We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Maison du Fort
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Chateau Fleur de Lys - L'HOTEL(Quebec City)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Fitness center
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
Manoir Sur-le-Cap(Quebec City)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (800)
Filter reviews
800 results
Traveler rating
703
76
11
6
4
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
703
76
11
6
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmarielle royresident cathouse catb bnamed oscarold quebecquiet streeteach morningfresh baked goodsyogurttwo blocksbay windowhome away from homeshort walkdufferin terracetop floorperfect location
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
477 - 482 of 800 reviews
Reviewed September 10, 2012

Great stay! Value for your money very high here. The hostess, Marielle knows QC very well. Outstanding advice through out the stay on where to go, what to do, where to eat, and how to get there. We had to drop one of our crew at the train station and she gave us explicit directions including avoiding a particular street that was closed for some event that morning. She really knows the city. Both restaurant recommendations were ideal (those reviews next!). A short two block walk and you are at the park next to the Chateau Frontenac and the walking esplanade above lower old town. An ideal location in the best part of the city.

Book early! We booked late and got the last two rooms (#4 and #8). They were small but fully adequate. The only reason I even mention it is because we peeked in some other rooms as they were being made-up. Wow! Some scrumptious rooms here. We will be back for sure and enjoy one of those. Our room was VERY quiet, no city noise at all when the windows were closed up.

She has cats. We saw them only when we went to ask her a question, only concern would be if you had an allergy, otherwise they are never seen.

Rolls and pastries served with coffee downstairs, more a snack than a continental breakfast. Go early as the best pastries are gone soon.

This is truly an outstanding place to stay to enjoy North America's most European city.

Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
1  Thank OlyRanger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2012

The #1 rank of the Maison du Fort is well deserved. We stayed in Room 10. It was one of the nicest, maybe the nicest room, we have ever stayed in. The large room seems almost like a suite. The queen sized poster bed had a very comfortable mattress. The sitting area was just what the doctor ordered for that little rest in late afternoon to enjoy a glass of wine before striking off for dinner. Marielle had many good recommendations for dining and site seeing during our visit. She provided us with wine glasses and opener for our wine. Although the room has air conditioning, we slept every night with the windows wide open enjoying the fresh air. We woke every morning to sounds of the awakening city. The coffee, OJ, breads and muffins were just right for our breakfasts. We hope Room 10 is available when next we visit Quebec City!

Room Tip: Ask for Room 10.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dalton_Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2012

We stayed for 3 nights and loved Maison du Fort! Clean, comfortable, lovely room. The location is great, very central but tucked away on a quiet street. Staff was so helpful and friendly. Would highly recommend!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank beachlover0712
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2012

We booked late and managed to get the last remaining (and smallest) room. With its tiny bathroom and double bed, by American standards, this would be considered much too small.
But you know what? It was great!

Being accustomed to a queen bed, my wife and I, nonetheless, fell instantly asleep the moment our heads touched those wonderful, feathery pillows. With the two generous windows letting in a cool overnight breeze, we awoke refreshed, with the sun, just peeking over the horizon, gently casting an orange glow into our room.
Then, after a quick shower, and a pleasant chat over coffees, muffins and pastries with Marielle, we were ready for another walk through the streets and alleys of this enchanted city.

Let me tell you something. We've been to Québec City before, and we've stayed at hotels costing twice the price that Marielle charges. And now, after staying at the comfortable, cozy, and well appointed Maison du Fort, we can truly say that we found a "home" in Québec.

Merci Marielle!

Room Tip: Don't bother with the air conditioning. Sleep with the windows open. The refreshing air, not to mention the calm sounds of the old city, just adds to the atmosphere.
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MichaelD19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2012

We decided to stay at Maison du Fort based on the excellent TripAdvisor Reviews. My husband and I were on our way back home from Mont Tremblant (after his Ironman). Marielle was very accommodating, storing my husband's time trial bike :) She was also very prompt and excellent to answer any questions/concerns we had before arriving. The Inn is beautiful, so sooo clean and beautifully decorated. We stayed in room #5, the Blue Room - sooo sooo beautiful. I don't think we have ever slept in such a comfortable bed, air conditioning in the room was a nice addition. Marielle was excellent to recommend activities and restaurants - always very open to any questions we had. Each AM there was fresh coffee and pastries (yum). The Inn location was great for us, we parked our car and walked everywhere. We would stay here again in an instant! Thank you for a wonderful stay in Quebec City Marielle!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tlta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews