We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Place”
Review of Maison du Fort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Maison du Fort
Ranked #3 of 102 Hotels in Quebec City
Certificate of Excellence
Nevada City, CA
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Wonderful Place”
Reviewed November 6, 2013

This is the place to stay in Quebec City. The rooms are adorable and look as though they all have been freshly painted. Marielle, the owner, is a gem. She had an answer to every question. The location is wonderful. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay.

Room Tip: If you don't like stairs, choose a lower number room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kyettick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

765 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    670
    75
    10
    6
    4
See reviews for
111
452
30
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (175)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 1, 2013

This was a beautiful Victorian style B&B is the perfect place to have a quiet stay in Quebec. It is just minutes away from everything you could want to do or see. The rooms and hotel itself were impeccably clean and beautiful. The hostess was a fantastic person who provided everything we needed, advise, umbrellas, slippers, tea, everything (including delicious pastry and coffees in the morning for breakfast every day). All this for a very reasonable price. I would come here again for sure...

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank twom83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, Minnesota
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2013

My husband and I stayed at this B & B in Mid-September 2013 for three nights and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Our room, number 5, on the second floor, was exactly as pictured on the website, very clean, with a comfortable bed, a great bathroom and european rain shower! Marielle, the innkeeper, has a warm, welcoming personality. And, the inn is just a couple blocks from the Chateau Frontenac, the Citadel and many wonderful places in Old Quebec. We hope to return someday!

Room Tip: There is no elevator, so you might want to choose a lower level room if you have trouble with stairs...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2013

We have just returned from a visit to Old Quebec. We took our relatives from England to visit. The Hotel Maison du Fort is an outstanding small hotel. Just 9 rooms. The rooms were wonderful! The are exactly as you seem them on the hotel website. A very unusual thing in my experience. The accommodation is beautifully decorated, immaculately clean, morning coffee is excellent, along with the great treats provided. We stayed in rooms 5 and 6 on the second floor. Both excellent. Great shower, TV, Radio, etc., Lovely soaps and shower toiletries. Every thing was just wonderful!

Location of the hotel is perfect. Right in the heart of Old Quebec. You can walk everywhere. Lots of convenient restaurants, shopping, close to the harbour and walking distance to the farmer's market. Lots of museums, galleries and very close to the main tourist information centre for booking day trips, etc.

Marielle, the proprietress is very helpful, friendly and accommodating. She was a pleasure to deal with. I would recommend this hotel to everyone. This hotel is an original structure and is therefore a walk up to rooms so, if you have mobility issues it may not be the place for you, however, we all found it a fabulous place to stay and would gladly recommend it to all. I will definitely book this hotel again when I next visit Quebec.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 6 which was large, sunny and very comfortable. It is a corner room facing the fro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
3 Thank LLJess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2013

The proprietor, the B&B itself and the location couldn't have been more perfect! Saint Genevieve street is just minutes from the Chateau Frontenac, from the Citadelle and from the St. Lawrence River overlook, and is in a lovely neighborhood of old (1800's) buildings. Room was comfy and plush, and Marielle (owner) was welcoming and very helpful. Love this place and the kitty-inspired touches! Heidi K.

Room Tip: Book very early!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Heidi K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2013 via mobile

My boyfriend and I spent Columbus Day weekend in Quebec. We absolutely loved this hotel/B &B hybrid! Marielle was such a gracious host. She was so helpful and gave great suggestions! She's also a wonderful baker- every morning we woke up wondering what delicious baked goods she would put out.

We stayed in room 1 which was on the first floor. The room was a perfect size, with beautiful bay windows and an updated bathroom.

I'm so glad we chose the Hotel Maison du Fort! It thoroughly enhanced our Quebec experience and complimented the city's beauty and charm. We hope to come back soon and would definitely stay here again!

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Travelbug0530
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2013

I found this B&B on the internet and thought the #2 rating in all of Quebec City was a good sign and it was!! We just came back from a long weekend away and we found our new favorite place to stay in Old Quebec. We stayed in room 11 as there were 4 of us...2 adults, 2 kids.. (there was one other room that could accomodate 4 people but it was booked) and it was up on the top floor. So if you have problems walking, don't book this room as there were about 3 flights of stairs to climb but for us it was perfectly fine. Room 11 is on a floor all by itself so it's very private and very quiet, we didn't hear the rooms on the other floors being cleaned in the morning. It's like an apartment with 2 bedrooms, a bathroom, a sink in one of the bedrooms and a kitchen.
Marielle is the owner and such a warm, inviting and knowledgeable person! We will stay here again largely because of her!
Breakfasts consisted of tea, juice, coffee, hot chocolate, pastries, muffins, etc. We enjoyed the breakfasts and it was just enough for us so that we didn't have to eat all 3 meals at restaurants.
The location of the B&B was perfect too. You are steps away from the Chateau Frontenac, a nice park and all the shops and restaurants were within a short walk.
We will be back and I highly recommend Maison du Fort!! We miss it already!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank travelnfamily29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Quebec City hotels
0.2 mi away
Le Manoir d'Auteuil
Le Manoir d'Auteuil
#2 of 102 in Quebec City
1,187 reviews
0.1 mi away
Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac
Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac
#17 of 102 in Quebec City
4,366 reviews
0.4 mi away
Auberge Saint-Antoine
Auberge Saint-Antoine
#5 of 102 in Quebec City
2,095 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Chateau Fleur de Lys - L'HOTEL
Chateau Fleur de Lys - L'HOTEL
#7 of 102 in Quebec City
558 reviews
0.9 mi away
Auberge Aux Deux Lions
Auberge Aux Deux Lions
#4 of 102 in Quebec City
949 reviews
0.2 mi away
Auberge Place D'Armes
Auberge Place D'Armes
#10 of 102 in Quebec City
1,508 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maison du Fort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maison du Fort

Property: Maison du Fort
Address: 21 ave Ste-Genevieve, Quebec City, Quebec G1R 4B1, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Quebec > Quebec City
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Quebec City
#7 Romantic Hotel in Quebec City
#27 Business Hotel in Quebec City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Maison du Fort 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A few steps away from the Citadel, Chateau Frontenac, the Governor's Garden, the Dufferin Terrace, historical sites and the Convention Center, Maison du Fort offers the charm and elegance of its almost two centuries old home including modern comfort.This Georgian style house was built in 1851 by Charles Baillarge, architect. An ideal location for travelers interested in unforgettable attractions for the Old Quebec City. History lovers will appreciate our many museums and 19th century streets. Excellent restaurants in the area are available for all gourmet eaters; shoppers will enjoy nearby boutiques and galleries.European atmosphere and fine service await you at Maison du Fort... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia and Hotwire so you can book your Maison du Fort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maison Du Fort Hotel Quebec City
Maison Du Fort Quebec City
Maison Du Fort Quebec/Quebec City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing