We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very comfortable, central location”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Palace Royal

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Palace Royal
Ranked #32 of 101 Hotels in Quebec City
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Very comfortable, central location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2013 via mobile

Stayed for a business meeting. We used a few meeting rooms during our stay, which functioned well for our purposes. I didn't organize our stay; as we had a large group (maybe up to 40 ppl), the menus were standard for breakfast and lunch. So you can't please everyone.

I had a corner room, OK view, but more importantly it was very comfortable. Easy wifi access throughout the hotel.

Hotel is just around the corner from the old part of the city, 10-15 min walk to Chateau Frontenac. 15-20 min drive from the airport.

Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank fabavg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

635 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    264
    261
    72
    27
    11
See reviews for
244
193
13
87
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa
Level Contributor
149 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2013

This was our second stay at the Palace Royal in Quebec City. Both times we were very happy with the rooms, the service, the location, etc. This hotel is steps away from "la Porte St-Jean", one of the main entry points into the old city and there are many nice restaurants, bistros and shops all around. The center of the hotel is an atrium with a nice swimming pool (rooms on the atrium side have balconies). This is great if you want to feel as though your somewhere down south but it can be a bit noisy if the pool is busy (there are often families with young children in the hotel, the pool being an important attraction!). A minor drawback for us is that breakfasts are not included and are pretty expensive at the hotel restaurant but since there are so many options around, it's OK. I would not hesitate to recommend this hotel to anyone.

Room Tip: Rooms on the atrium side can be a bit noisy because of the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RLarok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2013

I stayed at this Hotel whilst visiting in Canada and the rooms are superb and the Hotel is in an advantageous position...The only downside is the price to use the internet was a bit steep other than that I would recomend this Hotel

Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank fazman75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg
Level Contributor
152 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2013

This is where you want to be if your planning on spending time in the old city, it is a stones throw from the old city walls. The suite with sofa bed was large and very nicely laid out, with a large bathroom with seperate commode and tub, allowing for two people to get ready for the day. The bed was comfy being similar to our own at home (memory foam) allowing pressure points on our touring weary bodies to relax in comfort. The hotel was quiet and very clean. I think it is an ideal place to stay and will encourage anyone I know to stay here. The staff were very attentive and helpful and friendly, switching from french to english as soon as they realized that I was not bi-lingual. Lovely older hotel with traditional furnishings, somethings looked a little worn but the bed, location and the staff were the BEST!!!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DonLynski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2013

I have been in many hotels in the US and abroad, I can tell you this is a perfect spot when traveling to Quebec. Friendly, CLEAN, close to highways and close to Old Quebec. The staff was great, English not a problem. I had my room location changed upon arrival due to something I read here, which turned out not to be true. The front desk had no problem making the switch. The mini suite was huge, the decor was fitting to the area. (If you like modern check into Best Western or similar.) Small coffee shop with many items on location along with very good Stake house. Pricing is mid level when you add parking, which I did. My wife and I agree this is a good deal and we hardly agree! ;) Say hi to Max at the front door.

Room Tip: Some people here complained about court / pool side rooms due to smell of chlorine, I did not smell...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Weekawkenwinemaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
62 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2013

We reserved on line with the Hotel and got an excellent rate for a suite. Location is central and within walking distance of many attractions. Valet service was worth the premium. The hotel does need some maintenance and updating. Our room fronted a busy street (Honore-Mercier) but there was little noise. The windows do not open so there was no fresh air resulting in the room feeling stuffy.

Room Tip: The hotel has a pool and there are rooms which face the inner court. You may get a chlorine smell so...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Clark52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2013

This is one of 6 Hotels/Inns we stayed in with friends from Canada. We had made no reservation but staff were very helpful and accomodating. Beautiful room, great location all round great experience. Again I would like to thank the staff for being so very helpful as it was our first visit. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 1958Trish55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Quebec City hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Manoir Victoria
Hotel Manoir Victoria
#22 of 101 in Quebec City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,228 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hilton Quebec
Hilton Quebec
#35 of 101 in Quebec City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,554 reviews
0.0 mi away
Quebec City Marriott Downtown
Quebec City Marriott Downtown
#24 of 101 in Quebec City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
L'Hotel Port-Royal
L'Hotel Port-Royal
#30 of 101 in Quebec City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 747 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Chateau Laurier
Hotel Chateau Laurier
#34 of 101 in Quebec City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,334 reviews
0.2 mi away
Le Manoir d'Auteuil
Le Manoir d'Auteuil
#2 of 101 in Quebec City
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,064 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Palace Royal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Palace Royal

Property: Hotel Palace Royal
Address: 775, Avenue Honore-Mercier, Quebec City, Quebec G1R 6A5, Canada
Location: Canada > Quebec > Quebec City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Quebec City
#29 Business Hotel in Quebec City
#34 Romantic Hotel in Quebec City
#35 Family Hotel in Quebec City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Palace Royal 4*
Number of rooms: 234
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At a 150 meters distance from Old Quebec’s historic district, in the heart of the city downtown, stands Hotel Palace Royal | Downtown. The hotel features 234 sumptuously decorated rooms offering great comfort, memory foam mattresses, wooden floors, and magnificent views over the city. Luxurious setting filled with contemporary accents, central courtyard with swimming pool, indoor parking lot, Restaurant Beffroi Steak House within the hotel, privileged location right next to the d’Youville Place and the St. Jean Door, and more: Hotel Palace Royal provides an ideal setting for a fulfilling stay in Quebec City. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Palace Royal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palace Royal Hotel
Palace Royal Quebec City
Hotel Palace Royal Quebec/Quebec City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing