We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel des Coutellier
Ranked #12 of 101 Hotels in Quebec City
Certificate of Excellence
Tillsonburg, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Beautiful Hotel”
Reviewed November 7, 2012

We stayed in this beautiful Hotel for 5 nights while on holiday with friends. The location is really great. You can walk to any of the restaurants or shopping. It is uphill to get to centre of town but we used that as our daily exercise. The front desk was very attentive, courteous, and helpfull with suggestions of things to do and places to see. Check in was quick and as requested our rooms were on the same floor near each other. The rooms were very new and clean. The bedding was wonderful and comfortable. Our room had an exposed brick wall that was a nice touch. The house keeping staff are very good, unintrusive, and so much fun. The bars and cafes along the streets are all close by. There was a market across the street that was really great. You could find almost anything there. We shopped there and had our own appetizer and wine dinner in our room. The Cirque De Soleil does an outdoor show just down the street that is free and fun to watch. I would definately recommend this Hotel to others and would absolutely return for another stay. You can't go wrong with location, price, cleanliness, courteousness and ambiance of this Hotel.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ntlch06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

995 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    748
    212
    24
    10
    1
See reviews for
133
608
23
71
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (133)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
dallas, tx
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012

This is a charming, updated very cozy and comfortable place to stay. It is 10-15 walking distance to all the major attractions. But, it requires walking uphill to get to the center of town and many tourist activities, if that is an issue I believe there is Bus, and a smaller electric bus alternative that I have seen pass by.
Everything in the room is clean and new, bathroom is very clean and modern with oversized shower head. Comfortable bed, clean linens and towels
Front desk is very courteous and attentive, Continental Breakfast in the sac was decent.
My room was on the back side it was quite except for this banging construction noise that could be heard late in the night, not sure if that is coming from the hotel or outside, didn't even bother to ask/complain since everything was almost perfect!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mstmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakewood, CA
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012

The hotel was beautiful with a lot of attention to details that you normally find only at luxury hotels but this hotel was very reasonably priced. After seven nights on a cruise ship the room seemed palatial. The staff were very helpful and accommodated our early arrival. Definitely recommend this hotel to others.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nebulaq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
santiago
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2012

On the edge of the old town.
Two bar/restaurants on each side of the hotel.
Near many great restaurants, and parking across the street for only $9.
Room was great, and with small kitchen if one wanted to buy ones groceries.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank corbovit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 5 Contributor
44 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2012

This is a charming little boutique hotel located near the port/cruise terminal area, along the Rue Saint Paul street which has a number of good restaurants and art galleries. It's a short ten minutes walk to the old town.

The hotel looks really small from the outside but the interior has good stylish modern design. The rooms are a little small but the same nice design carries throughout. There is a surprisingly deep bathtub and nice shower. They make up for the lack of facilities by having a breakfast service (croissants, yogurt, orange juice) hung outside your door in the early morning, a good coffee machine, DVD rental. The staff have good recommendations for food, and are very pleasant. We thought this was a hotel with good value for money and would recommend staying here again for a short trip.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank forestmuse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2012

We booked this hotel for a 1 night post-cruise stay in Quebec City. This hotel is located in the lower town, close to the cruiseport.

Since we also had an overnight stay on the ship, we checked out the location of the hotel soon after the ship’s arrival in port. This hotel was literally right up the street from our ship’s dock location. We judged it to be a little over a quarter mile from the ship and concluded that it was walkable.

Unfortunately, the next morning turned out quite rainy, so we opted to take a short cab ride to the hotel. The cab was about $5 plus the tip. We arrived at the hotel before 10AM and knew that we would be able to drop our luggage and continue our exploration of Quebec City before checking in. Right after we arrived, another 3 couples from the ship also arrived at the hotel to drop off their luggage. It soon became a little chaotic as the desk clerk, Chrystelle, working alone, had to deal with folks checking out as well as the group dropping off the luggage. We all pitched in and helped with the transfer of the luggage to the downstairs storage room. Chrystelle was a delight and remained cheerful as she helped the new arrivals with directions and restaurant reservations in addition to coordinating the luggage storage.

Chrystelle sent a text message at about 2PM to advise us that our room was ready. After a nice lunch in the upper town and a little more exploring, we headed back to the hotel and checked in at about 4. Our luggage had been placed in the room, evidently by Chrystelle. We had a very nice king room that exceeded our expectations. The room was larger than expected. As my wife says, the room had a number of “nice touches” including the bath products and bathrobes. The bag breakfast and Keurig coffee maker helped us start our day for our flight home.

This hotel has an excellent location for exploring Quebec City. Rue St. Paul is a very nice street with several restaurants (we enjoyed Mistral Gagnant) and stores. The hotel is located near the sites of the lower town and is very close to the local market. The funicular leading to the upper town is about a 15 minute walk away.

We enjoyed our time in Quebec City and hope to return and stay for a longer visit at the Hotel des Coutellier.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RichL46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
1 review
Reviewed October 2, 2012

This place exceeded my expectations. It's not an ultra fancy joint, just well put together, warmly staffed, and complete with little surprises. Simple and clean, it's not about the location or physical amenities, but rather the effort the crew puts towards making you feel like a valued guest.

In one spectrum of the current global hospitality, the trend is towards cost-cutting, meaning guest experiences are simply "to-the-point" (something hotels love to extol as a virtue in this busy era, particularly to business travelers). Des Coutellier, however, stocks its washrooms with much appreciated jars of makeup removal essentials, placed atop a tastefully well lit counter.

The pillows were firm enough for a night's rest, and the curtains blocked out daylight which normally gave a good atmosphere to the room (the leafy tree outside the window felt homely).
The bathrobes felt rich and substantial.

Of course, waking up to basket of croissants and juice hung just outside your door at your convenience every morning was the kicker. We won't belabor this point, as other reviewers provide great pictures of the joyful way we started every day. This was the best "detail" we refer to. Unlike breakfasts where you meander downstairs to have the same range of food, you never know what you'll get tomorrow morning.

Room Tip: We stayed on the 2nd floor, in their most basic room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jack W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jean-Sebastien_Page, General Manager at Hotel des Coutellier, responded to this review, October 9, 2012
Hello Sir,

We are very glad that you had a great experience in Quebec City and we are proud to be part of your best memories!

Come back anytime!

Jean-Sebastien Page, General manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Quebec City hotels
0.4 mi away
Le Manoir d'Auteuil
Le Manoir d'Auteuil
#2 of 101 in Quebec City
1,151 reviews
0.4 mi away
Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac
Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac
#17 of 101 in Quebec City
4,259 reviews
0.4 mi away
Auberge Saint-Antoine
Auberge Saint-Antoine
#3 of 101 in Quebec City
2,058 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel 71
Hotel 71
#10 of 101 in Quebec City
1,656 reviews
0.3 mi away
Auberge Place D'Armes
Auberge Place D'Armes
#9 of 101 in Quebec City
1,480 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Manoir Victoria
Hotel Manoir Victoria
#21 of 101 in Quebec City
1,303 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel des Coutellier? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel des Coutellier

Property: Hotel des Coutellier
Address: 253 rue St-Paul | 253, rue St-Paul, Quebec City, Quebec G1K 8C1, Canada
Location: Canada > Quebec > Quebec City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#10 Romantic Hotel in Quebec City
#11 Business Hotel in Quebec City
#15 Family Hotel in Quebec City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel des Coutellier 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in downtown Quebec, in the heart of Old Quebec City, Hotel des Coutellier is one of the nicest and charming Old Port Inn. For a romantic weekend getaway, a hotel meeting, honeymoon or family vacations, one of our hotel package will fulfill your needs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel des Coutellier reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Des Coutellier Hotel
Des Coutellier Quebec City
Hotel Des Coutellier Quebec/Quebec City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing