We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love Quebec City.”
Review of Hotel Palace Royal

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Palace Royal
Ranked #36 of 101 Hotels in Quebec City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 15, 2012

We always make Quebec City one of our stops on the way to the east coast and always stay here. The location is perfect just outside the walls of old Quebec so you can walk - no car necessary. My kids always ask to go back and they love the room with the interior balcony where you overlook the pool and and can hear the waterfall. Spacious room and very clean.

Room Tip: The inside balconies are wonderful, but if that is too pricey or not available, there is one balcony...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Winddancer367
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (820)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

390 - 396 of 820 reviews

Reviewed August 9, 2012

We stayed at this hotel because we were looking at something close to the Old Quebec.
Well located near the highway, it is very easy to go / leave the hotel.
The room are very nice, comfortable with plenty of space (even have a balcony on the inside)
The inside of the Hotel is very impresive with a huge open space giving you direct view acces
to the Pool and Spa area with a lot a vegetation.
We tried the Steakhouse restaurant and it was very good.
Just a few steps away from the Old Quebec and "Le Capitol" where we went to see a show at the Cabaret.
Don't miss the FREE outside show from le "Cirque du Soleil" just a few minutes away by walk.
We stayed there only 2 nights but it was just great

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Love_To_Travel_Beach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2012

Definitely a good value considering the central location. Perfect for a family getaway. If romance is what you’re after, then a boutique hotel might be a better choice. Although they’re going for more of a classic look rather than a contemporary one, you can tell that the décor may be outdated a few years down the road (but it’s not shabby or run-down in any way).

ROOM:
Very clean, large, and comfortable. We had a suite with a balcony overlooking the atrium and pool. There was a kitchenette area right by the entrance to the room with a small fridge, sink and microwave. No dishes or cutlery though... The living room was quite large and equipped with a sofa-bed where our 4-year old daughter slept. I must point out that the sofa-bed has seen better days and an adult would probably not be very comfortable sleeping on it. Double doors led to the bedroom. The bed was comfortable and clean. Both the living room and the bedroom had a TV so we could put our daughter to bed on the sofa-bed, close the double doors and watch TV late at night in our bedroom. The bathroom was on the small side, but functional with the sink area being separate from the toilet and tub/shower. Our room was very quiet throughout our stay. No noise from the hallway, nor from the swimmers below (except if you sleep on the sofa-bed in the living room, but they were faint).

CHECK-IN/OUT:
Quick and efficient.

PARKING:
Underground, right under hotel. The rate is 19$ per day without valet service and 21$ per day with valet service.

BREAKFAST:
Not included. We bought bagels, yogurt and fruit next door and ate on our balcony. There’s even a café on the other side of the street, right in front of the hotel.

POOL/FITNESS:
There’s a gym, but we didn’t use it. The pool is large and the water temperature was just right (in the 80s). This is a recreational pool, not a lap pool. A lifeguard was on duty. Pool noodles and other toys are available, as are life jackets. It is located in the atrium so you really get an enjoyable feeling of vastness in there.

LOCATION:
Right next to the gateway to Old Québec (porte Saint-Jean). You can walk to everything, even lower town (Saint-Roch). Plenty of shopping, restaurants, and sights within easy walking distance.

All in all, a good quality-price ratio close to everything. We stayed here four times and never had any issues.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bear-On-The-Road
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2012

The decor of the hotel is nouveau old, and hence not vey charming. However the price is charming (not expensive) and the position is fantastic, being just outside the old city and overlooking one the gates into the old city. The hotel is particularly good for families. We were here with our children.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank maynardophile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2012

We stayed in one of their family suites with two queen size beds in a separate room which was ideal for putting the kids to bed and then we could still have our own space. It was clean and the bathroom was modern.

The pool was great (but cold!). The breakfast definitely give a miss - especially with so many great cafes so close.

It is just outside the wall and walking distance to everything. We also had views over the old city and the river.

I will stay here every time I go to Quebec City.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the pool have a nice outlook and have a little balcony - but if the pool is busy...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kiwi08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2012

I stayed at the Hotel Palace Royal from May 19th-23rd on business.

Rooms - My room was very large and very well-appointed. I had a large, comfortable bed, a sofa and a chair, as well as a work desk. The bathroom was of functional size and nicely decorated. The room had a tube TV -- this is of little interest to me, but may be important to some guests. My room had a lovely view of some of the city's skyscrapers. Rooms are also available facing the atrium and pool which could be loud at times.

Facilities - The hotel is centred around a large nine storey atrium at the bottom of which you'll find the pool and hot tub. I found the pool area to be lovely at night when the atrium is dimly lit, especially since 9PM - 10PM is adults only. For those guests who are a little shy, this may not be the ideal place for a swim. However, it's my understanding that all of the Jaro properties are built around this atrium/pool concept. There is also a small gym on the 2nd floor (I believe) with a sauna. The lobby and common areas were quite beautiful.

Restaurant - While I did not try the restaurant for supper, I did have the breakfast buffet which was good, but certainly not exceptional. In my opinion, there are better, cheaper alternatives in the area, such as Paillard on Rue Saint-Jean.

Location - This hotel is very well-situated within a couple of minutes walk of Old Quebec.

Service - I did run into one front desk agent who was somewhat rude, but service was, on the whole, quite good. One night at the pool, the lifeguard was missing for approximately an hour while there were a large number of children in the pool. Most hotels do not even have lifeguards, but if is indictated that one will be on duty, then it is unacceptable for a lifeguard to simply wander away. I pointed this out to a front desk agent who seemed very concerned and remedied the situation quickly.

Summary - I had a very positive overall experience at this unique property. While it seemed like this hotel was going through somewhat of an identity crisis (the very formal common areas and rooms and the resort-inspired atrium), the individual areas were so beautiful that it's difficult to complain. The lovely rooms, beautiful pool area and great location make the Hotel Palace Royal a great option in Quebec!

Room Tip: Rooms seem to vary greatly in size and layout so you may want to ask to see your room upon arrival i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank BranAndKrys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2012

This hotel is all about location ! It is perfectly situated close to old Quebec City, parliament buildings, shops, restaurants, etc. and a great place to set foot for a stroll around town. The view from the room window is very nice, as the hotel is perched high up on a hillside overlooking Quebec City and all it's magnificence . The rooms are very clean, smell great, have local decor and wooden laminate flooring - the beds are very comfy also with many pillows to choose from . The service was excellent, and althought the room was a bit pricey, was well worth it due to all of the amenities it has to offer. Would definitely stay there again .

Stayed: May 2012, traveled on business
1  Thank Bades54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Quebec City hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Manoir Victoria
Hotel Manoir Victoria
#21 of 101 in Quebec City
1,461 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hilton Quebec
Hilton Quebec
#34 of 101 in Quebec City
2,912 reviews
5.1 mi away
L'Hotel Quebec
L'Hotel Quebec
#58 of 101 in Quebec City
471 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel PUR, Quebec, A Tribute Portfolio Hotel
0.4 mi away
Hotel Chateau Laurier
Hotel Chateau Laurier
#37 of 101 in Quebec City
1,604 reviews
0.2 mi away
Delta Hotels Quebec
Delta Hotels Quebec
#41 of 101 in Quebec City
1,280 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Palace Royal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Palace Royal

Address: 775, Avenue Honore-Mercier, Quebec City, Quebec G1R 6A5, Canada
Location: Canada > Quebec > Quebec City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Luxury Hotel in Quebec City
#21 Family Hotel in Quebec City
#29 Business Hotel in Quebec City
#34 Romantic Hotel in Quebec City
Price Range: $125 - $263 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Palace Royal 4*
Number of rooms: 234
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At a 150 meters distance from Old Quebec’s historic district, in the heart of the city downtown, stands Hotel Palace Royal | Downtown. The hotel features 234 sumptuously decorated rooms offering great comfort, memory foam mattresses, wooden floors, and magnificent views over the city. Luxurious setting filled with contemporary accents, central courtyard with swimming pool, indoor parking lot, Restaurant Beffroi Steak House within the hotel, privileged location right next to the d’Youville Place and the St. Jean Door, and more: Hotel Palace Royal provides an ideal setting for a fulfilling stay in Quebec City. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Palace Royal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palace Royal Hotel
Palace Royal Quebec City
Hotel Palace Royal Quebec/Quebec City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing