We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
$352
$278
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Free cancellation until 07/24
Book now, pay at stay
$237
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Free cancellation until 07/27
Book now, pay at stay
$219
$185
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Free cancellation until 07/21
$238
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
Hotel 71(Quebec City)
Free cancellation until 07/26
$264
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hilton Quebec(Quebec City)
Book now, pay at stay
$135
$127
Hilton.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 46% below average rates

The price you found is 46% lower than this hotel's average rate of $237/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Hotel du Vieux-Quebec(Quebec City)
Free cancellation until 07/22
Book now, pay at stay
$173
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 10% below average rates

The price you found is 10% lower than this hotel's average rate of $193/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Book now, pay at stay
$198
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$401
$344
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Free cancellation until 07/26
Book now, pay at stay
$120
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Reviews (826)
Filter reviews
826 results
Traveler rating
724
81
11
6
4
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
724
81
11
6
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmarielle royresident cathouse catnamed oscarquiet streetold quebeclight breakfastyogurteach morningfresh baked goodsdufferin terracebay windowtwo blockshome away from homeshort walktop floorair conditioning
Filter
Updating list...
13 - 18 of 826 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

My sisters and I stayed in the 2 bedroom suite, room 11, on the top floor.It was beautifully decorated, clean, and plenty of room for the 4 of us. The location was great; we were able to walk every place that we wanted to. Marielle was the best-she was waiting outside for us when we arrived, and was very friendly and hospitable. Breakfast was coffee, juice, yogurt, and 2 or 3 yummy pastries. We would definitely stay here again! Thank you, Marielle, for a wonderful experience!

  • Stayed: June 2018, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank gerausswit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marielle R, Propriétaire at Maison du Fort, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Gerausswit

How happy we are to read that the four sisters enjoyed their stay at Maison du Fort. You are so right this suite with two bedrooms is so convenient four four adults or a couple with children and the size is just perfect. I am also pleased to read that you had a great experience and you would come back again. Next time why not travelling at Christmas period, Québec is so beautiful in the wintertime.

Marielle

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

My husband and I booked Maison du Fort at the last-minute and were fortunate enough to have the top-floor suite, #11. It was quite the hike with 4 floors of stairs, but we had no problem with that. It was the last room available in Vieux Quebec save the very expensive Chateau. We ended up paying much more than we had budgeted, but we did have much more room than we really needed. The fourth floor suite is beautifully appointed. The blue-and-white theme is very charming. There are two rooms with beds - we only needed one. In addition, there is a very modern and beautiful bathroom with a glass shower stall. It took me a few minutes to figure out the shower, but once I did it was lovely. The views out of the dormer windows were of the neighboring roofs, but if you look carefully at an angle you can see the Chateau. I have a few criticisms of the suite itself. The first was that the carpet in the main room did not appear to have been vacuumed. However, when I shared this with Marielle she looked completely horrified and very promptly decommissioned the carpet. I would also comment about the lighting in the bathroom. My husband and I are fairly tall and the bathroom ceiling is slanted - it is the attic after all - we get that. However, there was a light out above the sink where the mirror was and the slanted ceiling blocked the window light to the mirror, so the lighting for doing my makeup in the morning was a bit strange. The light was back-ordered, so not much could be done, which was totally understandable. My final criticism of the room is that the bed was not at all luxurious. The mattress was very firm, there were only two pillows. When I'm paying that much for a room, I anticipate at least a pillow mattress topper and a couple more pillows to choose from. While the bedspread was beautiful, the bed itself just did not afford us a great night's rest. However, the overall charm of Maison du Fort made our stay well worth it. The property wouldn't be nearly as charming if it weren't for Marielle. She took very good care of us, giving recommendations for restaurants and rainy-day activities. She also called us a taxi for the airport and held our bags the morning of our departure day so we didn't need to lug them around with us. We felt very welcome and very comfortable at Maison du Fort. The breakfast was not large, but it was more than adequate and the baked goods were top-notch. The location of this property, close to the Dufferin Terrace and the Citadel, in addition to some great restaurants, was really fantastic. Overall, we would highly recommend this property for couples, friends, and families who are visiting Quebec City.

Room Tip: Wonderful location. Top floor suite is very spacious.
  • Stayed: June 2018, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank WIBusinessGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marielle R, Owner at Maison du Fort, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear business girl

Thank you for reviewing you recent stay with us. That suite is lovely and have plenty of space. Concerning the mattress it is a question of taste and there was extra pillows in the next room.

Thank you again Marielle

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This is a very pleasant B&B at the top of the Old City - which means a steep walk back each evening. We booked a slightly bigger than average room and were very glad that we did, it came with comfortable armchairs and a table, really useful in the mornings when breakfast really needed to be taken in your room. Breakfast is really an assortment of tea/coffee/juice/pastry/ cake and yogurt, plenty for us in the morning but possibly not what everyone would expect for breakfast. Trays are provided to take back to your room, but as others have cautioned the stairs are quite steep. A room to eat breakfast and collect tea/coffee all day would have been nice and given it an additional rating from us. But we should stress that we did enjoy our stay here. The rooms are well appointed, the bathroom small but with nice toiletries and rooms tidied each day. The location is very nice close to Dufferin Terrace.

Room Tip: Worth paying for a slightly bigger room
Stayed: June 2018, traveled as a couple
Thank FromGB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

MAIson du fort is a great alternative when traveling to Quebec. Is within walking distance of great attractions, the owner helped us get around and even lended her binoculars for our use in a tour. The rooms are pretty and very clean. I mean very clean. The environment is calmed no crowded party type b&b. My girlfriend and I were satisfied. We recommend it. Cofee and cakes were very good in the mornings.

Stayed: June 2018, traveled as a couple
Thank oestepr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marielle R, Owner at Maison du Fort, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Oestepr

Thank you for your kind words. For sure I would not have let you go whale watching without binoculars. It has been a real pleasure having you here and we are happy to read that you enjoyed the very calm neighbourhood as well as the location. Hope you will come back soon.

Regards

Marielle

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2018

We stayed at Maison du Fort June 2 - 6, and had a lovely time. The hotel's location is superb. It's in a great neighborhood. It's close to everything, (sights, restaurants, shops), Marielle, the owner is charming and helpful. The room we were in was on the 3rd floor and was quite big, with large windows that let in a lot of light. There were comfortable chairs and a great shower. We liked the morning coffee, juice and pastries and found that adequate fuel for morning wanderings. We loved Quebec, loved Maison du Fort and plan to return to both soon.

Room Tip: We loved Room #10. It's on a corner and it's sunny and large. Three flights up, worth the climb!
  • Stayed: June 2018, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Tim_Wex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews