We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This Lives up to the Reputation”
Review of Maison du Fort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Maison du Fort
Ranked #3 of 102 Hotels in Quebec City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 19, 2012

Stayed for a 2 night weekend and it lived up to all expectations. As most reviews state, Marielle greets you at the door, and within moments, you are wondering if you know her from a past life. We stayed on the top floor- 2 room suite. The view was great and the exposed stone walls were very cool. The best part of this house (it's not exactly a hotel) is the location. You can walk to everything. One of my worries was unloading and parking. There is very little traffic on their street, so you can pull right up front and unload. The parking garage is 2 blocks away and reasonably priced. I can see why they have the #1 ranking.

Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Cody W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (774)
There are newer reviews for Maison du Fort
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

448 - 454 of 774 reviews

Reviewed September 18, 2012

For our first visit to Quebec City, my wife and I were happy we picked the Maison du Fort to stay at for 3 nights in July.

Situated in the Old Quebec area close to the Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac, the hotel was very charming and convenient. Our hostess Marielle was very friendly and helpful with suggestions for exploring the city. Our Room 5 was nice and clean, but I found the bathroom a bit small and cluttered, which is probably understandable given the age of the building. Parking was a bit of a nuisance as well but again, given the location, I’m not sure there is much you could do about it. The enjoyment of staying in the location we did out weighed those two minor irritants.

Overall, a good place to stay and we would return if we have the chance.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MusicManOntario
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2012

Celebrating our 40th anniversary brought us to Quebec and Madame Roy was the perfect host! The hotel was clean, quiet, close to everything and we were made to feel very welcome. Extra touches such as wine glasses when it was noticed that we had our own bottle of wine and helping track down a lost wallet were appreciated very much. Thank you for the wonderful stay!

Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank Debra P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2012

Based on reading reviews of this property on Trip Advisor, my cousin and I decided to try it out in early September. I was a bit concerned because I normally stay at large, chain hotels known for safety and reliability and all the amenities of home. We were SO glad we stayed here. The location was right in Old QC where you could walk to everything. A car was not needed. The building itself had lots of charm, and the hostess of the property, Marielle, was just as charming! Coming back to the hotel each evening was like coming home. We stayed in Room 6 which had 2 large double beds and a generous sitting room. Beautiful, large European-type windows bringing in lots of light. We are from Connecticut, so we took the train to Montreal where we stayed for a few days and then continued on by train to QC. We even walked to the hotel from the railroad station which was all uphill. If you are not a walker, I would recommend taking a taxi directly to the hotel. Great value for the price. If I ever get back to QC, I will go back to this hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank mgaug2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2012

My wife and I booked late, and we're only able to book a "small" room. Marielle insisted that I look at pictures of the room before confirming the booking. The room was cozy and was more in my price range than the larger rooms. The location was perfect, and the car stayed in the garage until it was time to leave. Marielle made the visit seem like we were staying with relatives (that we liked). I was also warned about cats, as my wife is allergic and Marielle loves her cats. My wife had no reaction which is a testament to the care taken to cleaning. We would not hesitate to recommend this location to all our friends!

Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank Glenn H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2012

We stayed in Room 4 at Maison du Fort for a week and had a wonderful time.
The location is superb!! You are close to everything by foot, can easily walk into the park or heart of old city, but the street itself is quiet and peaceful.
The hostess was very kind and helpful. Having access to free wifi was a major plus
We were a little confused at first because when we made our reservation on EasyRez it called the place 'Old Georgian B&B" rather than Maison du Fort.
It was nice also to have light breakfast foods provided -but stick to the fruits and homemade things rather than store bought.
We would certainly stay there again.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Emily M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2012

Great stay! Value for your money very high here. The hostess, Marielle knows QC very well. Outstanding advice through out the stay on where to go, what to do, where to eat, and how to get there. We had to drop one of our crew at the train station and she gave us explicit directions including avoiding a particular street that was closed for some event that morning. She really knows the city. Both restaurant recommendations were ideal (those reviews next!). A short two block walk and you are at the park next to the Chateau Frontenac and the walking esplanade above lower old town. An ideal location in the best part of the city.

Book early! We booked late and got the last two rooms (#4 and #8). They were small but fully adequate. The only reason I even mention it is because we peeked in some other rooms as they were being made-up. Wow! Some scrumptious rooms here. We will be back for sure and enjoy one of those. Our room was VERY quiet, no city noise at all when the windows were closed up.

She has cats. We saw them only when we went to ask her a question, only concern would be if you had an allergy, otherwise they are never seen.

Rolls and pastries served with coffee downstairs, more a snack than a continental breakfast. Go early as the best pastries are gone soon.

This is truly an outstanding place to stay to enjoy North America's most European city.

Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
1  Thank OlyRanger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Quebec City hotels
0.2 mi away
Le Manoir d'Auteuil
Le Manoir d'Auteuil
#2 of 102 in Quebec City
1,236 reviews
0.1 mi away
Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac
Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac
#17 of 102 in Quebec City
4,523 reviews
0.4 mi away
Auberge Saint-Antoine
Auberge Saint-Antoine
#5 of 102 in Quebec City
2,145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Chateau Fleur de Lys - L'HOTEL
Chateau Fleur de Lys - L'HOTEL
#7 of 102 in Quebec City
583 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel du Vieux-Quebec
Hotel du Vieux-Quebec
#1 of 102 in Quebec City
1,620 reviews
0.9 mi away
Auberge Aux Deux Lions
Auberge Aux Deux Lions
#4 of 102 in Quebec City
970 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maison du Fort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maison du Fort

Address: 21 ave Ste-Genevieve, Quebec City, Quebec G1R 4B1, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Quebec > Quebec City
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Quebec City
#7 Romantic Hotel in Quebec City
#27 Business Hotel in Quebec City
Price Range: $143 - $333 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Maison du Fort 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A few steps away from the Citadel, Chateau Frontenac, the Governor's Garden, the Dufferin Terrace, historical sites and the Convention Center, Maison du Fort offers the charm and elegance of its almost two centuries old home including modern comfort.This Georgian style house was built in 1851 by Charles Baillarge, architect. An ideal location for travelers interested in unforgettable attractions for the Old Quebec City. History lovers will appreciate our many museums and 19th century streets. Excellent restaurants in the area are available for all gourmet eaters; shoppers will enjoy nearby boutiques and galleries.European atmosphere and fine service await you at Maison du Fort... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Maison du Fort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maison Du Fort Hotel Quebec City
Maison Du Fort Quebec City
Maison Du Fort Quebec/Quebec City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing