would probably pass on the boat trip.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jnj661
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2013

This hotel did not disappoint. A standard room was very comfortable and well appointed with all the facilities you would need. The bed was very comfortable, the linen and towels of an excellent standard. Clean and comfortable and well maintained.
The extra special touches were the door hung continental breakfast everyday, fresh breads/croissants juices all packed into a bag to grab upon waiting from the front door. Just cute and a great touch. There was also hot fruit teas served daily in reception. I honestly though this was excellent value for money with friendly staff and the location was good for exploring the city.
Congratulations to the management and the team here for such a great product offering!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank simonr78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2013

The Romantic Suite was every bit as gorgeous as the website promised. I didn't expect the location to be so convenient. It was only a 5-10 minute walk to the heart of the lower city's shops and restaurants. It was also directly across from the food market and illuminated grain silos. The parking lot across the street was very convenient and priced competitively. The breakfast was tasty, and it was nice not having to get up at a certain hour to avoid a restaurant closing. The staff was very helpful and uniformly pleasant. There were tea, fruit, and croissants set out in the lobby throughout the day. The room was significantly cheaper than those found in the heart of the lower city, and superior to any room at Chateau Frontenac. I would definitely go back, and have recommended the hotel to family and friends.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David_in_Arlington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2013

Our experience at Hotel des Coutellier was very positive overall. The hotel is located in the "lower" section of Quebec City with an easy walk to the upper "old town" tourist sections via the road behind the hotel. The location is perfect. The rooms were very nice, modern and well appointed, and large. The price was reasonble and a continental breakfast in a basket hung, each morning, outside the room was included in the price. If you want a good quality hotel, not in the "old town" but within walking distance of it, this is a very good choice.

On entering the front door, there are about 6 steps one must take to get to the lobby and elevator.

Room Tip: we had a room on the 4th floor facing the street; it had a good view and was quiet. The elevator wa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Heinz G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Quebec City hotels
0.4 mi away
Auberge Saint-Antoine
Auberge Saint-Antoine
#5 of 101 in Quebec City
2,270 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel du Vieux-Quebec
Hotel du Vieux-Quebec
#1 of 101 in Quebec City
1,742 reviews
1 mi away
Auberge Aux Deux Lions
Auberge Aux Deux Lions
#4 of 101 in Quebec City
1,018 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac
Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac
#18 of 101 in Quebec City
5,063 reviews
0.4 mi away
Le Manoir d'Auteuil
Le Manoir d'Auteuil
#3 of 101 in Quebec City
1,367 reviews
0.5 mi away
Chateau Fleur de Lys - L'HOTEL
Chateau Fleur de Lys - L'HOTEL
#7 of 101 in Quebec City
622 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel des Coutellier? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel des Coutellier

Address: 253 rue St-Paul | 253, rue St-Paul, Quebec City, Quebec G1K 8C1, Canada
Location: Canada > Quebec > Quebec City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#10 Romantic Hotel in Quebec City
#11 Business Hotel in Quebec City
Price Range: $125 - $291 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel des Coutellier 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in downtown Quebec, in the heart of Old Quebec City, Hotel des Coutellier is one of the nicest and charming Old Port Inn. For a romantic weekend getaway, a hotel meeting, honeymoon or family vacations, one of our hotel package will fulfill your needs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity and Hotwire so you can book your Hotel des Coutellier reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Des Coutellier Hotel
Des Coutellier Quebec City
Hotel Des Coutellier Quebec/Quebec City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing