We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Maison du Fort
Nearby Hotels
$382
$284
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$166
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Le Manoir d'Auteuil(Quebec City)
$188
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
$184
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$227
$189
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hilton Quebec(Quebec City)
$217
$175
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Auberge Aux Deux Lions(Quebec City)(Great Value!)
$126
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Hotel 71(Quebec City)
$261
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Auberge Place D'Armes(Quebec City)
$203
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$454
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Reviews (802)
Filter reviews
802 results
Traveler rating
705
76
11
6
4
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
705
76
11
6
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmarielle royresident cathouse catnamed oscarold quebecquiet streeteach morningfresh baked goodsyogurttwo blocksbay windowhome away from homeshort walkdufferin terracetop floorperfect locationair conditioning
Filter
Updating list...
702 - 707 of 802 reviews
A TripAdvisor Member
Clinton, Ma
185
Reviewed May 14, 2006

If you are looking for big Screen TV’s hot tubs and swimming pools this is
not the place for you to stay. If you are looking for “Old World Charm”
exquisitely decorated, immaculately clean rooms then this is the place to
be. It is ideally located inside the walls of the old city, away from the
major traffic patterns but a very short walk to where you will want to
visit. The homemade “treats” and coffee are just perfect to tide you over
and get your day started. Walking into the smell of baking goodies just
adds to the charm. Look closely at the web page because what you see is
what you will get. The pictures show the rooms as they are but do not
reflect the charm of this beautiful hotel. Marielle is a fantastic hostess
and makes you feel as if you are visiting a member of your family rather
than just being another client at her hotel. She has been as accurate as a
person can be with her descriptions and photos and is not misleading at
all. It is hard to imagine that you are staying at a building that is hundreds of years old and I find it hard to understand how anyone could be disappointed if they take the time to look
at the web page. We will be returning as we have found our special place.

  • Stayed: May 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
85  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2006

The innkeeper is the highlight. She is quite friendly and eager to help. The inn was completely restored in the last few years. It is quite up-to-date with tastefully decorated rooms, absolutely everything working perfectly and very clean.

My wife and I just returned from spending four nights and the temperature was very cold while we were there. We spent a lot of time in our room and appreciated the standard size bathtub and comfortable firm mattress.

The location was very good if you are looking for an "inside-the-walls" vacation. Just a couple blocks to the busy tourist shops and restaurants, but on a quiet out-of-the-way street.

With so many historic places to choose from in the same neighborhood, I'm sure there are many inns just as nice (but this is our first visit).

The biggest negative to me was the lack of any common space to sit and enjoy morning coffee. The simple coffee, juice and a small selection of baked goods are best taken back to your room...unfortunately our room's sitting area was small and not comfortable.

Parking is a couple blocks away for a small fee...but who cares? Park your car and forget it.

Please understand this is not a "fancy" inn. It is very pretty, but simple. No robes, no comfortable chairs in the rooms, no jaccuzis, none of those "special treats." Just a friendly, spotless, attractive inn in an excellent location.

Next time, we will probably try a new place, but maybe not.

  • Stayed: February 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
66  Thank stevehT2745PF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 7, 2006

There really is no sense looking any further for your hotel plans in Quebec City. If you haven't booked with Maison du Fort you're simply wasting your time and money. I stayed 3 nights in February and cannot say enough good things about the property and especially the owner Marielle. From the moment we arrived she greeted us with her pleasant smile and demeanor which only increased each day. Marielle will make sure all your needs are graciously attended to and goes out of her way to see that you feel just like you're at home.

She provides ample supplies of juice, coffee and different pastries each morning (bakes them herself the night before), and will even have the breakfast ready early if you need to leave (to ski for example). She provides maps, directions and recommendations to you for just about anything you could possibly want to do while in Quebec. Her restaurant recommendations were superb.

The hotel location is exactly what you are seeking. Just a few blocks from the hustle bustle of the main street, but far enough away to be quiet at night.

The rooms are cozy and charming each with it's own decor. There are 9 rooms to choose from and the hotel's web site has good pictures of them all. The beds were very comfortable and the bathrooms immaculate.

It should also be noted that Maison du Fort is really a Hotel not a B&B although it is sometimes listed in the B&B section of Tripadvisor.

If you want to spend more for less personalized service then go someplace else. If you're looking for a great hotel at a reasonable price with a personal touch then Maison du Fort is the place to stay.

Stayed: February 2006
95  Thank mb7777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Chicago
192
Reviewed November 23, 2005

We stayed at this hotel in August and had a great time. The owner was kind enough to actually come and get us in her car when we got terribly lost driving there from Montreal. A word to the wise: Mapquest or other GPS systems DO NOT WORK in Vieux Quebec because the street names (and directions) have changed and the database has not been updated. We got terribly lost, called the hotel, and the owner said stay there, I'll come get you! How about that! The place was very convenient to everything, clean and well run. My only complaint would be that the items put out for breakfast (coffee, muffins, juice) could have been more plentiful and replenished more often. But there are many place nearby for a more substantial breakfast. The area is very quiet. I would stay there again.

  • Stayed: August 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
92  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2005

While the Chateau Frontenac looms large as the historic tourist destination hotel, Maison du Fort offers charm, comfort, and hospitality equal to none. From the moment we arrived, we knew this would be a special place. From the warmth of the proprietress, the coziness of the rooms, and to the friendliness of the 2 resident cats; it truly felt like home away from home. We stayed in Room #5, a spacious, charming room decorated in blue, with its own feline rendition of Degas. The inn is located in the heart of Old Quebec, within walking distance to most sites. We would highly recommend this B&B, and would not hesitate for a moment to stay there again if we have the great fortune of being able to visit Quebec City again.

  • Stayed: October 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
109  Thank Toroishappiness
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews